We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for Overnight Field Trips for Elementary Children” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Verdant View Farm Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Strasburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Verdant View Farm Bed and Breakfast
429 Strasburg Road, Paradise, Strasburg, PA 17562   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Strasburg B&B and Inns
Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not for Overnight Field Trips for Elementary Children”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Verdant View Farm Bed and Breakfast has its charm. However, there were significant drawbacks in my experience there as a chaperone for an overnight field trip with children. My group and I stayed at the Little White House. During our visit, we learned that the house's basement quarters is rented by a male farmhand. This worker has direct access to the house, for the locks on adjoining doors (which lead to the house's kitchen and are nearest to the children's bedrooms) are on the basement apartment's side!

My group and I were made aware of the situation when we were told by one of the workers that we are required to keep the basement's private entrance door unlocked for the farmhand to gain access to the house. We expressed our concerns that this was a security issue, but we were told by Ginny herself that it is unnecessary to lock the basement's private entry because there really is no need. As guests, we were assured by a worker that the farmhand was indeed a "nice guy" and that we should have no worries about security within our group of mothers and young girls.

Needless to say, it was not a restful night at the Little White House!
If security is a MUST for you, keep looking elsewhere.

Room Tip: Bunk beds room has a private entrance that leads to the street! Not kid-friendly! 2nd floor rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    45
    8
    11
    2
See reviews for
146
18
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
philly, PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We are a family of four with 2 young children and stayed here last year. The other reviews are a little misleading in my opinion. We loved Lancaster and loved having the farm experience but the house and rooms that you are staying in are in pretty bad shape. The carpets are terribly stained and the walls are paper thin. The locks on the doors are flimsy. The house is very creaky and the ceiling fan squeaks. You also have to share a bathroom if you end up in the wrong room. So no sleep for me. My husband and kids sleep through anything so they were okay. The breakfast was great but I cant agree that the hosts make you feel like family. We didnt get that. Although they were nice enough. I would recommend not staying here if you are a light sleeper. If you do, have little expectations because it is an old farmhouse.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratham, New Hampshire, United States
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

On our first trip to the Amish country, we decided to stay at the Verdant View Farm, and it was an amazing experience. Don and Ginny are wonderful hosts, who definitely make you feel like part of their family. We stayed at the main house, and had a great country-style bedroom, which was much better than a "dull" hotel room. Breakfast is served each morning family style in the main house dining room, and you have the opportunity to meet with travelers from all over the world. The kids were outside all day, in the barn milking cows, playing with the barn cats, and wandering the property. The farm is close to all the Amish attractions, so they are easy drives. It's a unique experience to wake up in the morning to the sound of horse-drawn carriages out your window! We had such a great time at the farm, we went back 4 months later for a longer stay. If you are looking for a great place to stay, with the feeling of home, this is the place to stay when you are in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Ever since the first time I brought my then 2nd grader (who will be entering the 8th grade next fall) to stay with Ginny, Don and their family, we have enjoyed visiting every summer. We enjoy the comraderie of the family, the staff and the guests all sitting around the same breakfast table, sharing their life and travel stories and tips, singing the "Johnny Appleseed Song", as well as the scrumptious, fresh, family style breakfasts made with locally procured ingredients. Even when we stayed there without my husband,we felt comfortable and safe in the clean, economical, comfortable, and well appointed rooms. It is wonderful to feel comfortable enough to allow our son to roam the property on his own. We always enjoy the farm tour, the breakfast wagon, feeding the goats, the donkey, the chickens, the bunnies and especially the calves. The hearts of the children are always won over by the kittens. It is a wonderful learning experience for young children to see where milk comes from, first hand, and to milk the cows and feed the calves alongside their parents.We highly recommend the Verdant View for families of with young children, visiting the beautiful country side of the Penn Dutch, especially those who appreciate Thomas the Tank Engine, since the train can be seen from the property. It is convenient to Hershey Park as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We loved staying here, where we connected with something often missing from today's life. Simple, decent, safe, interesting, with one of the best breakfasts we have ever had. Ginny and Don made us feel like family members. The farm, milking a cow, and walking around were exactly what we were looking for...we will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape may, nj
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We did not stay at the bed and breakfast but we did do a farm tour.. We found out on a Saturday that what I booked online for Sunday morning was not going to happen because they do not do tours on Sunday mornings. So the woman I spoke to asked if we wanted to come that afternoon and we said yes. The young women that gave us the tour was fantastic. She knew the farm well. She answered all of our questions. Our teenage girls throughly enjoyed themselves. We met and feed a calf. Held bunnies and kittens. Met goats, chickens the dog, Scoobie. Then we saw the cows, learned how they were milked and we got to milk a cow. Crazy I know but it was on my daughter and my bucket list. It was the best part of our trip to Lancaster!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sykesville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

my family stayed here oct 19-21. we stayed at the small house in 2 rooms on main floor. it was me and my husband and our 3 kids. the house was great. full size kitchen fully stocked with whats needed and good size living room. our bedrooms share a bathroom. the rooms were good size. our kids had a blast. the owners was very friendly. the kids took a wagon ride, played with the dog scoobie and the kittens every day, they got to collet eggs, feed and milk the cows. on saturday we had a complete homemade bkft with everything from their farm. bkft included applesauce, eggs, beef sausage, homemade butter, pumpkin pie, bread, milk and hot peppermint tea that also came from the garden. the complete staff was extremly friendly and helpful. the kids begged us to come back here again year after year. thank you for the great stay. the updikes

Room Tip: if you dont like steps or want privacy from your kids then the room on main floor is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Verdant View Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verdant View Farm Bed and Breakfast

Address: 429 Strasburg Road, Paradise, Strasburg, PA 17562
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Strasburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Strasburg
Also Known As:
Verdant View Farm b&b
Verdant View Farm Hotel Strasburg
Verdant View Farm Bed And Breakfast Strasburg, PA - Lancaster County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Verdant View Farm Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Verdant View Farm Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list