We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Anniversary celebration” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Stroudsburg / Poconos

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Stroudsburg / Poconos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Stroudsburg / Poconos
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   114 South 8th Street, Stroudsburg, PA 18360   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Stroudsburg
1 review
“Wedding Anniversary celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel was in a great location where there were resturants, clubs, boutiques and a mall with a movie theater very close. Safe neighborhood to walk to Main street where the stores were located and back to hotel. People seem very friendly. Great experience/

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Stroudsburg / Poconos, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words! We are absolutely delighted you chose our Hampton for your special weekend and that you had such a good time in Stroudsburg. Congratulations on your wedding anniversary, and we wish you many, many more happy anniversaries:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    101
    51
    22
    9
See reviews for
115
69
16
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

While everyone who worked at the hotel was extremely friendly, we won't be going back or recommending this hotel to anyone.

I was prepared for there to be some issues with the construction and I was fine with seeing things a bit out of place. The main issue I had was with the cleanliness of the breakfast and lobby area as well as the bathrooms on the main floor. My toddler woke up incredibly early so he and I were the first ones at breakfast. Several of the tables were very dirty and had obviously not been cleaned. I needed a highchair for my son and everyone of them was filthy. The straps were hard to adjust because they were so sticky. I scooped a pile of dried food out of the seat before putting him in it. The bathroom had toilet paper all over the floor and the garbage can was overflowing. It was early morning and looked like it hadn't been cleaned for at least 24 hours.

The breakfast area besides being dirty was far too small. By the time my husband and daughter came down for breakfast (8:30) there weren't enough tables or seats for all the guests. The food was scarce and the line was incredibly long for a hotel breakfast.

After breakfast I got in the shower only to discover the hot water had run out. I had an extremely cold 3 minute shower.

Despite checkout being at 11:00, maid service was knocking at our door at 10:00 wanting to clean the room. Not a big deal except my toddler was napping.

The pool was nice except for a lot of wet towels left lying around.

The beds were ok, not great but not terrible.

The room was very small but clean.

The view was less than desirable. Mostly the backyards of people who live nearby.

My husband explained about the cold shower and dirty highchairs to the desk clerk at checkout but she merely wrote a note on a sticky note. No apology or reimbursement offered.

Definitely will not be going back. Save yourself some stress and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Stroudsburg / Poconos, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your detailed review of our Hampton on TripAdvsor. I am sorry that you were not pleased with the hotel, but I thank you for complimenting the staff on their friendly service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This hotel was extremely clean and well run. The staff were excellent and responded to any issues we had, and even let us check out a little late so that we could use the pool after breakfast. The pool was very well kept and very clean. There were towels laid out on each chaise lounge. The buffet breakfast offers hot food as well as cold food, so much more than the continental breakfast I expected. Coffee, tea and hot chocolate was available in the lobby 24/7. The only minus was that the rooms were only available with two double beds, not two queen beds. Two Queens were only available in a disabled room. However, the beds were very comfortable, and had lovely sheets and duvets on them.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Stroudsburg / Poconos, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
You really put a smile on my face when I read the review you wrote about your stay. It seems from reading your review we got it right in your eyes! You touched base on all areas of the hotel and what we want to accomplish everyday. Friendly staff, clean rooms and a good breakfast! Thank you so much for acknowledging our efforts. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This hotel is very clean but it can be noisy at night with the Route 80 outside your window. I would recommend staying in a room on one of the higher floors, we were on the 3rd floor so the highway noise wasn't too bad.

Very easy and convenient to Route 80 and a short drive to Camelback Mountain.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise from highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Stroudsburg / Poconos, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Our housekeeping staff had little extra bounce in their step the day I shared your review with them! It really made their day to know that our guests really do notice and appreciate their hard work.Thank you for your kind remarks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hyde Park, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

the hotel was average not up to standards grecy breakfast also old beds and the pool was under construction and it was hard to keep my kids from bouncing off the walls the hotel was in the middle of a neiborhood and next to the highway but had the smallest sighn i could barly find it

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Stroudsburg / Poconos, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Although we have made many improvements to our hotel since your last review in 2011, I am disappointed you still feel the hotel is not up to standards. We have completely renovated our lobby and fitness center and, as you commented, painted and renovated our pool area to enhance our guests' experience. Hopefully, you'll find the hotel more enjoyable the next time you visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emerson, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We liked the hotel. We had an unfortunate experience in that it was St. Patrick's Eve and a few morons decided to get drunk and disrupt all of the other guests. Unfortunately, they were two doors down from us. The night clerk, however, called the police after our complaint (and that of others) leading to their eviction, and we were comped our room for the night. Based on the other reviews, and on the quality of the other people staying at the hotel, these drunks were not the norm. My son also loved the pool.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Stroudsburg / Poconos, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for posting your review. I apologize for the behavior of the unruly guests you described, but I am glad the staff handled the situation well and that your son enjoyed the pool:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holden, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I loved the location of this hotel: it is right downtown (a block & a half from Main St.), at the end of a dead end street. We were head back north after 3+ weeks in the South and want to be able to walk to restaurants after driving all day. This place is perfect. We ate at the Willowtree Inn (terrific) but saw several restaurants & pubs within a few blocks on Main Street when we drove in. The hotel is the usual Hampton - a good, predictable thing - and we had a comfortable room and night. We were on the 1st floor but faced a back parking lot and it was quiet. As noted by others, the hotel is being renovated but there wasn't any construction noise that we heard until we left the room. Breakfast was good. It is easy to get here & back on the major highways. (Take a few minutes and cruise through town - it is very pretty.) A good place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Stroudsburg / Poconos, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us in Stroudsburg! We agree - it's a really unique little town, and we are proud to be a part of it. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Stroudsburg / Poconos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Stroudsburg / Poconos

Address: 114 South 8th Street, Stroudsburg, PA 18360
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Stroudsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Stroudsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Stroudsburg / Poconos 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring our brand new "Perfect Mix Lobby" as of March 1st, 2013! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn Stroudsburg / Poconos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Stroudsburg / Poconos Hotel Stroudsburg
Stroudsburg Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Stroudsburg / Poconos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.