We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We keep coming back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Stroudsburg - Poconos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Stroudsburg - Poconos to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Stroudsburg - Poconos
1863 West Main Street, Stroudsburg, PA 18360   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Stroudsburg
NY, NY
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“We keep coming back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times. Whatever issues i wrote about a few months ago have definitely been addressed. Kudos to the management team for acting on my review. This time we stayed with our kids. We love this hotel because it is very clean and it is close to what we like to do in the Poconos. Since my kids were with us, we all used the pool. They had a great time but I have to say the chlorine was very powerful. It burned your eyes and throat. Several other guests said the same thing. Other than that, is was an enjoyable stay and will continue to stay at this hotel when we are in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gale S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stroudsburg - Poconos, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel. We do read every review and strive to make everyones stay enjoyable.Thanks to guest like you we can only get better and better.. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    92
    20
    9
    14
See reviews for
113
51
5
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Langhorne, PA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Right off the bat, the hotel sits in a seedy area. If you don't like an overabundance of ill-mannered children, DO NOT STAY HERE! Kids were running all over, with no regard to the other guests. Heaven forbid any adult wanted something from the breakfast buffet. Although probably shouldn't blame the kids - it's the parents who set no boundaries. If you must stay here, I strongly recommend staying on the top floor. We had the misfortune of being on the 3rd floor and the room above us had either a lot of kids or a herd of elephants. Not sure which, but something was clomping, running, jumping and creating a contstant racket well beyond midnight. The room accomodations were fairly decent - bed, bathroom, shower, tv. The design, though, was terrible. If you are using the pull-out desk for any reason (laptop?), then there's no room to walk to get to the one and only comfortable chair - must climb over bed! Every single Holiday Inn Express we've stayed was more positive than this one.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gale S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stroudsburg - Poconos, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we do appreciate what our guest have to say so we can improve our guest satisfaction. August is a big month for family vacations here in the Poconos. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkins
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We chose this hotel for its proximity to Pocono International Raceway but will NOT stay here again. The door to our room was very difficult to open - you really had to slam it - and so was the door to bathroom. In fact, the hinges were coming loose from the frame on the bathroom door. Our first day the room was not cleaned. When we called the Front Desk, the first question was 'did you leave the sign on your door'? Poor customer service to accuse the customer of causing the problem. We had to ask for fresh towels and there was nothing more they could do at that hour. The next day when we returned to our room, the door was not completely closed - see my comment about having to slam it! We used the guest laundry in the hotel - or at least we tried. The soap dispenser was empty - although it took your money. The washer worked but with a load of wet clothes it was disappointing to find that the dryer didn't work. Everytime we went to the front desk the staff were on their phones; guest service was pretty much nil. Leaves me with a bad impression of Holiday Inn Express in general. Won't stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stroudsburg - Poconos, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Debra M,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We picked this place to stay as we are big fans of Holiday Inn Expresses and Suites as they have rooms that fit our family of 5 with no issues.

This hotel was easy to find and with it being newer it looked great.

The fitness room could use another treadmill but everything worked out.

The kids loved the pool and played in there for an hr before bed

The morning breakfast was a hit with the kids as they could get pancakes and sausages.

CONS
Our bathroom still had someone elses hair in the corners and behind the toilet. I brought this up to the front desk staff this morning and she said that this info would be passed onto the head of housekeeping.....No sorry here is a few bucks off the room

Other con was the lady at the breakfast, someone asked her how long for the scrabbled eggs and her comment was when they are done cooking nothing she can do to make them cook faster. Maybe she was having a bad day....It looked disorganized in that little kitchen with cut up boxes on the floor and people having to step over them to get to the oven...I wouldn't have seen this if the door was shut....

ALL and ALL yes we would stay here again...you have to take the good with the bad and the good far out exceeds the bad in this case

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The first night we were forced to stay at another hotel in the next town, it was god awful. We were very happy to stay here. This hotel was nicely decorated, very new and clean. We found the front desk and cleaning staff all friendly and approachable. We dropped our daughter at IGC (International Gymanstics Camp) and if she returns next year we will use this hotel exclusively!! Our only small issue was the hot tub was barely warm. Although the breakfast was busy, the kids served us breakfast in bed so we didn't mind ; )

Room Tip: 2 bed queen suite is very nice, lots of room to spread out. Good value on Sunday night, more expens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmaus, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here recently to attend a wedding. It is right off the highway and very easy to find. It must be new bc the place was very modern and up to date. We enjoyed the pool which was a bit cloudy but we were told that's because it is a Salt water pool. This is the first time I have heard of a salt water pool at a hotel. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gale S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stroudsburg - Poconos, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to give us a good review. We hope you will come back to the Poconos for a visit sometime, we are always here to welcome our guest. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I was looking for a hotel that was clean, recently built (or refurbished) and was pleased with this property. The staff was friendly , prompt, and accommodating. The room was large, tastefully furnished and supplied with amenities, like a coffee maker and refrigerator. Towels were decent quality and toiletries were available (A soap dish would have been nice). TV was large screen with a full listing of channels. The surrounding neighborhood was unappetizing but that did not have any impact .Breakfast had a large selection but eggs seemed to be powdered. I spent two nights there and felt that I had chosen well.

Room Tip: first floor seemed noisy and busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gale S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stroudsburg - Poconos, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
We strive to be a Great Hotel Guest Love and we are always happy when we succeed. We hope to see you again soon/
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Stroudsburg - Poconos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Stroudsburg - Poconos

Address: 1863 West Main Street, Stroudsburg, PA 18360
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Stroudsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Stroudsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Stroudsburg - Poconos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Stroudsburg - Poconos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.