We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful, relaxing stop off the highway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sweet Creams Cafe

Sweet Creams Cafe
429 Main St, Stroudsburg, PA 18360-2462
570-421-7929
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 100 Restaurants in Stroudsburg
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A beautiful, relaxing stop off the highway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were looking for a relaxed, nice meal before summer camp drop-off and found this place through Trip Advisor. It delivered as promised: easy to find off Rte 80, delicious gourmet sandwiches including a dizzying array of non-meat choices (I'm used to just picking from the one or two options!) and decadent ice cream desserts. We had a Turtle sundae that was big enough for a family of four (we'd planned to share it, thank goodness!). The only flaws: ladies' room door doesn't lock (weird) and we saw a family come in, stand around the entrance and then leave because no one welcomed or acknowledged them. The restaurant wasn't full and the wait staff were all nice and attentive once you were seated, so that was strange.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    17
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harleysville, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Awesome gourmet sandwiches!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

They had a great selection of gourmet sandwiches. All four of us agreed it was the best sandwich we ever had. Very cozy atmosphere and fresh hand squeezed lemonade! The service was a little slow but that should not take away from the quality of the meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
2 reviews
“Modest surroundings, cozy environment, attentive staff. Don't miss it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Do not walk, do not run. DASH! to Sweet Creams Cafe in Stoudsburg. My friend and I enjoyed a wonderful lunch of chicken salad garnished with raspberry preserves and crisp tart apple sliced thin. What a treat! But the real treat is the homemade ice cream. Underscore the HOMEMADE! Smooth, rich, creamy. More than a dozen different confections from "Strawberry/Peach" to "Ginger Chocolate"; well beyond the standard chocolate and vanilla. We stopped back the next day for dessert alone. I was treated to a wonderful hand crafted ice cream sandwich on a stunning pair of 5 inch peanut butter cookies filled with Salted Caramel and Vanilla ice cream. My friend enjoyed "Mint Chip and Razzle" drizzled with hot fudge. Superb. Modest surroundings, cozy environment, attentive staff. What a value! Don't miss it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful lunch stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Sweet Creams Cafe was not only a step back in time but a wonderful treat. Everything was clean and nice. The food was tasty and very fresh. There are so many selections that it took a while to peruse the menu. Each dish is made to order. We had been driving for a few hours and had many more to go. I needed a good cup of coffee and good eats. Sweet Creams was all of that and more. The owner said he'd been in business for 25 years. It is clear this is endeavor is a labor of love. The owner knew many in the shop by name, so my guess is the locals frequent the place too--always a good sign. My only complaint is that the service was very, very slow. We weren't expecting a fast food restaurant. Luckily we had the time. BOSTONBUBBLES

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“As good they say”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

A very interesting menu made it difficult to decide. Such a problem! The Normandy & The his dee were delicious. So was their homemade Butter Pecan ice cream.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Creams Cafe also viewed

Stroudsburg, Pocono Mountains Region
Stroudsburg, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Stroudsburg, Pocono Mountains Region
Stroudsburg, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Sweet Creams Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweet Creams Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.