We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Couple's Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bridgeton House on the Delaware

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Upper Black Eddy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bridgeton House on the Delaware
Save
You added Bridgeton House on the Delaware to your Saves list
1525 River Rd, Upper Black Eddy, PA 18972   |  
Hotel amenities
Willow Grove, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Perfect Couple's Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed in the Delaware Suite - beyond gorgeous! We toured the other rooms (thanks so much to the in house manager for putting up with this request :)), and, though the Penthouse was way bigger, we are in love with the Delaware Suite. The open shower and bath, the balcony overlooking the river, the exposed brick, the rustic wood, the air flowing through with the balcony doors open - all were more than we had hoped for. We hope to model our own bedroom on this suite when we buy a house of our own. Be aware that there is no divide separating the bath, shower, and sleeping area. If you are a shy couple, you may need to skip this room. However, we loved it and found it sexy and romantic.

The bed itself was perfect, too. Soft mattress, comfy sheets, and great comforter. It was hard to get out of it in the morning - especially with the sound and smell of pouring rain coming in off of the balcony. I've noticed people complaining about the bridge noise. We loved the bridge lights reflecting on the river and slept with doors open and no disturbances. You'd have to be a very light, sensitive sleeper for the bridge to affect your comfort.

Breakfast was delicious and generous. It was nice to order from our table restaurant style rather than to battle a buffet. Everything was fresh; you could taste the homemade love.

If you are looking for a romantic getaway in a place where the rest of the world disappears, book the Delaware Suite at Bridgeton House.

Room Tip: Skip the River Suite. It is stunning - the sister room of the Delaware Suite - but it's on the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    35
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
4
187
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

A little expensive but delightful. A charming setting and wonderful service. The rooms are whimsical and each has it's own uniqueness. We met friends for a girls weekend. One of our rooms had a wonderful little screened in porch where we spent a lot of our time sipping wine and chatting. Our morning walk along a path that winds along a canal. Just beautiful. Visit frenchtown and new hope. Local artist , shops and delightful restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorestown
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for an overnight visit. We enjoyed it very much. The room with a balcony overlooking the Delaware river is very relaxing. The breakfast the next day was outstanding. The afternoon tea is nice. It is close to all the sights and scenic drives along the Deleware and very close to Ringing Rock State park.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilhelmenia, Owner at Bridgeton House on the Delaware, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay.
How happy we are that you enjoyed your visit! We love that one can spend time relaxing on their private balcony or experience our closeness to the sites in the area. Do nothing or do it all!

Looking forward to welcoming you back!
Bea Briggs


The Bridgeton House on the Delaware
1525 River Road
Upper Black Eddy PA 18972
610-982-5856 10AM -7PM Information
888-982-2009 10AM -7PM Reservations

"Our favorite Bucks County Inn" Philadelphia Magazine
Celebrating our 30th year of lodging on the Delaware
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilford, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

My sister and I stayed in the Garrett Room for a return trip to the Inn...once in August and then in April. It was a beautiful weekend both times and we had some quiet, "sister time" together. Having never stayed at a Bed and Breakfast, I was extremely impressed with the service...very helpful but not intrusive. The decor of the room was whimsical and the view of the river is lovely from the third floor balcony. The service is very accommodating and the food is delicious. The location is beautiful. We enjoyed dinner at the Milford Oyster House nearby. Day trips included drives to New Hope, Peddler's Village, and the quaint town of Lambertville. Both weekends were great and we will definitely go back again. One additional note...the steps on the stairs are narrow as in most older homes, so travel light if possible.

Room Tip: Rooms that are on the second floor and third floor have a better view of the river from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilhelmenia, Owner at Bridgeton House on the Delaware, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
How nice that we have been the location twice for you & your sister's getaway! We love that you returned & that you took the time to write about it! We thank you for complimenting our hardworking staff. We try hard to anticipate your needs, without being intrusive, and are happy that you noticed!

Our location is a great for seeing the sites in the area & then returning to the calm of our river side perch to relax.

Thanks again & we look forward to welcoming our favorite 'sisters' soon!

Best,
Bea Briggs

The Bridgeton House on the Delaware
1525 River Road
Upper Black Eddy PA 18972
610-982-5856 10AM -7PM Information
888-982-2009 10AM -7PM Reservations

"Our favorite Bucks County Inn" Philadelphia Magazine
Celebrating our 30th year of lodging on the Delaware
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I spent 2 weekend nights at the inn in April. Stayed in the River Suite. It does look out over the parking area but also has a view of the bridge and river from a screened porch. The suite is very comfortable with ample space and nice furnishings. Some commenters complain of bridge noise and foot steps. This is to be expected at a rustic inn. It's part of the experience, was very minor and to us was part of the character of the property. We loved the location. Close to the canal path for walking or jogging. A short drive to Frenchtown. Overall calm and relaxing. The jacuzzi in the suite is a plus. One reviewer complained of the size of the jacuzzi but it was just right for me and my wife. Service was just right - attentive and polite but not intrusive. Breakfast was excellent - fresh, varied and well prepared. If you are looking for a Four Seasons type of experience you will be disappointed. If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing getaway to recharge or reconnect, with the option to bike (which I recommend), hike or kayak, the Bridgeton is a great choice. It's also a very convenient and easy to navigate location and property - no waits for check in, parking garage, elevator, which we found very liberating. We have stayed at many inns and bbs, and we put this one high on our list of positive stays.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilhelmenia, Owner at Bridgeton House on the Delaware, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments about our inn. We appreciate you taking the time to talk about your room & the inn's amenities. While it is true that our first floor rooms do over look our small parking lot, they also overlook the terrace, gardens, river & bridge. I guess for some it is, 'Is the glass half full or half empty'... It's what one chooses to focus on.

We are honored that you have put us at the top of your list of positive stays! Happy travels to you & your wife!

Thank you again & we hope to welcome you again soon!
Best Wishes,
Bea Briggs
Owner

The Bridgeton House on the Delaware
1525 River Road
Upper Black Eddy PA 18972
610-982-5856 10AM -7PM Information
888-982-2007 10AM -7PM Reservations
"Our favorite Bucks County Inn" Philadelphia Magazine
Celebrating our 30th year of lodging on the Delaware

"Our favorite Bucks County Inn" Philadelphia Magazine
Celebrating our 30th year of lodging on Delaware
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, NJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

As with other reviewers I was disappointed that my room (which was on the first floor) overlooked the parking lot. The river was there...I just couldn't see much of it. There also was a bridge that I could see easily and could be quite noisy when traffic went by. Still, the room was comfortable and quiet and the service was excellent. Because we had gone to celebrate a birthday i was a little disappointed that I didn't have a better view but overall we enjoyed it and would return.

Room Tip: I would not choose a room on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilhelmenia, Owner at Bridgeton House on the Delaware, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thank you for your comments, how pleased we are that you would plan a return visit. We are very glad you found your room comfortable & quiet.

We would like to note that our small parking area also overlooks the river, our terrace & gardens. We have three floors at the inn, so the higher your room location, the better the view.

Thank you again & we look forward to welcoming you back!
Best Wishes,
Bea Briggs
Owner

The Bridgeton House on the Delaware
1525 River Road
Upper Black Eddy PA 18972
610-982-5856 10AM -7PM Information
888-982-2007 10AM -7PM Reservations
"Our favorite Bucks County Inn" Philadelphia Magazine
Celebrating our 30th year of lodging on the Delaware

"Our favorite Bucks County Inn" Philadelphia Magazine
Celebrating our 30th year of lodging on Delaware
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed on a perfect weekend in April. He ended up proposing to me at the bonfire by the lake. It was truly a magical moment. The people are so sweet and welcoming. The design of the room we stayed in called the Garrett was so incredible. It was like a fairy tale.
We can not wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilhelmenia, Owner at Bridgeton House on the Delaware, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
What a lovely couple & such a romantic proposal! Everyone on staff had a big smile on their faces knowing that you had such a fairy tale weekend! We are honored to have been the location for your special occasion. The riverside bonfire is really a hit with our guests & your 'man' took advantage of that location! Congratulations!

What a 'Recipe for Romance', our specialty!

Thank you again & we hope to welcome you again soon!
Best Wishes,
Bea Briggs
Owner

The Bridgeton House on the Delaware
1525 River Road
Upper Black Eddy PA 18972
610-982-5856 10AM -7PM Information
888-982-2007 10AM -7PM Reservations
"Our favorite Bucks County Inn" Philadelphia Magazine
Celebrating our 30th year of lodging on the Delaware

"Our favorite Bucks County Inn" Philadelphia Magazine
Celebrating our 30th year of lodging on Delaware
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bridgeton House on the Delaware? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridgeton House on the Delaware

Address: 1525 River Rd, Upper Black Eddy, PA 18972
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bucks County > Upper Black Eddy
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Upper Black Eddy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bucks County, PA's unique riverfront Bed & Breakfast Inn offering fine lodging only 20 minutes north of historic New Hope, PA in Upper Black Eddy, PA. Beautifully situated on the banks of the Delaware River, Bridgeton House Country Inn is decorated in a sophisticated artistic style with sumptuous feather beds, luxury linens, fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, balconies, french doors and river views. A romantic getaway with corporate meeting practicality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bridgeton House On The Delaware Hotel Upper Black Eddy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bridgeton House on the Delaware, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.