We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Service.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Grotto Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Grotto Restaurant
1308 Mall Run Rd, Uniontown, PA 15401-2633
724-438-0900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian, American, Seafood
Restaurant details
1 review
“Terrible Service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

When we walked in no one was at the hostess counter to greet us. We waited for a few a minutes to be seated. No one in sight and only a max of 10 guests in the restaurant. Things only got worse when we were seated. Our waitress was non existent throughout the entire dinner. I have never been so thirsty in my life. After taking our order and bringing out our food, she only refilled our drinks once and they were empty for along time before she filled them and after we needed more. She brought the check too early and when we were finished eating, we waited for her to come back for over 10 minutes to collect our payment. The couple next to us had to wave her down at one point to get her to even come over. She would come to her section and not even check on her guests. The food was actually pretty good but if you want someone to serve you maybe move onto Olive Garden.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    7
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connellsville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is our favorite Italian restaurant in Uniontown. We frequently go there, and we love their pasta, salad, and small loaves of bread. It is located in the mall, but it does have an outside entrance.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Food pretty bad but service was good”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The food here was truly bad -- the alfredo sauce really tasted like it came out of a can. Teenager only ate a few pieces of the pizza because of a weird cheese flavor. Pretty expensive for really poor quality. But the waitress was super nice and attentive (although it was pretty deserted we had to wait about 5 minutes for someone to notice us at the hostess stand).

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Ok Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The food was good but not great. But service was good and the food got out to us fast and hot. Also makes a pretty good drink.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro MO
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fried Zucchini -- a must to try!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The fried zucchini app is great! Just be prepared--it will serve about 10! Great pizza, too, and it automatically comes with a salad!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grotto Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grotto Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.