We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PIECES of chocolate in my sheets, pizza sauce all over wall” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Philadelphia Trevose

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Philadelphia Trevose to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Philadelphia Trevose
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3100 Lincoln Highway, Trevose, PA 19053   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Trevose
RI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“PIECES of chocolate in my sheets, pizza sauce all over wall”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2008

We booked this hotel last minute, just looking for a place to sleep basically. Upon arrival I put my bags down on the chair and noticed a reddish chunk of something on the chair (pizza sauce im assuming) so I took a towel and washed it off. Well, the towel turned black.... So i thought maybe leaving my stuff on the floor was a better idea! When I went to put something in the trash I noticed the wall all around where the trash can is was GROSS. I dont think it had ever been cleaned, pieces of food and whatever were all over it. The bathroom door also had that same reddish stain on it, assuming a child had sauce on there hands and thats where all these marks came from??
So, me being pretty easygoing, dismissed all of this and went on with my night. We went to dinner and got into bed. Myself and my daughter slept in one... I had noticed a small black stain on the sheets of the other bed so my husband said he'd sleep in it (assuming it was a clean sheet, just stained). My daughter was a bit excited about goin to sesame place the next day,so we ended up playin around in the bed for a little while, then i saw this brown "something" come out of the sheets. When examined further the sheets had brown stains all over them towards the bottom and there was a few large crumbs from chocolate! SO obviously these were the same DIRTY sheets someone else had been sleeping on!!!!!
SO we were given a 2nd room, this one too had a stain on the sheets (they did look clean, just stained) and the desk had sticky soda all over it.
ITS NOW 1130 PM. We decide to check out, we were refunded our money and moved on to another hotel
COMFORT INN is 20 dollars more but offers a free breakfast... so it evened itself out!

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — VERY DIRTY!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    38
    22
    6
    10
See reviews for
19
33
16
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2008

For the price of $66.00 + tax, the room served its purpose. We were only there for 1 night for a funeral of a relative. There was coffee in the lobby (but no other breakfast items). The room did not have a coffee pot, nor did it have a hair dryer.

We were on pretty much a limited time schedule, so we really only slept there. The bedding (blanket) did have holes, which looked like cigarette holes (althought we did have a non-smoking room). ?????,

The Motel was rather difficult to get to. We were in the wrong lane (during rush hour traffic) and could not get over into the right lane to go into the Motel. It seemed rather diffucult to get back to the motel since the street in front of the motel is only 1 way.

There were no restaurants within walking distance of the motel which was a little inconvenient.

It seems that the closer you get to Sesame Place, the higher the prices got for motels. I guess for the price, I would have to say this place was OK --- Not Great, just OK.

  • Liked — The price was within our budget
  • Disliked — No breakfast, No coffee pot or hair dryer. Rather difficult to get to.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2007

Based on the reviews we read here, we stayed at the Red Roof Inn in Trevose for a night when we had a late Saturday night affair to attend.

This is a budget hotel, no frills. There are bedspreads, not duvet covers, individual heat, no internal hallway - pull your car up to your front door and walk in.

The room was adequately furnished, TV with remote worked fine, desk area. No wireless access unless you pay for it. They do have free dial up.

The bathroom could have used a little tweaking. Not especially dirty, but pretty old.

In the summer you need air conditioning, and most of the people who wrote reviews for this place go to Sesame Place in the warm months. We were there in December, and it was cold. We turned the heat up, but the room never got past about 70 degrees.

It was not a bad experience, just not a wow experience.

  • Liked — It was close to the Philmont Country Club
  • Disliked — It was cold
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northants
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2007

We stayed here for two weeks at the end of August and for the price I can't fault it. We had a comfortable clean room the reception staff were very helpful and friendly . The only small downside was the location it's on a one way street which makes it a little difficult if you need to go the other way but once you figure out which turns to make it couldn't be easier. This is the 2nd Red Roof we've stayed at and I wouldn't hesitate to stay in another. There are plenty of places to eat round the corner on Street Road and a couple of good places next to Walmart,particulary the 99. All in all a great place to use as a base for exploring the Philadelphia area.

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island, new york
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2007

I was a guest at this Red Roof inn Aug 22nd, for one night.
Red Roof Inn keeps getting better and better. The rooms are all
remodeled and very clean and attractive. The beds are the most
comfortable beds in an economy hotel. The bathrooms were also redone, great water pressure in the shower. This property is
very convenient to the pennsylvania turnpike and businesses in the area. If you have not tried a Red Roof Inn, do so!!!. some of these properties are cleaner and nicer than some hilton hotels I have been in

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown,Oh
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2007

Great place to stay if going to Sesame place. Very affordable, great location, clean and comfortable.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2007

YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR:
No real complaints here, but be forewarned- this is most definitely a basic, budget hotel. The recent redesign of Red Roof lobbies and guest rooms are an added plus, as are the "ammenities" and convenient features for business travelers: T-Mobile wifi hotspot in all rooms, free USA Today and "gourmet" coffee (albeit from a machine) in the lobby, well-lit workstations and ample outlets in the room. My King Executive room came with a mini-fridge and a microwave, but was very cramped. Not a lot of wiggle-room, here.

Room was very clean upon check-in. Bathroom floor hadn't been vaccuumed in a while, but didn't seem too dirty. A good hard look revealed some soap scum, but it was definitely cleaner than my bathroom at home!

WHAT'S FOR DINNER?
There are no direct services on the Red Roof property or even within walking distance, so if you want a midnight snack or beverage, you can rely on the Inn's vending machines, just outside of the lobby, but that's about it.

If you keep driving south on US-1/Lincoln Hwy., you will pass the Kraft building (yes, it smells like marshmallows and chocolate) and begin to enter the retail district. There are several strip malls and various eateries ranging from fast food (Wendy's, Taco Bell/Pizza Hut, Chick-fil-A, KFC) to sit down family-fare (Longhorn Steak House, Olive Garden, The 99).

Hint: Avoid The 99. The service is super slow, even when they are not busy and the food quality seemed lower than average for a 99.

OTHER:
Check-in was fast, friendly and efficient. If you have a wireless laptop but no T-Mobile account, you can log into T-Mobile's site from your room and order a Day Pass for $9.99. Parking is ample and free. There are two buildings which rooms are located in, so best to park near the lobby when you check-in, before you try finding a "permanent" spot.

OVERALL:
This is a safe, clean and convenient hotel if you have business to attend to in the area. It is not for tourists, as there really isn't anything to see or do around here.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Philadelphia Trevose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Philadelphia Trevose

Address: 3100 Lincoln Highway, Trevose, PA 19053
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Trevose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Trevose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Philadelphia Trevose 2*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Red Roof Inn, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Inn Philadelphia Trevose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Philadelphia Trevose Hotel Trevose
Red Roof Inn Trevose
Trevose Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Philadelphia Trevose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.