We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bike to Buck Valley Ranch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Buck Valley Ranch Llc

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Warfordsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buck Valley Ranch Llc
1344 Negro Mountain Road, Warfordsburg, PA 17267   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Warfordsburg B&B and Inns
Martinsburg, West Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bike to Buck Valley Ranch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

If you're biking the C&O Canal and looking for a place to stay in Little Orleans, I can recommend Buck Valley Ranch. Leon and Nadine (the proprietors) were wonderful and seemed to be everywhere at once. Food was good and very plentiful--you won't go hungry here. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the bathroom was huge with a great shower. After biking all day, a hot shower and good meal is a very good thing.

Room Tip: The downstairs bedroom shares a common wall with the living room. The conversation of other guests...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My friend and I have been coming here for several years. We don't ride but take long walks through the beautiful countryside, stopping to gaze at the horses and peacocks on the ranch and many other interesting animals "down the road." The owners, Leon and Nadine Fox, are fantastic! They're both great cooks and the food is very tasty and often organic. I see that other reviewers mentioned the scones and they are definately a treat! The rustic farmhouse environment reminds me of my grandparents' and aunt's home, filled with interesting "stuff" and comfortable furniture. It's easy to fall asleep with only the sounds of nature in the background (no TV but there is wi-fi!). The house has four bedrooms so it's easy to choose the size that suits you!

The owners will arrange services such as massage or pickup from the C&O canal. We usually visit during the winter and spend some time visiting the shops and restaurants in nearby Berkeley Springs.

The ranch is off the main highway and this makes it an even more inviting destination if you, like me, want to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life and just relax.

Room Tip: There is one bedroom on the first floor and three bedrooms upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

When you want to de-stress, relax and hang out with your friends or family, the Buck Valley Ranch is the place to do it. My friends and I have been coming here for years for to do just this. The owners, Nadine and Leon Fox are laid back and very accommodating. You feel very welcomed to relax and enjoy yourself. Whether you ride or not, this is a beautiful natural farm setting with lots of cool animals to watch and pet. The riding is great through the woods and over the mountain with lunch on top of the mountain. How cool is that? Nadine and Leon are fantastic cooks from down home country food with fresh produce to innovative veggie food if you are a vegetarian. And, the deserts and fresh muffins, scones or biscuits at breakfast are to die for. We often get up early to drink our coffee on the veranda and watch the sunrise. We have been there in all four seasons and each is a unique experience. Every time we are there we don't want to leave because we have truly relaxed and feel invigorated that we start planning our next visit before we leave.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This was a great trip we took with our 20yr old daughter. We biked into little orleans on the C&O towpath and the owner picked us up and drove us to the ranch. The ranch was very nice, with horses, peacocks, friendly dogs and a cozy feel. The rooms were very neat and clean. On the main floor you had a living room, dining room, and a kitchen and very accommodating owners. Along with the room came a fantastic dinner and breakfast. We took a horse back ride in the mountains like no other, I mean there was no trail we just followed Leon and it was so cool. We would differentially recommend this place, and hope to go back some day.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011 via mobile

I found the Buck Valley Ranch thru a recommendation and I have to say that I am very pleased. The one thing that is very important to me is that the place needed to be very well maintained and it is. The homecooked meals are a real bonus because not only is it hearty but also very good. It is good not having to hunt for a good restaurant all the time. The hosts are very nice and accommodating. They are what makes this place special. They told us they have families book thanksgiving reunions here and they cook their dinner for them. Sounds great.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2008

We biked into little orleans on the C&O towpath and the owner picked us up and drove us to the ranch. It was about a 15 minute drive. The ranch itself is very nice, with horses, peacocks, friendly dogs and a manx. The rooms are on the second floor - all very neat and clean. On the main floor are the public areas - a living room, dining room, and a a kitchen. What makes the place are the owners, who are kind, nice, and very accommodating. Iced tea and lemonade were in the refrigerator. Perfect for sitting out on the porch and watching the hummingbirds. Along with the room came a fantastic dinner - fresh vegetables, fresh salad, excellent chicken, couscous, etc. and of course amazing dessert.
I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Liked — The owners were delightful
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Still looking for a hotel?
Travelers also viewed these Warfordsburg hotels
Four Seasons 4.0 of 5 stars 5 reviews
View all 1 hotels in Warfordsburg, ranked by popularity

Been to Buck Valley Ranch Llc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buck Valley Ranch Llc

Address: 1344 Negro Mountain Road, Warfordsburg, PA 17267
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Warfordsburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Warfordsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buck Valley Ranch Llc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Buck Valley Ranch Llc to your Saves list