We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Grilled Cheese” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melt Down Grilled Cheese - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Melt Down Grilled Cheese
522 W. Lancaster Ave, Wayne, PA 19087
610-293-6988
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Sandwiches, Ice Cream, Soups
Restaurant details
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very Grilled Cheese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I love the selection of sandwiches (all variations of the grilled cheese). This is a great family friendly restaurant to go to - especially if you have kiddos with you (though it is just as good with out them). The milkshakes are amazing and super thick. Also the New Hope soda is a delicious and refreshing alternative to the everyday soda company beverages that we have at every other restaurant in the world. Strongly recommended!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious comfort food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We visited Melt Down after a very long day at work for some cheesy, melty goodness, and were not disappointed. I ordered the"classic" (Italian white bread with cheddar) and added avocado and tomato. This sandwich was exactly what I wanted to eat. Crispy bread, melty cheddar, really tasty avocado slices and juicy tomato. I was really impressed. My husband ordered the Baja, and rated it "very good". We also enjoyed the fountain drinks. I got an elderberry soda, and he got the skinny root beer. In all, a great stop for dinner after a long day. We will be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Bland Food-- Hardly "Awesome"”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

First time there in March. For $12 I had a bowl of soup and a grilled ham and cheese. The corn chowder with bacon was pretty good, although warm, not hot. As for the sandwich, the cheddar was of low quality, neon orange and flavorless; Kraft's CrackerBarrel cheese is far superior. The ham was sparse and equally bland. The whole wheat bread had seasonings and was the best part of my meal. Quantity wasn't bad, but overall I see no need to return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardmore, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Go there...Awesome Grilled Cheese!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Who doesn't like a grilled cheese sandwich?!?!?!? These are a cut above to top it off, with tons of awesome varieties, the Ham and Cheddar Melt I had this time was great...and they also have really good Hagen-Daz Shakes, and Natural Sodas...and some other great options too! Love Melt Down!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“New Take on a Basic Sandwich :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I had passed the Restaurant several times before finally stopping in for Lunch with a Co-Worker.
We were surprised and amazed by the menu offerings. I had a Soup and Sandwich combo which was excellent.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melt Down Grilled Cheese also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melt Down Grilled Cheese, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.