We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Ride” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oil Creek & Titusville Railroad

Oil Creek & Titusville Railroad
409 S Perry St, Perry Street Station, Titusville, PA 16354
+1 814-676-1733
Website
Improve this listing
Activities: Group tours/train
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Train Ride "through the valley that changed the world." You'll travel back in time... just by arriving at our home station, an 1892-vintage freight station in Titusville, PA. Our three hour trip will take you to where oil history began. Our tour guides describe the people and places that make up Pennsylvania Oil Country. Your family can share the fun of train travel and relive history.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“What a Ride”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This was an excellent attraction that takes you along the Oil Creek. The trees were beautiful at this time of the year and there were several bald eagles sitting in the trees along the creek.

The history that was given along the way by both the staff and the pre-recorded tape was very entertaining and informative.

The lunch that was provided for us was nice with sandwiches, chips, cookies and a drink and if you were not part of a prescheduled tour group, there was a food car where you could get hot dogs, sausage, chips ice cream and other goodies.

The only draw back to this trip was the bathroom facilities, there were not enough at the station and the ones on the train went bad very quickly, hence the lower rating.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    20
    5
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Marys, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
“rest rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The overall train ride was very enjoyable and we enjoyed it very much, but the restrooms at
Rynd Farm reaked. The restrooms in the train cars need to be updated, no need to keep
them "historically correct". The lid and seat would not stay up, and they smelled bad!
Also, with the number of passengers, more facilities are obviously needed!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Train Ride!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The boys really liked this train ride! It was educational ~ we learned a little about the area we were traveling through. We saw some beautiful sites and wildlife. The staff was very nice and knowledgeable. We got on at the Drake Well Museum stop and took the train round trip. This trip would be absolutely beautiful in the Fall.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Awesome trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

This train ride is kind of expensive but worth it! It was at least 2 hours long going there and back. Lots of history along the way... And we even saw a bald eagle! Then we wrote out a post card on the train. I also like the open car (standing only) on the back of the train. It was an awesome experience for any one of any age.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nature, education and history all in one great ride!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I can't ride this delightful train enough. And to think this was created and continues to run on donations and volunteers. Kudos to you all.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oil Creek & Titusville Railroad also viewed

 

Been to Oil Creek & Titusville Railroad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oil Creek & Titusville Railroad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.