We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Verdant View Farm Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Strasburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Verdant View Farm Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Verdant View Farm Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
429 Strasburg Road, Paradise, Strasburg, PA 17562   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Strasburg B&B and Inns
cape may, nj
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Really enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We did not stay at the bed and breakfast but we did do a farm tour.. We found out on a Saturday that what I booked online for Sunday morning was not going to happen because they do not do tours on Sunday mornings. So the woman I spoke to asked if we wanted to come that afternoon and we said yes. The young women that gave us the tour was fantastic. She knew the farm well. She answered all of our questions. Our teenage girls throughly enjoyed themselves. We met and feed a calf. Held bunnies and kittens. Met goats, chickens the dog, Scoobie. Then we saw the cows, learned how they were milked and we got to milk a cow. Crazy I know but it was on my daughter and my bucket list. It was the best part of our trip to Lancaster!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    46
    8
    11
    2
See reviews for
167
20
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sykesville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

my family stayed here oct 19-21. we stayed at the small house in 2 rooms on main floor. it was me and my husband and our 3 kids. the house was great. full size kitchen fully stocked with whats needed and good size living room. our bedrooms share a bathroom. the rooms were good size. our kids had a blast. the owners was very friendly. the kids took a wagon ride, played with the dog scoobie and the kittens every day, they got to collet eggs, feed and milk the cows. on saturday we had a complete homemade bkft with everything from their farm. bkft included applesauce, eggs, beef sausage, homemade butter, pumpkin pie, bread, milk and hot peppermint tea that also came from the garden. the complete staff was extremly friendly and helpful. the kids begged us to come back here again year after year. thank you for the great stay. the updikes

Room Tip: if you dont like steps or want privacy from your kids then the room on main floor is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cherry hill
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My wife and I had planned a weekend in Lancaster County. I saw Verdant farm on-line and my wife Irene being an animal lover, I thought she would enjoy staying there. I was right we both had a very enjoyable time. Don & Ginny were very friendly and showed us what it was like to run a Dairy Farm. We had a great time. We met a lot of very nice people and learned a lot of new things. The room was clean and comfortable. We plan to go back again in the near future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The best Bed and Breakfast! We stayed in the small house and rented out two rooms but basically we had the whole house to ourselves in the heart of the Pennsylvania Dutch country (all Amish neighbors). The place was decorated in a contemporary country fashion and it looked like an interior designer had made the plans. The big screen TV was great for the grandparents to relax at while the kids enjoyed the farm. The farm was all that I had expected. We got a hay ride, tractor ride, history lesson on cows/tobacco, and a delicious, homemade (farm fresh) breakfast daily. The kids especially enjoyed chasing/petting Scooby, the cats, the cows, the calf, the goats, the hens, the sheep, and the rabbits. We also milked a cow, fed some calves, and helped the owners pick some black walnuts. Besides all of the amenities the place has to offer the neighboring community is a real "hot spot". Cherry Crest Farm had bounce houses, a maze, farm games, and everything that you can imagine to entertain kids. The Amish viewing was incredible and we even spoke with several of them as they passed by the house. The steam engine train ride really fascinated the kids and it ran right through the farm. Ginny, the owner, recommended an Amish dinner at a local house and it was superb. We will definitely be back.

Thanks for a lovey trip!!!

Cynthia Januszka

Room Tip: The little white house is the way to go. It's beautiful, clean, spacious and contains a full ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, NY
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed the Farm and Barn Tour last week. Our tour guide was very sweet and informative. We milked a cow, caught a chicken, petted a sheep and 2 goats and held a week old kitten. It was cool to see cows in various ages / various sizes. It was also interesting to see the construction of the barn (no nails were used) and the crop of tobacco leaves drying. We used our GPS to find the farm, and it took us to a different address. Seems to be a common problem - look for the farm sign during the last mile or 2. The owner, Ginny and our guide ( I'm sorry, her name escapes me) were both very nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Although we didn't stay at this property, we did take their farm tour, which was a lot of fun. Not only were we introduced by our guide Matt (who was very good, by the way) to all of the animals on the farm, we were also given a lot of historical information on the region,the Mennonites and Amish and crops grown in the area. Accompanying Matt was Scooby, who has to be the friendliest dog in America, and a family of kittens. We especially enjoyed bottle-feeding the baby calves and watching the cows being milked. We would definitely go back again for this, and anyone with children would find it very enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We can't express enough how much we enjoyed staying at the Verdant View Farm. The kids had a wonderful time and so did the adults! We stayed in the little white house -- rented the whole thing, and it was soooo comfortable and neat as a pin. I wish we could stay there forever! Gorgeous kitchen with little twinkling Christmas lights strung by the ceiling -- indicative of the care they take to make it a special experience. 1 room on the bottom floor with bunks which kids would love; 1 large beautiful bedroom downstairs with own bedroom; 1 lovely living room with big screen TV and lots of games and books around. The living room and the upstairs bedrooms have the cutest heaters which look like little fireplaces and warm the rooms up fast! And don't go on and off noisily all night -- very quiet. There are 2 large upstairs bedrooms, beautifully decorated, each with its own private bathroom. The one with 2 beds was perfect for our boys, and we slept in the king size bedroom with our daughter in the pullout sofa. There are lots of blankets and quilts available and the beds are sooooo comfy. The views over the pond and farmland were gorgeous. I found myself fervently wishing we rented the place for a week. We did an "apprenticeship" at the farm where the kids made pumpkin ice cream -- yum! Lillian, the Mennonite woman who ran the apprenticeship was in her traditional clothes and was very nice. We also had a tractor tour of the farm by Matthew, a Mennonite farmhand who answered lots of questions we had about the Amish and the Mennonites -- very easy to talk to about that and farm life in general. The farm itself is large and neat as a pin. Later, we got a tour of the barns, fed the goats, milked the cows, fed the calves with big bottles, and generally had a wonderful time. There are many Amish people that come by on the scooters or wagons who live in the neighborhood. Ginny is the one of the owners, and she and her husband join guests for breakfast -- and such an amazing breakfast!! Milk from the cows that morning, fresh yogurt to eat with fresh fruit, the best omelet I ever had, fresh muffins, and blackberry pie for dessert! So yummy!!! The owners are very interesting and friendly people and make you feel right at home. I wouldn't stay anywhere else if I wanted to visit Amish country -- just perfect!

Room Tip: Stay in the little white house, and rent the whole thing out with family and friends if you can! A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Verdant View Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verdant View Farm Bed and Breakfast

Address: 429 Strasburg Road, Paradise, Strasburg, PA 17562
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Strasburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Strasburg
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Verdant View Farm Hotel Strasburg
Verdant View Farm b&b
Verdant View Farm Bed And Breakfast Strasburg, PA - Lancaster County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Verdant View Farm Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.