We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stone Bridge Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Union Dale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stone Bridge Inn
Save
You added Stone Bridge Inn to your Saves list
306 Sugar Hill Rd., Union Dale, PA   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Union Dale B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

I booked a room at the Stone Bridge Inn for a late season ski weekend with my two younger daughters and had a very enjoyable stay. The inn is set far back from the road, overlooking a field and woods, with Elk Mountain's easternmost slopes in sight. It has a quaint, European feel, with several buildings clustered around a small courtyard. We had a very comfortable room, with a queen bed and a double bed in a loft overlooking the rest of the room, two chairs, modest flat-screen TV, and a corner fireplace, with a "firelog" ready to burn., The sheets and towels were clean and crisp, and the room was neat and clean. The decor was nice, if slightly worn in a few places (some wallpaper was peeling a bit). The only other minor complaint was that the rungs on the ladder to the loft were rather slippery, and I worried a bit about the kids climbing up and down, especially without shoes.

Our stay included a continental breakfast, with a somewhat limited selection that was perfectly adequate for our needs. There is also an indoor pool in the complex, shared with resort condos next door, along with a game room. The kids enjoyed the pool, which was warm, but relatively spartan. The inn also has a restaurant onsite with a bar. The restaurant looked quite nice, but as I had kids with me, we ate in the very cozy bar one night, having a really good meal. The lobster tails Florentine had an amazing Pernod sauce.

One other suggestion for the Inn would be to improve the signage identifying the entrance to the restaurant, as it is not clear at all to anyone coming into the little complex.

I hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    12
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Not your cookie-cutter American motel, this unique place has a certain Old-World charm, the architecture reminding one of a little castle. The two big plusses are that it is only about a mile from Elk Mountain (great trails, no crowds) and that the excellent restaurant serves reasonably-priced gourmet-type dishes (lobster Florentine over pasta, yum!) as well as pub-type food. Genuinely friendly but not cloying service. The room was comfy-cozy with a working fireplace in the corner. There is also a building with an indoor pool. What's not to love? The only negative was that the breakfast room was a little run-down and could use a some updating (kill that flowered upholstery!). However, this is my second visit, I love this place, and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Get one with a fireplace, so nice on a winter night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingsport, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

A friend and I stayed one night in a queen room with a loft. This was our 2nd stay @ Stonebridge.We ski at Elk Mt. and the Inn's location to the ski area is great. The overall layout and feel of the property is very pleasant,but upgrades are seriously needed. The biggest complaint we have is the heater/ac unit in the rooms. There is no thermostat on these units,so they will run,blowing air continuously unless manually turned off. On a frigid winter's night,finding the perfect air temp is impossible,thereby your room is either a sweatbox or a meat locker. We tried to find the happy medium on the temp dial..to no avail.This means that someone is responsible for turning the heat on and off throughout the night! Inevitably,3am rolled around and we were both FREEZING in our beds. We remembered this when we checked in(our last visit was a few yrs. ago). Not a relaxing night. The furnishings are on the "antique" style,which is fine,but the TV was very "nostalgic" and the remote just didn't work. Table top flat screens would be a minimal investment and would go a long way in creating a lasting impression to guests.While the room and common areas were clean,the rugs and furnishings are worn and stains were apparent. The railing going up the staircase to the 2nd floor rooms is very wobbly and was in the same condition the last time we were there.Sadly,it just seems that this once lovely property is slipping.Dont expect much from the continental breakfast-croissants,a stick of butter,jelly,some fruit and tiny blueberry muffins. It's proximity to Elk makes it the only game in town,and it was pretty full during our stay.Hopefully.management will make some needed upgrades,but with little competition,complacency may reign. The shining star to this Inn is the restaurant/bar. The food,atmosphere and service are fabulous! While we will not be staying here again,we will probably eat here on our next ski trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbinn2010, Owner at Stone Bridge Inn, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for your insights and we’re glad you enjoyed our restaurant and tavern. Many of the inn guests that were here when you stayed are returning customers who have stayed multiple times and we are happy to see that they keep coming back.

The issue you had with the HVAC unit in the room has been resolved – the internal thermostat was faulty so the heat control knob on the panel that allows you to select a warmer to cooler temperature was unresponsive. The thermostat has been replaced, and we apologize that we weren’t aware of this and able to fix it in advance of your stay.

The televisions in the rooms are being replaced with new ones as needed. Although some of the sets are older, it seems unnecessary to replace them all at once when they still work fine. The wobble in the staircase railing that you mentioned will hopefully be remedied during our down time in April when it can be totally dismantled and stabilized from underneath. The continental breakfast varies slightly from day to day and usually includes a toaster item like English muffins, bagels or breakfast toast, plus Danish pastries, muffins or coffee cake, sometimes cereal, fruit, orange juice, coffee, decaf and assorted teas. The croissants put out during your visit were a last minute substitution, not typically served, and we have discussed with the staff your feedback about the offerings on that day. Guests frequently comment that the breakfast is more substantial than they expected, so we’re sorry your experience was less than satisfactory.

Updates are ongoing with regard to all areas of the property, and we are in total agreement that updates are still needed. Some improvements that have been accomplished over the past 16 months include new roofing on 80% of the multi-building complex, new carpeting throughout three levels in the restaurant / tavern area, refinishing of the bar dance floor and other wooden railings, stairs, etc., painting of various rooms in the inn and restaurant, expanded cable TV service and free WiFi throughout the inn rooms, various tiling in bathrooms, sealing the asphalt in the parking areas, and the purchase of various major appliances and equipment that needed to be replaced. We are constantly making updates and improvements and will continue in our efforts to satisfy new and returning guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collegeville
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Perhaps I'm not qualified to give a review since I did not stay here. I visited a friend and his family who were staying here while Skiing at Elk Mt. We had Dinner at Stone Bridge. They showed me their room and all around this Inn. What a beautiful place Stone Bridge is. I have to take my family to stay here. The area had received about 8" of snow while there and Stone Bridge looked like a picture post card. It has a very European feel. Many of the rooms have fireplaces and a lofts with beds which are great for families. A common area is a nice place for guests to gather and discuss the days skiing, have a drink or an AM continental breakfast.

Stone Bridge has a small number of rooms and I believe they book up quite fast. I was told that they also have an indoor pool area with a fireplace as well. There is a restaurant and bar area as well.

I don't see a lot of Excellent reviews here but compared to other accommodations in the area, I have to give this an Excellent review. It's about two miles from the base of Elk Mountain ski area which is very convenient. Talking to a few guests while visiting, it appears that this place has a lot of regulars who come every year, especially during holiday weeks. Book early, but don't take my room!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

My husband and I spent the weekend at Stone Bridge when we were in the area visiting our son at camp. The hotel was nicely located and easy to find. Our check in was quick and easy, since the property only has a dozen rooms. We were booked into room 7, which is on the second floor and looks out the rear of the inn. No view to speak of.
The place is quaint, although started to seem a bit dated. There are two things about the hotel that were least enjoyed was 1) the inability to get our room to a comfortable temperature. The air conditioning unit did not seem to have a thermostat, so no matter what temperature range you selected, it just ran really cold. And since it was an older unit, it caused my husband some respiratory problems, likely due to it's age, perhaps old filter and the fact that it ran and ran. And 2) the building has a marked musty smell to it. Sort of reminded me of an old damp basement. Our room itself was fine, but the common area where they serve continental breakfast really needed a dehumidifier to address this problem.
The real gem of this property is it's restaurant. Here you are in the middle of no where, and it's menu was top notch. We ate here both nights we stayed and got the chance to try several of the appetizers and entrees. I was not disappointed by anything. Our favorites were the beef tournedos and the roasted duck. Both perfectly done and delicious. We actually ate in the pub both nights where they serve the full restaurant menu. We thought it was more relaxing and casual to sit at the bar rather than in the main dining room. The bartender Ryan was great! We enjoyed our conversations with him and his attention to service was fantastic.
Overall, this was a nice little place and I would recommend it for a short weekend getaway. If they address the musty problem and dated air conditioning units, I would consider giving it an excellent rating.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Haven, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

This is our favorite getaway place when we're in the Endless Mountains. The staff is frielndly, helpful and feel like old friends... the restaurant is nice with a unique selection.. but our favorite is the tavern...

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schuylkill County, Pa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

I've stayed here several times - all during ski season, and have always enjoyed my stay. The European ambiance of the inn is especially inviting and the rooms are clean and comfortable. I particularly love the rooms with fireplaces. A continental breakfast is served and gets you off to a good start on the slopes. I only wish they would put coffee makers and small refrigerators in the rooms; a microwave somewhere in office or living room would be nice too. The tavern is not open every nite, but when it is, one can enjoy an apres ski drink and burger without going up the road. The place is always my first choice for an overnite at Elk and I can't wait to go again!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stone Bridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Bridge Inn

Address: 306 Sugar Hill Rd., Union Dale, PA
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Union Dale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Union Dale
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stone Bridge Inn & Restaurant is a unique and charming European-style inn. Here you'll enjoy a relaxing retreat and excellent food in a spectacular country setting. Nestled on a hilltop, surrounded by rolling hills and meadows, it is reminiscent of a small European village - a quaint, alpine hideaway. The Inn offers thirteen unique and comfortable rooms, while the restaurant and tavern feature multi-level post and beam architecture with fireplaces and cozy corners. On nearly 200 acres of forests and pastures, traversed by a small trout stream, Stone Bridge is in the heart of the Endless Mountains and just minutes from Elk Mountain, Pennsylvania's finest ski area. It is located within three hours of New York City and Philadelphia, and one-half hour north of Scranton, PA. Whatever the season, Stone Bridge offers a variety of recreational facilities, including access to an indoor pool and hot tub, horseback riding, cross-country skiing and hiking trails, nearby golf courses, fishing, snowmobiling and bike trails, as well as downhill skiing at Elk Mountain. The Endless Mountains region provides a fine variety of antique shops, scenic vistas, historic sites and additional fishing and hunting areas in nearby State Gamelands.Stone Bridge is perfect for couples and families looking for a getaway and also specializes in unique events such as weddings, receptions, rehearsal dinners, anniversary parties, business retreats and family reunions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stone Bridge Hotel Union Dale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone Bridge Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.