We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“kinda mexican but not really....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Matador

Matador
110 North Wayne Ave, Wayne, PA 19087
(610) 688-6282
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Matador is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #45 of 100 Restaurants in Wayne
Price range: $14 - $28
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Lancaster Avenue
Description: Stop in and enjoy the delightful atmosphere along with delicious Tapas and Specialty Spanish dishes that the Matador has to offer.
wayne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“kinda mexican but not really....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

the decor is wonderful and the waiter was very good- but the food is just so so - and the wine list was seriously lacking. on the good side when my friend sent her dinner back teh manager came over to check on us - so maybe it will get better- they are certainly trying and in downtown wayne we have so many choices they need to pay attention.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    25
    23
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wayne, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fun Place but Food is Bland”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I'm a fan of tapas, but I've been to this place a few times and it's simply not very good. Certainly, no Spanish flair to the tapas. The draft beer has no head.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect for Saturday lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My family and I go here a lot on Saturdays for lunch. The service is always right on, and the food delicious. I really enjoy the steak tacos..perfect portion. The guacamole is amazing!!! The margaritas are very tasty and a good size!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wynnewood
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I went out with three friends after a movie last week and Christopher's was packed with a half hour wait so we decided to go right next door and try Matador though none of ys had ever eaten there. What a great surprise. We all loved the fresh salsa they put on the table to start. Two of them had crab cakes and raved and I had the crab quesadilla (with mango in it) and thought it was wonderful. One friend had fish tacos that were a little dry but the overall meal was very satisfying and delicious. We also went upstairs to get away from the tv's and the room was very pleasant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King of Prussia, PA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great food, unfriendly greeting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The food at Matador was excellent. We had four people in our party and we shared about 10 plates. Everything was excellent. We arrived for our 8pm reservation and the rather unfriendly hostess wanted us to sit at a table right near the front door at the bar. These tables are generally first come - first served. I would not have made a reservation if this was the area we wished to dine. It was a freezing cold night and the whole bar area was very cold. She was very curt and rude and made us wait 20 minutes to be seated upstairs. We had four full drinks, coats and bags and she did not even wait for us to gather our things - she went up the stairs and tossed our menus. This is a very poor first impression for a restaurant to give.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Matador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.