We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hopwood Motel of Uniontown

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Uniontown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hopwood Motel of Uniontown
Save
You added Hopwood Motel of Uniontown to your Saves list
1151 National Pike, Uniontown, PA 15401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Uniontown
Hampton, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

Nice decent hotel. Clean rooms. It is an older hotel but the rooms are clean and the staff is great! Priced very well. We would definitely stay here again. You can't beat the price for this hotel. Best rate we have found.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    7
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
5
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

My only complaint was the odor from the air conditioning unit. It needed to be cleaned, filter changed.

Very clean, furnishings outdated but comfortable. Should provide additional bed pillows. Price is very affordable, best in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kannapolis, North Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed in room 26 on the end.

The Good: The price is right for an overnight stay if you are going to Fallingwater which is nearby. The room was outdated and worn, but clean. Lots of hot water and good water pressure. Nice plastic adirondack chairs in a grassy area overlooking the road.

The Bad: The mattress was very soft. Bring your own pillows because the ones provided are flimsy. The A/C was loud and caused the room to smell like "dirty socks" - a problem caused by mold on the a/c coils. The tub filled with water during the shower because it drained so slowly. We locked the deadbolt and my husband had a difficult time unlocking it - from the inside! It was past 9:00 pm and the office had closed. We thought we were going to have to call the emergency number for assistance. However, he got the lock opened after about 5 minutes. This was reported to the manager the next morning and she said she would have it fixed. We noticed an unusual "safety feature" that had been added to the door. There was a plastic coated cable looped and attached to the doorframe on the inside of the room. The loop fit over the doorknob to act as a safety so nobody could come into the room. Perhaps this was to take the place of the "sticky" deadbolt? There was no iron or ironing board in the room. I asked the clerk on duty for an ironing board the evening that we arrived. He searched for one, but said he could not find it. The towels and washcloths were very thin.

Overall: Both my husband and I had difficulty sleeping due to the mattress, loud a/c and the smell. Something in the room caused both of us to have issues with our sinuses. We would not stay here again - even if it meant driving further for the Fallingwater tour.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

If you need a place to (just) sleep & shower, the Hopwood Motel is the place to stay. Shelley & Brenda are very friendly & accommodating. The motel is basically a 'no frills' motel for a very low price but the rooms & bath are exceptionally clean & offers a mini-fridge & microwave in each room. They do offer coffee which is found just outside the office. I'd like to see that the coffee is (more) available during the day & into the evening which is my only complaint. The rooms fill up very quickly. I've stayed at the Hopwood Motel twice and I have made reservations for my next visit to the Uniontown area. I have not been disappointed staying at this 'basic needs' motel. There is also a restaurant within walking distance (The Sun Porch) which offers a large, delicious buffet or one may order for the menu for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

This was our last stop on our trip. The worst part, for my husband, is there was no coffee in the morning. Apparantely, there is a coffe maker outside the office, but coffee had not been made when he got to it. The room was very nice and clean with a shower that was fabulous. Great water pressure. I really enjoy staying at locally owned places.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greencastle, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

We chose the Hopwood for price and proximity to Faling Water, and were very satisfied with the choice. The room was basic, but very comfortable and also large. We really like the fact that it was not a chain, and instead of a flashy lobby, the Hopwood had Adirondak chairs on a grassy hillside under shady trees. Note that there is coffee outside the office in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

The Hopwood Motel had friendly, professional staff, and although an older motel, the room was nicely renovated. Clean, no frills, and basic, and good price. Nice setting on a hill above the National Road. The small fridge and microwave were a bonus. I'd definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hopwood Motel of Uniontown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hopwood Motel of Uniontown

Address: 1151 National Pike, Uniontown, PA 15401
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Uniontown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Uniontown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated, Uniontown's closest lodging to Falling Water, Ohiopyle, Laurel Caverns, Ft Necessity. Clean comfortable rooms, reasonably priced. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hopwood Motel of Uniontown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.