We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up to standard” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Stroudsburg / Poconos

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Booking.com
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Stroudsburg / Poconos
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   114 South 8th Street, Stroudsburg, PA 18360   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Stroudsburg
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Up to standard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I like Hampton Inn and this one was up to their standard. Attractive, clean, good breakfast, good coffee with 24/7 service in lobby, also cookies late in day were a nice extra. WiFi connection was fast and mostly reliable. Indoor pool available; I didn't use it. Best thing about this hotel is the location on a side street in downtown Stroudsburg. Highway a little distance away is noisy; recommend asking for room on the other side of the building.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Stroudsburg / Poconos, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
The staff and are delighted you had such a positive experience at our Hampton. We greatly appreciate your generous review, and we thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    89
    50
    21
    9
See reviews for
102
60
15
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stay at Hampton Inns quite often when we are traveling. This Hampton could certainly use an update. It appeared a bit dingy. It was clean and the staff courteous and helpful. As for breakfast, ditch the powdered eggs and overlooked sausage. Sticks to the basics.

$180 per night was very high for a hotel of this caliber.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Stroudsburg / Poconos, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about our staff. Please be advised that we are scheduled to make updates to our guestrooms over the next few months. It is our goal to make your experience with us as enjoyable and comfortable as possible. We hope you come back to visit us the next time you're in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Lobby is really nice, but for the price I would have rather stayed elsewhere. For 3x the price of an Econo Lodge Room, I expected more in my room than what I got. Outdated bedding, sheets, carpet, wallpaper and appliances. A/C Unit was damaged - looked like a rock band had its way with it. Something was up with the toilet, so I asked for a different room. Staff was great, got me a new room (that had another damaged A/C unit) and gave me a gift card. They said that they were remodeling the rooms soon, but I have read reviews from a year ago saying things were outdated. I wish I had stayed in the Econo Lodge, at least I would know what I was getting myself into.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Stroudsburg / Poconos, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Staff pleasant and courteous. Hotel very clean and quiet. Only complaint was the scrambled eggs at the complimentary breakfast, they were dry and tasted awful. I am guessing they were of the powdered variety. I would not hesitate to stay there again, and highly recommend it to anyone staying in the Stroudsburg area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Stroudsburg / Poconos, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for recommending our Hampton on TripAdvisor! The staff and I greatly appreciate your compliments. I'm sorry you did not enjoy our new scrambled eggs, but I hope you found the other items on our breakfast bar more enjoyable. We appreciate your feedback, and we look forward to serving you the next time you're in the Poconos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centereach, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This was our 3rd time visiting. Michelle, Jessica, Jasmine and the whole staff are just wonderful. They are very helpful, friendly and professional. We had a problem with outsiders in the parking lot by our car. Like a flash, Jessica and Michelle rectified the situation. I can't begin to tell you just how 'family' the whole staff is. I have looked to stay at other hotels in the area, but being that we are such a loyal family, we always come back to the Hampton Inn. And we are NEVER sorry. It is in a great location to all that we want to do on vacation. So if you are looking for a clean, friendly, efficient place to stay, don't hesitate to stay at this Hampton Inn in Stroudsburg. You will NOT regret it. Thank you Michelle, Jessica, Jasmine and all the staff. See you next year

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Stroudsburg / Poconos, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Jessica, Jasmine, the entire staff and I were over the moon when we read your generous review. The title meant so much to us as it is our goal to make our Hampton your home away from home. Thank you for posting such a wonderful review, and for totally making our day!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latrobe, PA, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Hammpton Inn's are hard to beat for quality, comfort and value. But the new dark contemporary lobby furniture is a bad down grade. Bring back the warm inviting light oak furniture and its seating arrangement !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Stroudsburg / Poconos, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our Hampton. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us, but I apologize that you didn't like our new Perfect Mix lobby. We appreciate your feedback, and we'll keep your suggestions in mind when we make improvements to our guestrooms at the end of the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Needed a place to stay for 2 nights (Friday & Saturday) that was centrally located. Visited Bushkill, the outlets at Tannersville and the casino at Mount Airy for a long weekend. The Hampton Inn in Stroudsburg was a great option. It was clean, comfortable, and a really good option for anyone visiting the area. Breakfast was decent. Not a fan of the waffle maker, especially when crowded. The bagel topper egg sandwhich was really good. Sunday morning was so crowded we decided to go out and get breakfast at a local diner, plus the prepared eggs looked a little rubbery. Putting aside food, which was not key for us, I would recommend the hotel for cleanliness and convenience. Hilton's are always a reliable choice.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Stroudsburg / Poconos, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
I cannot tell how how much reading your review made our day here at the Hampton Inn Stroudsburg/ Poconos! Thank you for appreciating and complimenting the hard work of our housekeeping staff. They take great pride in what they do, and it was very kind of you to give them the recognition they deserve. It's a wonderful way to kick off our celebration of housekeeping week on September 8th:) Please remember our hotel when you are in the Poconos again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Stroudsburg / Poconos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Stroudsburg / Poconos

Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Stroudsburg / Poconos Hotel Stroudsburg
Hampton Inn Stroudsburg / Poconos Hotel
Hampton Inn Stroudsburg
Hampton Inn Stroudsburg Poconos
Stroudsburg Hampton Inn
Address: 114 South 8th Street, Stroudsburg, PA 18360
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Stroudsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Stroudsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Stroudsburg / Poconos 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring our brand new "Perfect Mix Lobby" as of March 1st, 2013! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Stroudsburg / Poconos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Stroudsburg / Poconos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Stroudsburg / Poconos to your Saves list