We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tour-Ed Coal Mine

Tour-Ed Coal Mine
748 Bull Creek Road, Tarentum, PA 15084
724-224-4720
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Attractions in Tarentum
Attraction details
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

I would recommend this to all visitors of Tarentum.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    3
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Real education”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

The Tour-Ed is just that....a tour of an actual coal mine and an education about a life that many of us never think about. They do a little talk about the life of a coalminer, the dangers, and innovations; then they load you into a railcar and take you into the mine. Having come from generations of coalminers on both sides of the family (up to my grandfathers) - it was a real eyeopener as to the environment (and dangers) they lived with in order to put food on the table. Considering that much of our electricity still is generated by coal-fired plants, this is a little reality-check for what goes on behind the scenes everytime we hit a light switch!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Get full appreciation of coal mining work and life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011 via mobile

Very moving. Highly recommend. But warning for those who are claustrophobic - stay in museum. Train ride and internal mine displays have very low ceilings.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, CT
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very interesting tour of the Pittsburgh coal mines.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The tour takes you in a cart into an actual coal mine where you see various coal-mining tools used throughout history. There is also a little museum with antiques from the area. I thought it was really fun, and the information was great!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“It's cool. When else are you going to be in a coal mine?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

I definately recommend it for a day trip from Pittsburgh. The guide and museum workers were old miners, extremely knowledgeable and we all enjoyed it. Perfect for a rainy day because it's all inside!

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tour-Ed Coal Mine also viewed

Been to Tour-Ed Coal Mine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tour-Ed Coal Mine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.