We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stony Point Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tyrone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stony Point Bed & Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Stony Point Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
1400 North Avenue, Tyrone, PA 16686   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Tyrone B&B and Inns
Newark, Maryland, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

From the beginning, my stay was a delightful experience. The welcome was very friendly, and the stay included little unexpected extras which I really appreciated. My room was really homey, the bed was extremely comfortable. I was very impressed with the innkeeper’s wish to make my visit very special. Paul was very friendly and attentive at all times which made the stay so enjoyable. Also, the house is situated in a fabulous location within easy reach of interesting places to visit. I would recommend Stony Point Bed and Breakfast without any hesitation and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
72
48
12
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

My family and I spent the night and were really impressed. The house is beautiful and the innkeeper, Paul, really went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
21754
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My girlfriend and I stopped over here on a Friday night on our way to Niagara Falls from the DC region (nice location for that stop over!). They welcomed us and showed us around. In the morning, breakfast (French toast, bacon, orange juice and coffee - yum) was ready. They showed us around the entire Inn from top to bottom and gave us a history of the place and region. It was just a gorgeous immaculate place. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our first stay at the Inn in October 2011! The accommodations are clean and roomy. We enjoyed our two night stay along with our friends. The Innkeeper Paul gave us all a warm welcome and provided delicious breakfast with a wonderful homemade Pastry. One of our evenings at the Inn, we enjoyed a wine tasting and cheese. Prior to our departure, we were able to walk the grounds, which are peaceful and beautiful! We are looking forward to our two stays booked for September and October in 2012!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at Stony Point b&b for a family members small wedding. All of the rooms were very cute and good sized. Paul keeps everything very clean and pays attention to detail. He also cooked a great breakfast for us on Sunday morning before we left. I was very pleased with the entire experience and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Stony Point was the perfect place to host our family overnight. It was nice staying in a "home away from home" versus in a hotel in the area. The rooms were beautifully decorated with a dining area that was perfectly fit to host our engagement lunch the next afternoon. We appreciated the hospitality and kindness of the people working on site. Everything about this place helped make our day even more memorable. Highly recommend choosing this B&B for your next visit up :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

My family and I wanted to get back home for Mothers day weekend but we knew we all couldn't stay at Mom and Dad's house. We called and talked to Paul who was very eager to help us with arrangements. He set us up to stay at the Bed & Breakfast on the corner of Hoovers Lane and Clay Avenue. The house was AWESOME!! The next day we went to Stony Point to check out and we recieved a tour of the house. If you are into history this house is it. While growing up in Tyrone and even playing basketball in the summer and sled riding in the winter here on the property I never knew what a historical landmark the town has here on the hill. I know we will be back again. Thanks again Paul for all you did for us! Craig & Alverda

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stony Point Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stony Point Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1400 North Avenue, Tyrone, PA 16686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Tyrone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tyrone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
STONY POINT.......so well built the original plaster completely covers the walls and ceilings. So well engineered by the Pennsylvania Railroad engineers and Stone masons that the hillside and house have stayed locked in place for nearly a century. The house sits in a hillside "cut" stabilized by deep stone foundations. In the early 20TH century as the Pennsylvania Railroad made the switch to steel freight cars the Italian and Irish immigrant workers of Tyrone dismantled the cars and constructed the floor beams that half the house rests upon. The old PRR stenciling is still visible spanning several decades as evidenced by the changing font and type styles. Numerous engineering and freight terms appear throughout the basement beams. Examples include: "Westinghouse air brake" "capacity" "drake gear" "coupler" and of course "Pennsylvania" as well as multiple freight car numbers. The unusual preponderance of Keystones (16) in the home also lend credence to Stony Point Bed and Breakfasts description as a "marriage between a reserved corporate aesthetic and 1920 high upper middle class tastes. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stony Point Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.