We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another week at Chestnut Grove.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chestnut Grove Resort

Save Saved
You added Chestnut Grove Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chestnut Grove Resort
106 Carlton Road, Swiftwater, PA 18370   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Camelbeach Tickets
Ranked #2 of 2 Swiftwater B&B and Inns
central, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Another week at Chestnut Grove.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My wife and I and several of our grandchildren have been going to Chestnut Grove each summer for the last 5 years. My Grandchildren LOVE this place and start a countdown to the departure day months before we actually go. The staff is great and friendly. Noelle is very accomodating and Wally and Carol keep the place running and clean. This year they had 2 young women to be activity directors. They did very well with the younger children and kept the games and karaoke running smoothly. They have entertainment everynight.Magicians,bands, game shows and DJs. Be sure to check out DJ Greg Montgomery and his games and trivia, it's always a highlight of our week. We have the same reservation every year and have become fast friends with several families that share the same week with us. It's like an extended family. The price seems to be reasonable because breakfast and dinner are included. The food seems to improve each year and so does the wait staff. We have a very nice time here, and you could do a lot worse, for a lot more money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    10
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
23
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stopped by this property during a visit to the Poconos today with the idea that we'd like to know of a nice place to recommend to others or as an accommodation for ourselves when we are staying overnight. We live an hour or so away and usually plan day trips but now and then we will stay a night or two.

The property is very outdated. We are in the construction business and the buildings and public areas are late 1940's-early 50's design. This could be a really cool mid-century modern place but the décor was updated sometime in the 70's or 80's and that just looks plain tired. The amenities and social calendar is retro also and while that too could be cool, it feels just pathetic.

We arrived mid-afternoon and the scent of fried food was so heavy in the air in the bar area that I could smell it on my hair and clothing after leaving the building. The staff seemed pleasant but not really friendly. The game room is really run down, with a 1950's asbestos tile floor that is badly damaged as well as unattractive walls and ceilings of unsuitable construction.

I am sure that Chestnut Grove was pretty cool in its heyday and it could be updated to be an interesting throw back sort of place but truthfully the costs would be prohibitive. As it is, the room rates seem extremely expensive considering what is available for guests.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Babylon, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Our family and a bunch or other families have met at Chestnut Grove for the past couple years as a reunion from when our families first met back in the 1970s. Everyone has a blast. The food is ok and the rooms are ok but you are not young here for a glitzy vacation. This is a campy family type vacation and it is great. Can't wait for next year.

There is a small pond with huge bull frogs and biting fish. That's enough to keep the kids busy all day.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I wish we could select more than one because Chestnut Grove is more of a trip to see friends, but we all come together as a family. My family has been going to Chestnut Grove a long time. My grandparents went there for their honeymoon. This summer will be our 12th year at the resort. There's decent food, decent services, and we have a great time! After going there for so many years and knowing everyone, it has become a place for my parents to relax while we go out. I think the place has gotten a bit run-down over the years but you can still appreciate it. Maybe we just like it because the community is great and is like a family. Well, whatever it is, we will continue to go there for a long time.

Room Tip: The sooner you book a room, the more options you have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The people,the fun, the guest and the price! To go to the jersey shore for 1 week would cost you between 4-5 thousand dollars at CHESTNUT GROVE RESORT is a resonable price R&R vacation! Snack bar and drinks are at resonable prices. You want a fancy vacation you will pay the fancy price that comes with it! My family is returning for our 12th year. C u there late July early August!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The ultimate goal of our family vacation is to relax. We certainly did at Chestnut Grove. If you are looking for a high end (and high price) resort, this is NOT it. If you are looking for a cozy place to unwind, this IS it. We always found the staff friendly and helpful. We have visited during the past 2 summers and are booked again for a week this summer.

While it is on the older side, it is clean and well maintained. There are many available activities on the grounds such as beach volleyball, bocci ball, shuffleboard, horseshoes, ping pong, miniature golf, basketball/tennis court, fishing (catch & release), paddleboats, playground, archery, indoor and outdoor pool, hot tub, and softball field. Throughout the day, various activities are scheduled by the social director that cater to children and adults. There are also other activities close-by such as a water park, rollerskating rink, shopping, outlet shopping, and a casino.

There are several lodging choices such as cottages surrounding the pool, main lodge, lakeview, and the vista. There are different configurations for each type but they are all priced the same. The rooms include cable tv and a refrigerator.

In the evening, entertainment includes a DJ at the Carriage House; this is a combination bar and social hall. The bar drinks are very reasonably priced. There is also a pool table available. WIFI is available at the Carriage House, dining hall, and at the covered outside deck between them.

The price includes two meals (breakfast & dinner) per day. Breakfast is served from 8 - 10 AM and dinner is from 5 - 7 PM. There is also a snack bar available most of the day with reasonable prices. We have personally went to places that offered 3 meals a day but found that we ate too much, always felt full, and that lunch interrupted our day. The food is not gourmet but is good. For breakfast, in addition to the hot entree, there is a breakfast bar with various cereals, and juices. At dinner, there is a salad bar that also includes cold salads such as potato salad, macaroni salad, and coleslaw.

The grounds are safe and there are always children walking around. Our preteen son enjoys the freedom of being able to walk around by himself, participate in activities, and get together with his friends. If he wants to find us, he can find us without too much trouble.

We noticed that there were some negative reviews, but some visited outside the summer season. Since our experience is only during the summer season, we can only comment about our experience during the summer. We are one of those people who hang our towels and bathing suits on the fence by the outdoor pool. We want our towels and bathing suits to dry outside with the sun rather than make our cottage smell musty from hanging all those items inside.

If your expectations are not too high, you will enjoy Chestnut Grove. It is a very affordable family vacation and you won't feel like you need another vacation after your visit. It is all-inclusive, so you don't have to worry about meals and traveling to get to activities. You can also use Chestnut Grove as a base to visit the various attractions in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brick
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We got this through groupon with the payment of the room we were to get $50 credit for the snack bar. Would have been lovely if they had told us the snack bar was going to be closed most of the weekend because of a family reunion. Would have also been nice if they told us some of the activities were going to be cancelled because of a family reunion that we were not a part of. My children cried because activities were cancelled and not passed on to us. Also the first night there our waiter never told us there was a children's menu, I guess a 5 & 8 yr old at the table does not warrant that? They also did not tell us when booking that there would be no snack bar for lunch because they were bbqing for the family reunion but we were welcome as long as we wanted to spend $9 pp on hot dogs and hamburgers. At that point we decided to give the rest of our money to other people in the Poconos. Only one person was helpful or nice there so I have no idea what people are talking about. Maybe you have to be regulars to be helped out. I just know I would never go back again. I will say the only thing I that we liked was the attic bedroom my young boys had and I only liked it because they thought it was awesome.

Overall the place is old but clean I can live with old but just jerking us around? Sorry I am not living with that.

Room Tip: I guess if they stuck to their schedule and not catered to only the family reunion and cancelled wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chestnut Grove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Grove Resort

Address: 106 Carlton Road, Swiftwater, PA 18370
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Swiftwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Swiftwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Chestnut Grove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chestnut Grove Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.