We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice for a short stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Stroudsburg - Poconos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Stroudsburg - Poconos to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Stroudsburg - Poconos
1863 West Main Street, Stroudsburg, PA 18360   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Stroudsburg
NY, NY
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great choice for a short stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We loved this hotel! I was pleasantly surprised as we have never stayed at a Holiday Inn before. I never would have considered it in the past and going forward, each time we will go to the Poconos, we will definitely stay here. The place is brand new. The pool was sufficient and my kids enjoyed swimming in it. Not too large but good enough for them and it was clean! The room was amazing!! We had a double queen bed suite with a sleeper sofa. Very comfortable beds and very comfortable room. The bathroom was very clean and the kitchenette area served its purpose. We usually stay at another hotel in the same vicinity but like I stated earlier, we will definitely begin to stay here in the future. We got a AAA discount and it was worth it. Our only complaint was the free breakfast. That was disappointing. The bagels were previously frozen (you can tell), the mini-muffins were also frozen. My husband took one bite and had to spit it out. They took out cinnamon rolls, which looked absolutely delicious, but looks can be deceiving. They were cold and not even warm. The gentleman who took them out told people to give it time to warm up or you should bring it to your room to use the microwave. Shouldn't they already have been served warm?? But other than the breakfast, the hotel was great. I'm sure they can work on correcting the breakfast part.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly F, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stroudsburg - Poconos, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
JoJo -
Thank you for your review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay but I am very sorry you were disappointed with the breakfast. We appreciate any and all feedback so that we can create a better Guest experience for everyone who visits our hotel. I hope the next time you stay with us you will find the breakfast more satisfactory because we have certainly looked into your suggestions and comments! Hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    92
    20
    9
    14
See reviews for
114
51
5
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We (my wife and I) spent one night going snowtubing at Camelback. We stayed at this hotel for its proximity to Camelback. It is a very new and modern hotel, but looks can be deceiving. The staff was an extreme disappointment. Not professioanl at all, from not having a stocked beverage bar to flat out being lied about the pool being open an extra hour (changed into our bathing suits and were told that we couldn't go in because the pool had "acid" and the hot tub had no hot water). As a "Priority Club" member you are to be given a welcome package (cookies, chips, water), we were not high enough status we were told. I have never been told that. We had a King suite, because it was only $8 more than a regular room. The room was sufficient, however upon review, it had some glaring blemishes. The walls were PAPER THIN, I could hear conversations from next door until well after 2 AM. The walls also had odd looking streaks where paint should be. There was a hole in the wall of the bathroom from the door getting stuck there. Also, the tub was dirty, we were happy we showered before the trip. The room needed an extra curtain on the window because our room looked into a body shop. The breakfast was ample, and it was stocked well.
When we checked out, we told our concerns to the clerk/head of maintainance. They both gave us blank stares and didn't seem to care. There aren't a lot of nice quality hotels in the area, so if you can't find an alternative, settle here. Some attention to minor details would have made all the difference.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations IHGCare at Holiday Inn Express Stroudsburg - Poconos, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Dear jetset1106,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay with us. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. I look forwarding to hearing back from you.

Sincerely,
Katie J
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

I took my two kids, 4 and 6, on a short trip to PA to ski at Camelback and a trip the next day to Scoops Spa at Great Wolf Lodge. Given the cost (and inability to stay one night) at Great Wolf, I decided money would be better spent elsewhere. This hotel was just right for a quick getaway of this type. The hotel desk was very accommodating to switch my reservation type, and they were immediately forthcoming about a problem with the hot tub temperature. The pool was small, but it made no difference to the kids - mine and others, who had a blast swimming around. Although the front desk indicated an issue with the temperature, the water was warm and inviting. The hotel overall was very clean, including the common areas. I was pleasantly surprised by the spaciousness and upscale of the room itself. It boasted a small kitchen area, granite counters and a big screen tv - Wi-Fi was included. The breakfast in the morning was served from 5-9 am. Although we arrived on the late end of breakfast, it was stocked with items such as cereals, fresh pancakes, eggs, sausage and coffee. The gentlemen attending to the area was super helpful, going out of his way to check ingredient labels for me (as my daughter has a peanut allergy). Overall, it was a nice trip for me and my girls.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gale S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stroudsburg - Poconos, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
Kelly thank you for posting a great response about our hotel.We are always here to please our guest and do everything we can to accommodate them in anyway we can..Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Egypt, New Jersey
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Stayed in a king suite at the Holiday Inn Express for a quick trip to Camelback. The king suite was perfect for just the two of us, the bed was huge and the room was quite spacious and comfortable. Everything was brand new. The room had the usual amenities, good wireless connection, free HBO, etc. The one issue I had was that the jacuzzi section of the indoor pool was not operating; thus the pool was not heated. There was no explanation posted or estimated time that it would be fixed. All in all, it was a very nice hotel for the price and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Every year we book 2 hotel rooms, locally, for my daughter's birthday. She invites 3-4 friends, they get to enjoy the pool and have a sleep-over, breakfast in the morning, and the pool again if they like. In the past we always booked a Hampton Inn. They're usually nice and have a free full breakfast. This year, we decided to look at the new Holiday Inn Express in Stroudsburg. It was newly open (within the past month).
My daughter loved the lobby, and the rooms were larger than average, and being so new.. they looked fantastic. So we booked the rooms for that Friday night.
We checked in early, and because I am a priority platinum member, we were upgraded to 2 queen suites. We were also given the option for a no-charge late check out, 2:00pm, which we accepted.
The suites were the same as the rooms, but had an extra room with a sofa, coffee table, and a table with 4 chairs. And, just across from the bathroom, there was a countertop with a sink, microwave, and cabinets with basics such as plates/ cups/ untensils. So it was very large. The girls loved it, gave them plenty of room!
The beds/pillows were very comfortable. There was a flatscreen TV with hook-ups for game systems (the girls quickly hooked up their playstation), and a large desk with chair.
We were very happy with the rooms. Mom had a big suite all to herself!
The girls spent a lot of time in the pool. It was very clean, and had a hot tub too. The pool room was great. It's usually so humid in those rooms that it's hard to spend any time in them if you're not in the pool. But they kept it cool and well ventilated, so it wasn't hardly humid at all.
The lobby was really nice. They had a huge centerpiece that I guess can be described as a lcd waterfall that chanced colors. Very pretty! And, near the back, another one that was a fireplace. Lots of places to sit, sofas, tables and chairs, and bar like stools at a table where you can watch the TV. It was all immaculately clean!
The staff... they were just awesome!! Gave the girls a lot of attention. Were extremely friendly! They couldn't do enough for us. Especially Katie! Thank you Katie!
The breakfast was fresh and pretty good. They had a nice variety of pastries, muffins, cereals, yogurts. And, hot breakfast too. A pancake maker, eggs, bacon. The girls had plenty and were very happy. Good coffee too.. important to mom.
It's a great location (right off Rt 80, main st), and about 3 minutes to the mall (I took the girls to the movies earlier in the day). I highly recommend this hotel! Currently it's, by far, the nicest one in the area.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly F, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stroudsburg - Poconos, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We work hard to make our hotel the best in the area and when we hear such a positive review it really does make us feel good. I will also share this with Katie. She really is great! I'm glad your stay was so enjoyable and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Lake Heights, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We are a group who seasonal camp in the Pocono area from spring to fall. We held a winter reunion at this hotel on Jan. 28th. This hotel is awesome! The rooms were extremely clean, comfortable bed, friendly staff. We also used a meeting room during our stay, which was very spacious & perfect for our needs. The front desk staff were very helpful in accommodating our needs or requests during our stay. We would love to come back next year for our reunion.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gale S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stroudsburg - Poconos, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Marie thank you for your post, I would like to personally thank you and your group for staying with us.I did get to meet some of the group upon check in and what a fun group you have we cant wait to see you all next visi.t
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

This hotel is about 90 minutes from La Guardia Airport in NYC and about 10-15 minutes to Camelback Ski resort. It was perfect for a quick ski escape with the kids. The hotel seems very new, impeccably clean, good breakfast, and polite staff. Microwave and minifridge in room. Comfortable beds (pillow a bit too firm for my preference but my family was fine with it). Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for extra towels upon arrival. They will leave 2 or 3 bath towels even though we were 4 in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gale S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stroudsburg - Poconos, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Thank you for your post, we are glad your enjoyed our Hotel and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Stroudsburg - Poconos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Stroudsburg - Poconos

Address: 1863 West Main Street, Stroudsburg, PA 18360
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Stroudsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Stroudsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Stroudsburg - Poconos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Stroudsburg - Poconos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.