We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Happy Acres Resort

Happy Acres Resort
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waterville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Happy Acres Resort
Save
You added Happy Acres Resort to your Saves list
3332 Little Pine Creek Road, Waterville, PA 17776   |  
Hotel amenities
Bayside, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice little vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

My family and I wanted to get away for the weekend with our pets. I discovered Happy Acres and booked the Whitetail hideaway for the weekend. We were my wife and I, 2 kids and 3 dogs. It was a wonderful little place, We enjoyed ourselves and the break from our routine. We had no cell phone coverage (which was OK with me)., and spent an enjoyable weekend exploring and relaxing. For the most part, the staff was friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend.,

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

We are traveling the back roads of New England and had to change our course as foul weather closed many roads of where we wanted to travel. Lucky for us! We had not planned on going through Pennsylvania but were "forced" to so we could discover Happy Acres. We tent camp and had several great choices to choose from at this resort. The owners and employees are super friendly and helpful. They have showers (bring your quarters) and nice restroom facilities, an internet cafe - but you won't want to be there as there is so much outdoor stuff to do all around. They have a restaurant with GREAT food and a store where Big Dave will serve you Perry's Ice cream (yummy!). The store also has grocery items, clothes, kinda like a general mercantile. Will be back to this resort as they have a yurt, with full bath and furnished - we want to stay here!; cabins to choose from; even a lodge with 6 bedrooms. The owners are constantly improving and adding to the resort and are very passionate about what they do.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed at bear hugs 2 years in a row .we had to bring our own fun but the fishing nearby is awesome and it is a very scenic beautiful area.we enjoyed the bearhugs cabin but the Jacuzzi ended up not being our best experience .something wrong probably because the water is hard .if that what you call it .The cabin area outside was extremely small and I really really enjoyed being able to bring my dogs.awesome so all in all the good balances out the bad but still give it a thumbs up ,not many places allow pets in cabins so once again that makes the place extra special .very very clean !!!!! expect super slow service and no smiles

Room Tip: would recommend the elk cabin ,larger area outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

We rented the Rainbow Cabin for a week. Check in is 11 miles from where the cabin is located at the "resorts" main location. Service is slow - only one person to handle everything. Not very friendly. The resort pool was clean. The kids play area was nice with quite a few things to do. No game room or anything to do if it rains. Books and movies that you can borrow from the lobby. No organized activities for the kids. Only place to eat is at the resort restaurant if you stay there unless you cook your own. There are a few places to get food and ice cream about 5 miles away in Waterville.

The cabin we rented was advertised as creek front but had at least 10 feet of mud and swamp that you would have to wade through to get to the creek. The first day we walked down to the creek through a neighbors back yard two houses down and they came out and tolds us it was private property. The picture of the pathway to the creek on the web site was of the others neighbors yard and the bridge had washed away last November. They were very nice neighbors. On the other side of the house is a church so not quite as private as it sounds.

Interior of cabin was very clean. Kitchen was well stocked with plates, cups, pans, etc.. Water is a little smelly and hot water takes awhile but is really hot once it gets going. First living room for adults seats 7 with three recliners and two loveseats and is right off the kitchen. No TV. Next room is the kids living room. It had a love seat, recliner, full size futon with twin bunk overhead and a TV with cable, DVD player. No AC in this room if you close the door that seperates it from the hallway. Very nice for three kids with lots of shelves to sit there stuff. Next room had full size bunk on bottom with twin on top. This room has a closet with a dresser inside. Top bunk is very close to the ceiling. Very small but okay. Bathroom is next with carpet on the floor and only a shower. It was clean, water was hot and pressure was good. Water is smelly. Last was a bedroom with queen size bed, dresser and closet. There is a garage but no access. Sun porch has a sofa couch and small table - also no AC. Campfire area was nice with picnic table and 4 chairs.

No place to put wet swimsuits, towels, etc.

Room Tip: Bring your own fun, bikes, games and fishing pole.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delaware
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

The PA grand canyon is pretty grand, it's no southwest, but for PA, it's grand. The hiking is really nice and Waterville is near Wellesboro which has that canyon. My extended family and I spent 5 days at the Happy Camper Resort in Waterville and we loved it. We brought the dog and kids and had s'mores and watched movies after long days of hiking around the beautiful parks. We even spotted a bald eagle.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Happy Acres Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Acres Resort

Address: 3332 Little Pine Creek Road, Waterville, PA 17776
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Waterville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Waterville
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Happy Acres Hotel Waterville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Happy Acres Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.