We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location,below average hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Stroudsburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn Stroudsburg to your Saves list
Quality Inn Stroudsburg
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1220 West Main Street, Stroudsburg, PA 18360 (Formerly Pocono Plaza Inn )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Stroudsburg
baltimore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great location,below average hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2007

My wife and I, from Pikesville, Md, stayed here exactly 4 years ago and found the overall appearance and front desk customer service a lot better in 2002, than 12/29-thru 1/1/07 this time. The best part of the stay was the great location. Not much good after that for 3 nites total of $ 341.25. We had just finished driving from Baltimore and were told about 20 minutes before check-in that the rooms were not ready along with many others siting around and waiting in line. The comments by one lady at the front desk were very unsettling and unfriendly at the time of the first check-in try.

There was construction going on in the lounge to get it ready for New Years and with a dumpster outside and building material trash all around the dumpster, we had to see it every time driving to our room, looked very trashy outside.

Breakfast was served luke-warm to cold by the one server in the entire breakfast room. Thank goodness. there was a Perkins across the street serving at this point seemed like excellent hot food compared to the Quality (Ha,Ha) Inn. I was even told by the manager that the food at the Quality was not as good as it was and had heard these complaints before.

As for the room, it smelled moldy and one could see at the ceiling near the window a large mold stain and cracks. The cable TV was replaced with satalite tv and there was constant interuption of TV service which the front desk knew about but seemed unable to properly fix in the past.

Let me explain New Years 12/31. We had to call the front desk to complain about kids running in the room directly above us which sounded like a bowling alley over our heads. There was loud noise comming from a room a few doors down the hall and unknown to us, one of our neigbors called to complain about a couple arguing for 2 hours next to the caller's room and our room.
Quite an experience indeed.

I do want to thank one of the housekeepers that was extra nice to my wife and I and was tipped accordingly.

It just wasn't a few things, that made our stay bad, we are very flexible and understanding people who travel a lot, but there were just so many problems this time that cause me to write this review. The next time up here, I will try to look into another hotel

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — room,front desk
  • Tips/Secrets — Read trip advisor for other hotels, I was recommended the Hampton Inn
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    32
    32
    50
    106
See reviews for
82
46
17
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
282 helpful votes 282 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2006

We stayed for one night - Thursday, December 28th. Room 215.

THE GOOD:

Great indoor pool for kids. Ours had a ball for 4 hours straight. Clean and very, very kid-friendly.

Clean room and bathroom.

Lobby area tastefully decorated for the holidays with a large stone fireplace and a fire roaring - very nice.

Convenient location for the Poconos - although as a FYI, it is right off 80 and not in the center of Stroudsburg - maybe a mile away.

THE BAD:

When we pulled up to the hotel, the first thing we saw was a trash can overflowing with trash - it was spilling out everywhere - bad first impresssion.

While waiting in line to check-in (at 2:50 pm) - check in time was "officially" at 3 pm - the clerk yelled out to the line of people waiting, "Um, youse guys can all go somewhere else for now, check-in is NOT until 3 pm and your rooms aren't ready." I'd love to know which hospitality school she attended. We went into town and came back at 5 and checked in w/o issue, FYI.

The complimentary continental breakfast is a joke and a mess. Maybe run in for a cup of coffee if you so need the caffeine that you can't wait, but it looked like bears had torn the place apart when we got there. Go to Perkins across the street - 1000 times better and worth the extra $$$.

There was NO place in the hotel to purchase an adult beverage of any form. They are apparently working on a bar/nightclub, but it wasn't up and running for us. It would have been nice to have a beer or a glass of wine and relax - I guess we were expecting to do that, because it was listed as an amentity on their hotel website.

The rooms, while clean, are completely outdated with a mid-80's decor (think chintz floral bedspreads and wallpaper border.) Also the sheets, again, while clean, are scratchy and cheap-feeling.

THE BOTTOM LINE:

Would I stay there again? Quite possibly...but only because the Poconos area in general is lacking in quality hotels. The kids loved the indoor tropical pool and it was clean. And, for $70/night, I wasn't expecting the Ritz Carlton. But the front desk clerk needed some serious training, which is definitely something they need to work on for future visits. And, apparently, there will be a bar/club in the very near future, which will be a nice feature for the hotel.

  • Liked — Great indoor pool for kids
  • Disliked — Rude front desk clerk and trash at the front door
  • Tips/Secrets — Do not get a room by the pool - very noisy
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2006

This is an older place that could have had a better design. The interior rooms surround a domed atrium area with a large swimming pool. All of the humidity, heat and noise from the pool is trapped by the dome and these conditions affect the surrounding rooms. None of the interior or exterior rooms had windows to let in any fresh air. It was like being in a sauna with100 screaming kids. When the pool closed down at 10:00 pm the kids took to the hallways.

The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The fan on the a/c did not work very well, but again the this is an older place.

The staff at the front desk were okay, but not really warm and fuzzy. I would probably look for another place if I were to be in Stroudsburg again.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virgina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2006

This hotel was awful. I travel a lot and this is one of the worst hotels I've ever been in. It's listed as a 3 star hotel, but it should be a 1 star at most. The lobby was filled with smoke and had several drunk kids stumbling around (apparently this is the place to party in Stroudsburg). The desk staff was helpful enough though. We were tired and never tried to switch rooms, but I doubt it would have helped at all. The room smelled terrible, the a/c in the next room made a clunking noise, looked like it was last redone in the 80's, and worst of all you could feel the springs through the mattress. Honestly I've been in a couple of Motel 6 places that were nicer then this place and for $97 for the night I'd rather have slept in the car.....

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The smell and the concrete bed (w/springs!)
  • Tips/Secrets — Sleep in a tent it would be more comfortable.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, IL
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2006

This hotel was conveniently located off of the interstate. The common grounds of the hotel were nice, but the room we stayed in needed to be updated. The indoor pool is in the center of the hotel with interior rooms surrounding it. Nice feature if you have kids and want to be able to open your hotel door to the pool area. Exterior rooms had a door in your room that lead to the parking lot. Nice feature when unpacking the car.

This was our first trip to the Poconos area and we just needed a room for one night. This hotel was acceptable for an evening, but we would have been disappointed if we had to stay longer.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henryville, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2006

This was our first time staying at this hotel and it ws not up to normal choice hotel standards. This poor old hotel must have been grand at one time, but now is in need of significant renovation - not just new paint and wall paper. The way the chair molding ripples in and out down the halls is at first fastinatingly novel and then sobbering as you realize that it simply reflects how much the very walls are warping from the origional shape.

Room was OK but dark and dated. Beds very firm. pool chilly. Hotel staff effiencently unfriendly.

Beware. Rooms near the lobby are bombarded by live band noise on the weekends.

I can't recomend the place as it currently sits. Just up the road in bartonsville is a very nice Comfort Inn from the same chain

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordentown, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2005

Stayed here for 2 nights when we attended a wedding nearby. The room smelled musty. There was mold on the ceilings in the bathroom and in the bedroom. The grout in the bathroom had mold and was broken and chipping away from the tile. When the room was made up the beds were straightened out but the sheets were still untucked and the mattress was still as we left it (lop-sided and off the box-spring by about 3 inches). Not only were the toiletries not replenished but we didn't even get another bar of soap, which we needed.


Although there were working smoke detectors there were a number of obvious safety and fire violations we observed.

Most of us attending the wedding had booked our rooms in August. We had at least two parites in the group who requested 1st floor rooms as thery have disabilities and this motel has no elevator. Both were placed on the 2nd floor while many 1st floor rooms remained vacant during our stay. Our room was on the first floor right next to the highway and exit ramp. The loud rumbling of trucks made it difficult to sleep through the night.

The restaurant is closed execpt for private parties and the food served at a private breakfast we attended there was fair at best. The closest restaurant is the pancake house next to the motel. It's awful!! When you're not familiar with the surrounding area, it's difficult to find a decent place to eat.

There was little input from motel staff. While staff was not rude, they fell just short of that and were not helpful at all.


We paid a little over $80.00 a night and this motel is a $35.00 a night place. I would rather sleep in my car rather than go back to this motel again!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn Stroudsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Stroudsburg

Address: 1220 West Main Street, Stroudsburg, PA 18360 (Formerly Pocono Plaza Inn )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Stroudsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Stroudsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Stroudsburg 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full Service Hotel along route 80 and close to shopping and restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Quality Inn Stroudsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Stroudsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Stroudsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.