We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value / Unbelievable guests!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Stroudsburg / Poconos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Stroudsburg / Poconos to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Stroudsburg / Poconos
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   114 South 8th Street, Stroudsburg, PA 18360   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Stroudsburg
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Value / Unbelievable guests!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 1 night 1/19/13, the gentlemen that checked us in was very nice. Some construction was going on near lobby but wasn't bothersome . Room was nice, clean & comfy. Price was good which included a free breakfast which offered bacon, eggs,waffles, small boxes of cereal & more...it was good. But other guests...3 different families ATE in the dining room then 2 families piled plates full of bacon, and took 5 to 7 boxes of cereal & left with it, the other family took a bunch of apples..We were shocked at this and feel that because of rude & disgusting people like this, hotels will stop offering a free breakfast . Give people an inch & they take a mile... It's stealing & people who do this should be ashamed of themselves!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Stroudsburg / Poconos, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
We greatly appreciate the many positive comments you made in your review of our Hampton. Hopefully, your candid remarks regarding some of the behavior you observed will encourage guests to be more considerate of others in the future. But no worries, we will not stop serving Hampton's awesome On the House Breakfast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    119
    61
    24
    14
See reviews for
142
81
16
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bogotá
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This hotel is beatiful and it is located near a nice place: Camelback.
The rooms are big, clean and silent, with a mini-refrigerator and microwave. The breakfast is very special and deliciosu.

I enjoyed a lot and it is good for famliy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Stroudsburg / Poconos, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
We are so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for posting such a nice review:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We rented two adjoining rooms on the fourth floor. The beds were comfortable, with a variety of pillows to choose from. The rooms were clean and roomy, with a mini-refrigerator and microwave. The room also included a desk and small closet, in addition to a spacious bathroom. As we only stayed the night, I don't have additional input on other amenities. They hotel was being remodeled during our stay, but the only impact on us was in maneuvering through the partitioned-off area of the lobby. We enjoyed our stay and got a good night's rest before continuing on our journey. The only complaint I had was that our toilet seemed to refill its tank every 30 seconds or so, and I kept wondering just how much water was being wasted...

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Stroudsburg / Poconos, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for giving us your feedback about your recent experience at our Hampton. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you had such a good night's sleep on our comfy Cloud 9 bed. Please come back to visit us and enjoy all the additional improvements that will be completed soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed here for a week this month. We have two little kids and were not informed upon checking in that the hotel would be under construction. They had the entire lobby torn up and construction equipment everywhere. This was awful for us with a walking 1 yr o,d and a curious 3 yr old. Since we were there for 7 days it made for a tough week. We stayed here because we were told they would have fresh fruit out daily and because it was recommend to us from our family. Due to the construction, there was no fruit, we had to carry the children and it made it a very unenjoyable visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Stroudsburg / Poconos, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
We apologize for the difficulties you encountered during our renovation. It is our intention to make our guests' stay as comfortable as possible, and we are making improvements to the property to accomplish that goal. Our project is almost complete, and we hope you visit us the next time you are in the area to enjoy a much more positive experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This hotel was under badly need renovation when we got there. We were not notified of this on booking. They still were charging their rather high full normal rate instead of discounting. The room smelled old and unclean. I have come to expect a room microwave at Hampton Inns. This one had none. Desk personnel accepted our immediate checkout and gave a refund, but didn't seem to understand what the problem was. The hotel was thoroughly torn apart. Front desk personnel did not display the professional appearance and demeanor that I have come to expect from Hampton Inn.

Room Tip: Stay away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Stroudsburg / Poconos, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
The staff and I were terribly disappointed by your comments, and we apologize for the issues you had upon your visit. However, I'd like to clarify that our lobby is the only area of the hotel that is in the process of renovations, and all other areas of the property are accessible, including our new "Jump Start" fitness center. Our lobby renovations are scheduled to be completed by the end of the month. We are very excited about the improvements we are making to property, but we again apologize for any inconvenience this caused you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We really enjoyed our one night stay prior to going tithe great wolf lodge. The front desk clerk, Erin was awesome, very polite. There were cookies for the boys. Our room was very clean.. The beds are small and not what one would expect at a Hampton Inn. Our room was quiet and when I asked the front desk for more pillows, she got them right away.

Our only complaint was the breakfast in the AM. I went down early, so as not to wake anyone up. No one was around, so I changed the channel to news. I sat in a chair away from the tables, so as not to take away space for someone wanting to eat. The employee sat down to eat and changed the channel to a movie. A short while later there were young kids around, and the movie was very violent. As things got busier, they started to run out of items, and the employee seemed overwhelmed. They ran out of eggs, yogurt and waffle mix. She wasn't able to keep up. Around 9am another employee started to help.

Overall, we had a very nice stay at the hotel, and would not hesitate to stay here if in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Stroudsburg / Poconos, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our Hampton. I was very pleased by your wonderful remarks about our staff! However, I do apologize for the actions of our breakfast attendent. It is our policy to show "family friendly" material in our lobby at all times, and I have discussed this and your overall comments with her. I am sorry she did not behave in a professional manner, but I can assure you this will not happen in the future. I am delighted you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us, and we look forward to serving you the next time you are in the Pocono area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Point, New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed just one night on 12/8/12, but was very happy with this Hampton. The staff was extremely friendly, check-in was VERY fast and the hotel is clean and spacious. It is your standard Hampton and the staff is great! The breakfast was pretty good; however, the "hot" food, was not very hot - they need to make sure that the food is up to temp, otherwise, the selection was good. I would recommend a stay here, no problem. The hotel itself is located right in downtown Stroudsburg so you can literally walk to the cute main street that they have. A lot of little shops up there & places to eat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Stroudsburg / Poconos, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for posting such a fantastic review of our Hampton! We greatly appreciate your recommendation, and we look to your visits in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Stroudsburg / Poconos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Stroudsburg / Poconos

Address: 114 South 8th Street, Stroudsburg, PA 18360
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Stroudsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Stroudsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Stroudsburg / Poconos 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring our brand new "Perfect Mix Lobby" as of March 1st, 2013! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Stroudsburg / Poconos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Stroudsburg / Poconos Hotel Stroudsburg
Stroudsburg Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Stroudsburg / Poconos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.