We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not quite as bad...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1385 West Chestnut St., Washington, PA 15301 (Formerly Econo Lodge)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
CLICK HERE FOR BEST RATE
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Washington
Missouri
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“not quite as bad...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

Arrived in Washington late, and it was any port in a storm, so to speak. The worst thing we can say is that the room smelled as though someone had been sick to their stomach and they had been unable to get the smell out of -- what? the carpet, maybe. Very basic. They are now part of the Best Inns of America next door, if that makes any difference. Not handicapped accessible. Bathroom clean and with new fixtures but no amenities except one bar of soap. Bed okay, considering the price, but not great. "Breakfast" equally minimal. But front office pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVIWashington, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, June 30, 2011
Dear Valued Guest:
Thank you for taking time to share a review about our hotel. We are happy to know you enjoyed our friendly staff. We take great pride in exceeding guest expectations. We sincerely apologize about the room odor. Please know that we do have our carpets cleaned several times per year. We look forward to another opportunity to service your future lodging needs.


Regards,
Anita-Assistant Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-Washington PA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    3
    6
    14
See reviews for
7
8
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morgantown, West Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

We went to this hotel after driving several hours and everywhere else was booked.... we called on the phone and then went there thinking hey it'd be a decent room... since there was no where else to stay so we had to rent 2 rooms due to the number of people with us. First room we went in... the floor was falling in, it smelled really bad, cigarette burns on the tub, not mentioning an ash tray full of butts in the night stand along with several rooms keys.. so to top it off we checked *our* room -non smoking room.. walked in and it stunk, brown stuff on the walls they say ac.. (well it's an air conditioner cut into the wall... windows that aren't safe and anyone can get into bugs (fleas) biting at your legs.. and pubic hair in the sheets! So I was on my way to walmart to buy blankets, and cleaning stuff!! (Which I shouldn't have to do!!!) So I cleaned the room and they have never dusted nor ever cleaned behind the toilet! WE DID NOT SLEEP ONE BIT SO TO TOP IT OFF.... @ 5 AM I heard a bang at the next door and 2 seconds later I hear a man screaming like he was getting killed or something! for 3 min! I have never been scared in my entire life! I WOULDN'T RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE THEY NEED BETTER MAIDS AND BETTER GUEST IT'S USED BY CONSTRUCTION WORKERS WHO IS REALLY SCARY AND IT WAS NOT SAFE TO STAY THERE WHAT SO EVER! &&&&& VERY DIRTY! && STILL THEY CHARGE YOU 60 DOLLARS A NIGHT! ID RATHER SLEPT IN MY CAR!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVIWashington, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, June 30, 2011
Dear Traveler,

Your feedback is very important to us and we appreciate the fact that you took the time to let us know that your stay was not up to your expectations. We apologize for this and will certainly look into your comments and take any appropriate action. It is our goal to provide all of our guests with quality service and comfort at an exceptional price. I have recently joined Americas Best Value Inn-one of the fastest growing hotel chains in the country to better serve the needs of my future guests,.


Regards,
Anita-Assistant Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-Washington PA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2009

I wish I spent a few bucks more and stay somewhere else....the Ramada on top of the hill across the street looked better...........this hotel seems to be where the construction workers stay while they are in town on a job......
The place was clean but the carpet had that "toe jam" smell

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morgantown wva
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2008

WE Stayed in a econo lodge last night , It stunk so bad like raw sewage ,The bathroom was mildewed I mean black had not been cleaned Iwiped it ,it came off really easy, cob webs ,and mildew on the other walls, told front desk , said couldnt do any thing .I took several pictures. it is located in washington pa

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — smell, and filth
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County, PA
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2008

After a 5-hr drive we arrived at this EconoLodge for a 2-night stay. As soon as we opened the door, we were engulfed in a musty, moldy smell. The carpets looked clean, but the smell was too much. The furniture was filthy and sticky. The bathtub was new and clean, but there were burns on the side of the tub from drugs and/or cigarettes.

We went across the street and bough air freshener and Clorox wipes. After wiping the entire room down we felt better about having to stay there, but wouldn't let the cleaning staff in the next day to dirty up the room. We had the "do not disturb" sign on the door handle, yet one of the cleaning staff kept peering in our window until I closed the drapes in his face.

They claim to have "continental breakfast". I had to see, so went to the office in the morning. It was a pot of coffee and a bag of muffins from a grocery store.

We will never, ever stay at an EconoLodge again.

  • Liked — location near highway
  • Disliked — didn't like anything else about it
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2007

There was something going on in town and there weren't alot of vacancies. We were very surprised that the EconoLodge had a room for only $50. Reading the previous review we were apprehensive but a pre-payment inspection made a believer out of me. Everything seemed new or close to it. The bathroom was perfect. The room was large and there was an internet connection. Even though the motel filled up, I was not disturbed by any noise. It is not the Waldorf, but it was what it is and I would not have any qualms about going back

  • Liked — cheap, safe and clean
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2006

We got a room with high-speed internet access. I figured, "Hey, they have high-speed internet ... how crappy could this place be?"

The smell of mold in the room was almost enough to make us leave right then. But, we were exhausted from driving all day and didn't have the intestinal fortitude to seek out other lodging. Here are the lowlights:

- funky fungal smell (like old hockey gear) from the carpet near the bed-side table
- little black bugs on the bathroom floor
- indeterminate brownish smears on the wall
- what looked like bloodstains on the hubby's pillow
- smeary wipemarks on all bathroom surfaces that would typically be cleaned upon a guest's deprture
- an additional dusty smell emitted by the A/C when we turned it on to get rid of the mold smell (didn't work)

I didn't actually use the shower as I suspected that I'd feel dirtier getting out than getting in. I just smeared lemon essential oil on the sheets and pillowcases, sucked it up and hoped for the best.

My guess? Since the front desk staff referred to this as the room with internet, they probably only have one room with internet, which they keep so they can advertise internet availability. But they probably only rent it to people who specifically request internet access, like I did. It probably hadn't been used in months ... and, subsequently hadn't been entered or aired in as long, let alone cleaned. Just a guess, mind you. I really don't know why the room was as gross as it was. Methinks that'll be my last Econo Lodge stay; too risky.

  • Liked — Freeway access
  • Disliked — The filth
  • Tips/Secrets — If you must save cash by staying here, check your room thoroughly before checking in.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 1385 West Chestnut St., Washington, PA 15301 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Washington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Washington, conveniently located near the crossroads of Interstate 70 and US Route 40. This historic, business town is located near the headquarters of notable companies such as Range Resources, Joy Mining Machinery, Bucyrus America Inc and Coca-Cola Enterprises. Watch our rich history unfold at Pennsylvania Trolley Museum, Bradford House, Le Moyne House, and the Meadowcroft Rockshelter and Museum of Rural Life. Mingle with our future leaders at Washington and Jefferson College. Indulge your guilty pleasures at Tanger Outlet Center or Washington Crown Center. Sample local fare at Angelo's, Union Grill, or Garfield's Restaurant and Pub. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, our hotel offers ideal accommodations, affordable rates, and a friendly 24-hour staff to help make your stay enjoyable. If you are on the go, enjoy our free light continental breakfast. Keep up with current events with our free newspaper located at the front desk. Step into our peaceful guest rooms and experience absolute relaxation with amenities including a microwave, mini-fridge, cable TV with HBO, alarm clock, and free local calls. At Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Washington, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Washington
Washington Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.