We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A trip into the past” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pennsylvania Trolley Museum

Pennsylvania Trolley Museum
1 Museum Road, Washington, PA 15301
724-228-9256
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 15 Attractions in Washington
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Take a three-mile trolley ride through Washington, Pennsylvania and learn all about the history of street car transportation.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
75 attraction reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A trip into the past”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

This is a great way for kids to see how people in cities used to get around, not in cars, but in trolleys. They can ride to their hearts' delight, but it will be fun for the older folk, too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    27
    5
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
63 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Grandchildren Enjoyed This Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

What more could be asked for: a trolly ride on an old trolly, a sing-a-long, a visit from Santa, and a candy cane. We thought that it was done. Ahhhh, another trolly ride on a 50's trolly with Mr. Conductor. Our one grandson had the priviledge of closing the trolly door and then blow the horn. He was thrilled! We'll return, to be sure.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Museum for Children of All Ages!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

Went here with family, including my 2 year old nephew who loves trains. It was pumpkin festival day, so we took the trolley to the exhibit room where he got to decorate a pumpkin. But you don't even need that, because he was much more interested in climbing into and exploring all the old trolleys in the museum. Great volunteers here who let all the children ring the bell on the trolley. Highly recommend for small children and really anyone of anyone age.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“If your child likes trains, this will be fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Kids get to ride on trolleys, get in and check out old trolleys in the display barn and see video of trolleys. The train table in the gift shop was a ton of fun. There is a kids' size trolley that kids can play on inside the lobby with a bell to ring and levers to turn. Kids can use several different kinds of punches to punch train tickets and use stencils to make ads for the trolleys. People were friendly, tour guides knew their stuff - and we got half off on the Monday that we went from a flyer so check for coupons. Be aware that you don't get to see the full display barn of trolleys usually unless you pay a small additional fee for a longer tour (which would be nice but, with young kids, the tour included in admission was all we needed). Not a huge, fancy museum but we spent almost two hours and the kids loved it - just perfect for the little guys or anyone really interested in trolleys and their history.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Go there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011 via mobile

A destination attraction. Nice selection of cars. Trackage follows that of an interurban line that ran from Pittsburgh. Nice intro video. Friendly people. We spent two hours and could have stayed longer. Kids will like the trolley ride

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pennsylvania Trolley Museum also viewed

 

Been to Pennsylvania Trolley Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pennsylvania Trolley Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.