We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Radnor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Radnor Hotel to your Saves list
Radnor Hotel
591 E Lancaster Ave, Wayne, PA 19087   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Wayne
Upstate New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2007

nice hotel, but overpriced for what it ends up being--no breakfast, setting is misleading on website, looks like hotel is surrounded by gardens when in actuality it is located on a huge parking lot.

two restaurants adjacent--but no good path to actually get to the restaurant (staff suggested to climb small hill that also had poison ivy. since we couldnt' find the sidewalk we ended up doing it). staff at reception friendly, but not great with directions. has big swimming pool which looks nice, small garden inside the building complex.

great asian fusion restaurant by susan foo right across the hotel--very beautiful and fantastic food.

  • Liked — the restaurant near by
  • Disliked — the price
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    70
    33
    17
    22
See reviews for
66
32
13
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, MA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2007

We enjoyed our stay. The other reviews surprised us. Everything was as expected of an average hotel.
I was unhappy with the restaurant at breakfast. The person greeting us did nothing and I had to go back to her to ask about the procedure for using the buffet. The waiter ignored us and failed to refill our coffee and only showed up with the check after asking for it.

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2007

- Paper thin walls promote every single noise in the hallways
- booked well in advance, yet we were given a handicapped accessible room, which would have been fine, except the shower came up to my bellybutton.
- Hotel management is inept and refused to respond to numerous complaints about noise
- room smelled of smoke although it was billed as a non-smoking room
- We slept all of 4 hours due to the raucous noise throughout the hotel
- When we checked out, we listed our complaints. Here was their response: "well, you were aware that there was a wedding here and you were part of that wedding weren't you?" as if we were responsible for the fact that their hotel blows.

  • Liked — It was convenient, the Garden
  • Disliked — Service, Staff, Smelly and Poorly sound-proofed rooms
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHILADELPHIA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2007

Where to start!?! I had problems even making a reservation!
When I contacted the hotel, I was transferred to reservations where I spoke to a girl that spoke very broken english. After replying "excuse me???" to this persons 3 attempts to speak english to me, she hung up on me. I then called a 2nd time requesting to 'just make a reservation', and to 'speak with a different person'. I was reconnected to reservations and given 3 room options that were still available for the weekend that I was requesting. I was given a price quote that was $20.00 more than the price listed on [--]. When I brought this to the attention of the individual that I was speaking with, she said "if you are finding a better price online, then you should just book it online". I told her that it was not a discount website, but there own website, could she just give me the same price. She said no because she did not know anything about the price that I was giving her. I understand that some hotels do give a discount for booking online, however, there was no such notice on the website. What issues just to stay at a hotel that was thoroughly mediocre.

  • Liked — N/A
  • Disliked — THE STAFF WAS UNINFORMED ABOUT THE HOTEL (PROCEDURES, ETC)
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2007

The Radnor is a little old, a little musty. It is overpriced for what you get. I stayed there while attending a conference, and I was not so impressed. The rooms are liveable but a bit old and stale. The bathrooms are small but reasonably clean. The elevator was broken when I was there, and although the staff apologized, nobody offered to help me carry my bags up and down three flights of stairs.

One thing was outstanding, and that was the food. Excellent in every respect.

Generally OK, but you could do far better for the price.

  • Liked — The Food Was Great
  • Disliked — Musty and Old Hotel
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverdale, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2007

This place is the worst possible hotel that isn't a "no tell motel". I have traveled a TON over the past year, but this is the worst place I've ever stayed at. It is so disgusting, so smelly, and so run down it should be shut down. If the room was $29.00 a night, sure have at it and enjoy. However for $189.00 a night, they should be ashamed. I am completely disgusted and want to wash myself 1000 times after staying here. Find yourself a Courtyard, a Residence, or even the rental car, but do NOT stay here.

RADNOR HOTEL if you are reading, UPDATE THIS PIECE OF JUNK HOTEL. IT IS GROSS AND YOU ALL KNOW IT.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2006

The pictures on the hotel's website are very misleading. The lobby looks nice however the rooms are another story. My room was very small and outdated. After staying a couple nights there I awoke one morning with several small bites on my sleeping side. At first I thought it was a rash however after a day or so it became apparent that they are bug bites of some sort. Gross!
The restaurant's decor was okay however the menu only offered one vegetarian entree and a limited wine list. We only ate dinner there once during our week-long stay as we were unimpressed.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radnor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radnor Hotel

Address: 591 E Lancaster Ave, Wayne, PA 19087
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Wayne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Wayne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stunning Garden Room is ideal for intimate receptions and gatherings and overlooks the beautiful Award-Winning Formal Gardens of The Radnor. As the weather gets colder, enjoy the warmth from the large fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Expedia so you can book your Radnor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radnor Hotel Wayne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radnor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.