We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Class!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crossing Vineyards and Winery

Crossing Vineyards and Winery
1853 Wrightstown Road, Washington Crossing, PA 18940
215-493-6500
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
Attraction details
Bordentown, NJ
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Class!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I've now taken the wine and cheese pairing class twice. Once with my husband, and once with my mom. We had different instructors each time, and both were excellent (The second time, we were taught by the owner). The location is very nice, but what I appreciate most is that they really care about making good wine. Everything we sampled here is good, but there are some that really stand out. The Cabernet Franc is very good, and the chocolate cherry truffle wine is almost always sold out for good reason. I even like their white wines, and I'm usually only a fan of reds.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    17
    8
    6
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brick Township, New Jersey, United States
1 review
“Great Tasting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Enjoyed a wine tasting at Crossings - Gary & Joe were both informative and friendly. Enjoyed all the wines sampled. Beautiful vineyard just added to the delightful afternoon.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmcodod, Owner at Crossing Vineyards and Winery, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback. Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northeast US
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“better choices nearby”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

it seems lots of research went into putting on a good appearance here. Unfortunately the people trying to pull off the show are not very good at it. It is a nice atmosphere. The wine is just average...all depends on what you are comparing it too. Much better wine at Sand Castle nearby. I have seen this wine in local restaurants, definitely don't get it at the restaurant.
Notice the small vineyard on site. This would only make a few barrels of wine. they are buying wholesale grapes and making wine with it. You never know what you are getting or where the grapes are from which explains the quality. Other local vineyards use their own grapes.
Go someplace else

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmcodod, Owner at Crossing Vineyards and Winery, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Sorry for our delayed response. Your feedback is very important to us.
We have not done a good job in communicating the "good news" about Crossing Vineyards to you.

To give you an idea, the average yield per acre for a vineyard (not just in PA or even in the U.S, but the world over) is about 5 tons per acre. CVW's vineyard is approximately 15 acres.

The average vineyard produces about 75 tons of grapes per acre each year, yielding about 600 gallons of wine per acre. This means CVW's vineyard produces enough fruit to make about 9,000 gallons per year, making CVW one of the largest wine producers in PA.

As for quality, Crossing's Merlot '06 was named the best PA Red Wine by the PA Wine Society in 2013 and Wild Berry earned the 2013 PA Governor's Cup for fruit wine. Throughout its ten years in business, CVW has won over 165 national and international wine awards and has been named the Best Winery in Bucks County for two years running, 2011 and 2012.

We invite you to come back for another tasting...please call or email us to make arrangements. We need to do a better job of telling our story, and we thank you for taking your precious time to help us improve. We are listening!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fun time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Our friends took us to the winery as a gift using a groupon they purchased for "Wine and Cupcakes". I thought all of the cupcakes were delicious and most of the wines were pretty good.

The winery had nice grounds and a friendly staff. I would have enjoyed to learn a bit more about the machines in the room and how wine is made but I understand that isnt the thing we signed up for!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chalfont, pa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Worth the money? Not so sure”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My husband and I and another couple purchased a $55 Travelzoo coupon for a wine & cupcake tasting for four people. Was it worth it? Not so sure. We reserved our tasting for 5:00 (they close at 6:00). The gentleman who served us was friendly and knowledgeable. We were expecting to taste 14 wines but they were out of a couple of the most popular ones. I know it is personal taste, but we were not blown away by the majority of the wines and found them to be a bit pricey. We all liked the Chardonnay ($18) best. We were a bit rushed because they were getting ready for a party in the tasting room at 6:30. We received five mini cupcakes from a bakery in Princeton on a plate and took most of them home. Can't really comment on them because they disappeared before I got a chance to eat them the next day (teenage boys!). It was a fun experience for the four of us before we headed out to dinner on a Saturday evening. The property is gorgeous and there are outside tables which would be lovely for enjoying a bottle of wine in the nicer weather.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crossing Vineyards and Winery also viewed

 

Been to Crossing Vineyards and Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crossing Vineyards and Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.