We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Amenities and good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Stroudsburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn Stroudsburg to your Saves list
Quality Inn Stroudsburg
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1220 West Main Street, Stroudsburg, PA 18360 (Formerly Pocono Plaza Inn )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Stroudsburg
1 review
“Good Amenities and good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

I stayed one night with my 5 yeard old kids.
First floor rooms have 2 doors one opens to corridor and other one to pool area.
It has perfect pool and restaurant area.
Room was clean and comfortable.it had microwave and fridge.
Bathroom was clean and had air dryer.
Breakfast at restaurant was very nice.
It is under new management and it needs some TLC such as carpets, A/C heating system, etc. but overall we like the hotel and will come back again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne T, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn Stroudsburg, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

It is nice to see that our guests enjoyed themselves while they stayed with us are want to share that with other possible guests. We strive to ensure that all of our guests have an enjoyable stay with us.

As you stated in your review there are areas of the hotel that need a little TLC and we are working on that. As a matter of fact, we are in the process of getting new carpeting for all of the rooms and common areas of the hotel and hoped to have them installed within the next few weeks. We are under new ownership and all of the renovations are taking time to complete.
We hope that you will come back and see us again in a few months when all of our renovations are complete.

Again thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    25
    30
    50
    105
See reviews for
76
46
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We spent one night at this hotel because we arrived too late to find a proper campsite. We did have one of those coupons so our stay was not that expensive. While we were not expecting a 5-star hotel, we still expected a minimum in terms of cleanliness. When we walked in there was an odd smell, like the old carpeting had absorbed years worth of odours. The room was just as bad. The bathroom had been cleaned, well... sort of, in a hurry and we could see lots of dirt. I personally thought it smelled of something like cat litter. Eek! The place was really run down and the staff was not particularly friendly or helpful. Breakfast was not included, which is not a proble, but it was equally as bad. Avoid at all costs. I am certain there are better options.

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs. Very dirty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne T, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn Stroudsburg, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay with us. I have addressed your issues with the owner and the appropriate department managers so that we can handle the problems and deal with them in a timely fashion for other guests.

We are in the process of during numerous renovations throughout our hotel and replacing the carpet is high on our list. Unfortunately, as much as we wish they didn't, things take time to change. Carpeting is on the list of major renovations that need to be done.

As your stay was not the norm for us, we would ask that you give us another chance in the future to show you a more enjoyable stay. Please come back when we have finished with all of our renovations. We look forward to it!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had a whole tank of gas siphoned out of our car during the night. When we approached the 2 women at the front desk,they told us "We have lights around the building and security" however the lights above the back entrace were broken out and no lights were next to the entry for approx. 20 feet. They told us to contact the Police, but since the bldg. is on private property, law enforcement is not going to do ANYTHING. No offer to comp any $ or % on our room. We were not asked if we wanted a room by the pool, which they also did not supervise/close at 10p as posted and there were people still swimming/noisy at 11:15p. A fight in the next room also awoke us a 1:45a and they did nothing about that either We also had no one seat us in the breakfast area, they didn't clean any of the 15+ tables the entire 45 min. it took us to get an egg sandwich and some very minimal breakfast. They were clearly waiting for all the guests to leave the breakfast area so a bridal party could set up for a lunch or dinner making us very uncomfortable. It was a total nightmare F- and we usually LOVE the Choice hotels chain

Room Tip: Make sure you ask if it's near the pool, handicap accessible and what exactly does "complim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne T, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn Stroudsburg, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
I am sorry you were not happy with your stay here at our hotel. I have shared your comments with our Owner and Department Managers to address the issues you mentioned. What happened during your stay is not the norm for our hotel and we will definitely take steps to ensure that it does not happen again.

I have also talked to the owners of the restaurant and have expressed your concerns with them. It is not the norm to have a guest wait for the amount of time that you did for their food. He has assured me that he will look into this.

Again I am sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay and hope that you might consider giving us another chance to show you a more enjoyable stay if you are in this area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

First a quick note in response to other reviews:
This hotel isn't a Four Seasons hotel, but for some reason people here are complaining for things that they should have known when they checked in. Things such as no breakfast or the price. This place is competitive for the area, most other hotels are much more. And how can you complain about no free breakfast if you knew that when you booked? It's strange to complain about something that wasn't included in the price.

My review:
For the price (compared to other hotels around the area at this time of the season), this hotel was good enough for a place to stay. The pool was clean, some water around the deck, but I don't see how that is avoidable. The rooms were a little dark, but clean and comfortable. After talking to the staff, the hotel is under going renovations, and thanks to a Management change, apparently is in much better hands.

We got in late, and didn't eat at the restaurant, so can't make a comment there, but there was a few people eating what smelt like good food. The pub had some sort of dj and the crowd was an interesting bunch to watch, it was a good time. Drink prices were reasonable as well.

Overall thoughts:
As I stated, it is an older hotel, but I have stayed in hotels that give you the creeps sleeping there, this one didn't. Sure, it has some older looking rooms, but they seem to be working hard at getting it updated. At least it is a solid place to spend the night. The area is expensive, so this is as good of a deal as any that you will get. I wouldn't have any problems booking here again.

Room Tip: A room with pool access was nice to have. Easy walk out deck to the pool. Only downside is you got...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne T, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn Stroudsburg, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
I would like to take the time to thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. I have shared this with our owner and our department managers. It is nice to be able to also share a nice review with all of our employees too, it lets us and them know that all of our hard work does pay off.

We are doing numerous renovations in all areas of the hotel and hope that you will come back again when we are finished to see the finished product!

We look forward to seeing you again and thanks once more for your lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We were not expecting a five star hotel, just someplace to spend the night while picking up the girls at camp. We were not expecting a smoky room with a dented door. The front desk offered us a can of spray to combat the smell. Really? After dinner, I went into the bathroom, pulled back the shower curtain and found a PAIR OF MEN'S BOXER BRIEFS HANGING FROM THE SHOWER ROD! This time the unapologetic front desk gave us a slightly cleaner room with an intact door and no underwear anywhere in sight. Awful!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne T, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn Stroudsburg, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
I am sorry you had some concerns during your stay with us. I will be speaking with our Owner and Department Managers regarding the issues you had. This is not the norm for our hotel and I will definitely address your concerns.

I apologize for the smoky smell but unfortunately even though we are a nonsmoking facility people do smoke in the rooms. This is not an excuse for your problem but we do strive to make sure that guest do not have these problems.

Again we are sorry and hope that you may give us another chance to show you a more enjoyable stay in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Upon check in we were treated by two friendly women that made it very easy to check in and we had a couple of laughs as well. Our room was very clean, it may have needed some minor renovations but it looks like the hotel is in the process of doing this. So no complaints there. We got in kind of late 7ish and went to the bar. This is when the problem started. The bartender was bad at best. I tried 4 different drinks before I decided to play it safe and go with a beer. He had no idea how to mix drinks, I thought maybe it was just me but there were others coming to the bar and complaining as well. This place is a gold mine. It has ans amazing pool, a restaurant and a bar where they have live music. Once there renovations are complete this will be the place to stay. They do however need a knowledgable bartender and a better stocked bar. Just my opinion but several guests had to order other drinks because they didn't have what they wanted. I am. Sure this will be part of the renovation. I heard it was under new management and I'm sure they are feeling things out to make it a great expirience for their guests. It is a great property. I think to pass it up would be a huge mistake as I think it will be getting better and better.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne T, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn Stroudsburg, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a wonderful review. We are glad that you had a great time and I will certainly let the owner and our department managers know.

As you stated, we are under new management in our bar and restaurant and I will certainly pass along your comments to them. We are trying to get a feel for what guests want and need in all areas of the hotel and by your feedback it gives us something more to work on to improve.

Again I am glad you had an enjoyable stay with us and look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Appeared not enough employees to handle issues. Pool not monitored, opened past time that should be closed. No phones working in rooms . Advised storm took out phones, yet phone worked at front desk. Am went to have breakfast no one came into restaurant to seat us or anything.we waited five mins and went to front desk and no one there, waited again five mins. Finally Joanne came out to desk but did not know why no one in restaurant . We had to go to Perkins across street. We were also told free breakfast when we made reservations. No air conditioning. We came to rest and enjoy vacation but music played loudly in pool area made it hard to do that. No stopper in tub so could not take bath. Toilet fixing was old and broke had to wait for maintenance. Really someone should check into the renovation . Our room looked like the worked on it and quit. Sparkle all over carpet. Room service never came to change bed. We left at 8am and returned at 5:20 pm and was told they were still cleaning. No one ever came. On the outside looked nice inside really dumpy. The exit doors do not shut so anyone could walk in.

Room Tip: Close until you have it completely done and enough employees
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne T, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn Stroudsburg, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
I am sorry you were not happy with your stay with us. We are under renovations in all areas of the hotel and are working hard to get them done. As with everything it will take some time.

I have conveyed your concerns to the appropriate department managers as we strive to make sure that all of our guests have an enjoyable stay.

We hope to have all renovations done within a few months and hope that you will come back and let us show you a more enjoyable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn Stroudsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Stroudsburg

Address: 1220 West Main Street, Stroudsburg, PA 18360 (Formerly Pocono Plaza Inn )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Stroudsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Stroudsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Stroudsburg 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full Service Hotel along route 80 and close to shopping and restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn Stroudsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Stroudsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Stroudsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.