We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buffet Only” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stroudsmoor Country Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stroudsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stroudsmoor Country Inn
Save
You added Stroudsmoor Country Inn to your Saves list
RD #4 Stroudsmoor Road, P.O. Box 153, Stroudsburg, PA 18360   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Stroudsburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Easton, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Buffet Only”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We have been to the Stroudsmoor inn a few times for overnight stays (always stay at the LEdgemoor rooms if you can) However this time we just went to the Grand Buffet. Everything was excellant. There was cream of mushroom soup that was fantastic. A variety of breads and rolls (multi-grain, corn muffins, regular rolls, cinnamon bread). Salads of every kind (brocolli, regular, fruit, etc). The fish side had Seafood salad, jumbo shrimp, salmon, some other kind of fish). Entrees were a premivera pasta, meatballs and sausage.chicken saltimboca, breaded pork chops, green beans, rice pilaf, tilapia, the carving station had wings, ham, filet mignon, and roasted potatoes. Everything was delicious. Desserts (which I'm not sure where included in the price since I didn't see the bill) were rice pudding, bread pudding, blueberry pie and a few others I can't remember. dinner for 4 with 4 drinks and 4 desserts with coffee was $181.00 not including tip

Room Tip: If staying there and you can afford it. Stay in the ledgemoor suites. They overlook the valley, ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    59
    16
    15
    15
See reviews for
76
92
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cedarville, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Went up a day early for a wedding on Saturday. Arrived in the afternoon and was able to get right into our suite. My husband and I loved the fact that we were situated directly across from the main inn and just steps from where the wedding would be the next day. The room itself was an old cabin redone. It was small but well kept and comfy with a queen size bed. We decided to sit at the bar for a while waiting to be seated for dinner and loved the atmosphere and conversations with the bartender. I did not realize dinner was a seafood buffet when we were seated. I usually avoid buffets but I found this one enjoyable with lots of well prepared fresh food. I really enjoyed the snow crab legs.Went back to the bar after dinner and stayed a while. The next morning there was fresh coffee and scones available. I took some back to our room until we were ready for breakfast but we were too late to be seated but the staff provided us with scrambled eggs,sausage,potatoes, fruit,coffee,and juice all to go. After we ate we decided to walk around the property.Anyone who stays should make the trip up and see the view at ridgecrest. It's beautiful and a little dizzying. The wedding was held in the woodsgate venue and it was really nice except if your trying to navigate hills in high heels. The service at the wedding was exceptional and even our after party in the bar downstairs was well attended. Sunday morning brought a nice continental breakfast with fresh fruit, yogurt,scones,sweet bread,bagels and cereals. After a quick checkout we were heading back home. I would go back again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroudsburg, PA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've been to many Stroudsmoor events and Sunday buffets and am never disappointed. Most recently, I had the pleasure of attending a party in Lawnhaven and the food, from appetizers to desert was heavenly. The detail and pride that is put into each dish is amazing. The servers are professional, warm and courteous. If you are looking to host a gathering or reception, try here first! They even have rental cabins on site that are comfortable, quiet and affordable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paterson, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were here for my cousin's wedding a few weeks ago and could not have been more impressed with the wedding. From what I could tell from walking the property, they have about 4 large buildings where you can have your wedding...one more beautiful than the next! Everything about the wedding was superb, the food, the flowers, the building, the decor, the staff...just lovely! Our family is still talking about how well every detail was attended to. We could have come up just for the wedding day since we live relatively close, but my husband and I decided to make a long weekend out of it and came up on Friday instead. We arrived around 1pm and tried to check into the hotel a little early. It would have been easier to check into the White House. This absolutely repugnant woman, who introduced herself as "the front desk manager" (I would like to point out also that she never introduced herself by her name and were it not for her name tag, we would not have known it) about seventy-five times informed us that check-in is not until 3 and there was no way to guarantee the room was ready. We were told to come back at 3 because "that's policy". I understand policies, they are in place for a reason. But she could have been a little less abrasive when telling us no...you are in the hospitality industry, learn to be hospitable. We came back at 4, just to be safe, and checked into our room with the same troll that "helped" us the first time. It is beyond me how the owners allow someone like this to represent their company...besides being rude and making us feel like we were being interrogated, her appearance is less than appealing and she really shouldn't be the first person that greets your guests. Later that night, we came back and ate dinner in the restaurant...so delicious! Every kind of seafood you could possibly want and all at your fingertips! The staff in the dining room was fantastic as well. There was a lovely woman with an accent (I think her name was Theresa) that greeted us and welcomed us into the dining room - she immediately engaged us in conversation and made us feel like we were right at home. Kelly waited on us and couldn't have done a better job attending to our needs in such a timely and gracious manner - she recommended some of the featured drinks that weekend, as well as the sangria which is their house specialty...no wonder, it was one of the best I've ever had.

I want so bad to give this place 5 stars, but the way we were spoken to by "the front desk manager" was just ridiculous and it's a shame she puts a tarnish on an otherwise spotless gem in the Poconos.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This place is legit. I'm a techie and I like my fair share of amenities, but this is the Poconos. Go outside.
As an all-inclusive place to do weddings/formal events there are many many reasons why different websites keep on giving this place awards. Staff, food, facilities were all outstanding. The fact that everything and everyone needed for an event like a wedding is already in house or on a short list makes planning very easy. If you just let these people do their job, they will let you enjoy your event and take care of every last detail for you.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for. If you pay for the pricey rooms, you will get a huge room. If you go for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We just got back from a weekend at this hotel and I decided to write about my experience...
First check in was very easy, but trying to find where to check in was difficult. There are no signs pointing you in what direction you should go for check in.
We were three families and each family had booked different rooms. We were disappointed in our room, it was very tiny. It had one queen bed, a single chair not even a sofa and a dresser. Also a stand with the TV set on it, very very average room and oh a tiny bathroom. It was scary to walk around at night because it's a wooded area and our room had no light for the porch. But the other family booked a suite which was nice, it was like an apartment.
We were told a "continental breakfast" was part of our stay which was nice. Well come to find out the next morning the "continental breakfast" was only bagels, toast, muffins, cereal, and oatmeal. Really not the breakfast I looked forward to.
Overall I would probably come back again, wouldn't be my first choice but I wouldn't mind it.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

The Stroudsmoor was a lovely venue for my son and daughter-in-law's wedding. Both the rehearsal dinner and reception were at the Country Inn. Each site was lovely and appropriate for the planned event. Our guests had a wonderful experience even with the unexpected five inches of snow that fell on the wedding day.

The exceptional staff is what made our weekend! In particular, the staff who waited on us at the meals throughout the weekend were friendly, attentive and efficient. Special thanks to Ryan and Gail. In addition the makeup artists and hairstylists were lovely young women who worked without complaint as the snow fell and they faced dangerous road conditions when they left work that day. The woman who took care of our room was helpful, upbeat and friendly. The management of the Stroudsmoor should appreciate such an excellent staff.

We found that the rooms varied widely. The Highland Cottages could use a facelift while the Ledgemoor Rooms were beautiful. I heard from friends that the main inn rooms also varied in size and comfort. I would also caution that if planning to reserve many rooms in a block the bride/groom need to have a very clear understanding of what will be available. Our group had a few glitches with this and one friend was told rudely that there was no room.

In all, our experience was very good. For our families The Stroudmoor Country Inn was the correct choice.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stroudsmoor Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stroudsmoor Country Inn

Address: RD #4 Stroudsmoor Road, P.O. Box 153, Stroudsburg, PA 18360
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Stroudsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Stroudsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stroudsmoor Country Inn, conveniently located in the Pocono Mountains. The inn features WIFI-equipped conference facilities, indoor pool, fitness center, and is among the largest Pocono Mountain hospitality properties hosting events for 30 to 350 guests. Regarded as an enchanting wedding destination, the inn features five dedicated ceremony and reception facilities. Additionally, Stroudsmoor is a perfect spa getaway, a romantic escape, a place where you can wake up your soul and put your cares to bed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stroudsmoor Country Hotel Stroudsburg
Stroudsmoor Inn
Country Inn Stroudsburg
Stroudsburg Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stroudsmoor Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.