We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel with nice amenities – especially for families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Philadelphia-Valley Forge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Philadelphia-Valley Forge to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Philadelphia-Valley Forge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   888 Chesterbrook Blvd, Wayne, PA 19087 (Formerly Valley Forge Suites)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast & WiFi
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Wayne
New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel with nice amenities – especially for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We really liked this Embassy Suites Hotel for our family vacation in August. The hotel is very clean and comfortable, if a bit dated. It is constructed in a 1970s-era arrangement with an indoor central court with windows in the rooms facing both outside to the exterior of the hotel and inside to the hotel’s central court. I love retro construction like this (in small doses), but even if you don’t I didn’t find it anyway disruptive in terms of noise or comfort.

The rooms themselves are very well-equipped with comfortable (if not luxurious) furniture and fixtures. We had a one bedroom suite that featured a bedroom and a living room with a small “kitchen” space that included a small countertop, sink and refrigerator. The bathroom, water pressure and temperature were all fine. There was also no problem in keeping the room a comfortable temperature.

The hotel offers a fantastic complimentary breakfast buffet. This was really great with copious quantities and good quality of all the kinds of breakfast foods you expect to see. If you enjoy breakfast buffets, you will not be disappointed by this one, which is also served in the hotel’s very comfortable and pleasant restaurant space.

The hotel offered a really enjoyable evening happy hour too. Beer, wine and liquor was available – modest selections but poured with great cheer by a bartender and served in the very pleasant courtyard space. Snacks were also served. A great way to grab a quick drink and wind-down a bit.

The common areas in the hotel are pleasant and well-kept. There is a decently-sized exercise room with a good assortment of equipment as well as a very nice indoor, heated pool.

Service was generally good to very good, but we found some rough spots: for example, the bar tender at the hotel’s bar (not the happy hour) was one of the rudest hotel employees I have ever met.

The hotel itself is situated off Route 202. The hotel is sufficiently distant from Route 202 that noise is not a problem. There is also shopping in either direction along Route 202 and the King of Prussia complex in Upper Merion is about 10 minutes away. The hotel is conveniently located for forays into Valley Forge but other high-volume attractions, like the Brandywine Valley and Philadelphia are much farther. This wasn’t a problem for us, but be aware to incorporate at least an hour of driving time into your itinerary if you intend to travel to one of these more distant locations.

Please note that hotels like this often have weekend events at the hotel or take on large group bookings for events held externally. When such groups have a disorderly nature they can be extremely disruptive. There were a few large groups at the hotel during our time there, but they not particularly disruptive, except for their ability to devour the contents of the morning buffets.

Overall, I really enjoyed this hotel – and would recommend especially for families with children and/or lovers of breakfast buffets. We've also stayed at the nearby Sheraton. While that's a fine hotel, I believe this ES offers a better value - larger rooms (suites) - has a nicer pool - and also provides the free buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    120
    80
    34
    28
See reviews for
123
55
21
158
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I love the suite with a locking bedroom door,2 Tv's, very comfortable bed and how spacious it is. Now let me get to the free breakfast !! Omelet made your way :)....thats just the beginning. Bacon,sausage,french toast,danish,cereal (hot and cold),yogurt and much more...This is our 2nd time staying and we will be back. The casino and mall is 5 mins away,and we went to the outlets which was only about 25 mins away. My Husband and I just love it !!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

OLD OLD OLD . Suite configuration is out of date and horrible. Dungeon or shoe box ? I only stay because my company requires it. Convenient to offices and service is finee. But honestly Hilton needs to start thinnnnnking about the quality. Yes it is clean excluding the stale stink of some of the rooms, food quality is marginal at best. Service is fine.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul F, General Manager at Embassy Suites Philadelphia-Valley Forge, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at our hotel. I appreciate your candor; we look for reviews to provide insight into our hotel and our guest suite appearance is an area we are actively examining. I welcome any additional comments or suggestions you would like to share.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

In general, I like this chain. For families is very convenient, besides the Hyatt and Marriot offers better ones around King of Prussia. The problem I guess this hotel do not get great feedbacks is because they do not do anything beyond the standards and the price is quite high.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD USA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

By design, Embassy Suites should be an enjoyable experience. After all, you are getting a living room suite and a separate bedroom, right? Yet there were three problems that make me give this only a poor rating. 1) Beware if you sleeping four. The living room has only the smallest and uncomfotable of pull out couches. If your children arent small,sleeping in the living room is uncomfortable for teens or adults. Also the noise from the central atrium really travels into your living room if this is your sleeping area. There was no noise in the bedroom. 2) The rugs are tired and worn in this hotel. The furnishings are not the newest, but the rug was just dingy and old. If this really bothers you, dont go there. 3) Staff - generally the staff were helpful. HOWEVER, one lack of follow through on part of staff cost us time and money and is the main reason for such a low rating. At Friday check in, some important papers fell out of our bag at registration. Registration staff found them and placed them on their back counter "in case we came back." The papers had our name and mailing address clearly on the front, but the front desk never called our room to say that they had found the papers, nor do they try to call the phone numbers in our reservation. We were at the hotel for two nights and had talked to front desk staff numerous times and no one referenced the holding of these papers. In fact, we did not even realize we were missing them. The hotel finally called my cell phone on Sunday at 2 p.m. (3 1/2 hours after we checked out) to tell us they had the papers. We had to turn around and drive back to the hotel to retrieve them. I was thankful to the hotel for calling, but severely questioned their attention to customer service when I found out the papers had been sitting there for two days and no one had attempted to contact us. As a result, I cannot give this hotel any points for customer service.

Room Tip: If you are sleeping four, ask for a room away from the main atriums so you dont have to hear bar noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katerinaharalambou, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites Philadelphia-Valley Forge, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
I am very sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we are very sorry for all of the inconveniences you and your family encountered. We are always looking for ways to improve our guest experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider giving us another chance. Sincerely, Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Poor example of an Embassy Suites and you should pick a different Hilton property. The sofa in the living room has a burn hole in it, lighting is extremely poor, the bathroom has a "princess" telephone (how retro is that?) and the overall room condition is disappointing. The lobby area is welcoming but that's about it. This property is desperately in need of a makeover or maybe converted to a Hampton Inn (at best).

Stay somewhere else!

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katerinaharalambou, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites Philadelphia-Valley Forge, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We sincerely apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We take all concerns and inquiries very seriously, as we believe satisfied guests are the happiest guests. We have taken your notations into consideration and will address them. Thank you again for your review, and if there is anything that we can assist you with, please do not hesitate to contact us. Thank you, and we hope that you have a wonderful week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear,de
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

My first stay at this Embassy Suites was 26 years ago, and I've never been disappointed. Absolutely love this hotel...the grounds when you pull into the hotel are well maintained and the hotel interiors as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Philadelphia-Valley Forge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Philadelphia-Valley Forge

Address: 888 Chesterbrook Blvd, Wayne, PA 19087 (Formerly Valley Forge Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Wayne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Wayne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Philadelphia-Valley Forge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 229
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Embassy Suites Philadelphia-Valley Forge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Valley Forge Hotel Wayne
Embassy Suites Wayne
Wayne Embassy Suites
Valley Forge Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Philadelphia-Valley Forge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.