We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a fun time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Strasburg Rail Road

Strasburg Rail Road
301 Gap Road, P. O. Box 96, Strasburg, PA 17572
717-687-7522
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 16 things to do in Strasburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Dining, Group tours/train
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Travel through Pennsylvania Dutch Country as an authentic steam locomotive pulls you past working farms, our Amish neighbors and beauty as far as the eye can see. Join us for lunch or dinner aboard our Dining Car, ride our miniature steam train and visit our shops. Visit our website for packages and special events.
Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Always a fun time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

You can do the basic train ride tour of Amish country or look on their website for one of their events. Strasburg Rail Road has anything from Steampunk to WWII to Thomas the Tank Engine days.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    497
    263
    77
    17
    15
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“One of the ABSOLUTE MUST DO'S in Pa.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We were treated to a Lounge Car- ordered a Cheese and Fruit Platter and a beverage, sat in beautiful and comfortable chairs and just enjoyed the countryside. When we were there the Snow was deep and there were Photographers Everywhere trying to capture the winter beauty. We will go back again- they have a stopping point where you can get off and have a picnic and they will pick you up on a later run. Just plain WOW.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect for Train Loving Kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

There are trains to watch go by all day, the lounge car I purchased tickets for ahead of time was SO pretty and comfortable, with big swiveling armchairs. The kids "fun stuff" wasn't open, it was such a windy day and sort of cold. But we ate at the Trackside Cafe, which is kind of like a Bill Gray's, so everything was right on sight so we could spend the day there. There are a few gift shops, all with cute things to purchase at reasonable prices, and we were able to walk back and forth across the street to the Railroad Museum, so it really worked out perfectly.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fun, Fun, Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

My son is not a great fan of Thomas, but he absolutely loved this experience. Day out with thomas is here every June, September and November. Don't go in November unless you have a high tolerance for cold. We froze while we waited. When we arrived, people were already forming lines for our train which was 30 mins away, so we joined them and waited. It was in vain. Everyone rushed once the train arrived, there were no lines or organization of any sort. But everyone got great seats and had enough place for everyone. We bought tickets in advance and picked it up there. But, there were enough tickets to buy even there. There is a ride every 30 mins.
We also had to park far away and get shuttled in. There is food to buy right there and lots of place kids can make you spend money. The best of all is that they have an exclusive Thomas train store. You can buy limited items, discontinued items etc. This place is not for boys only. I saw lots of girls there who were equally excited about all the experience. There were a few bored teens. We will definitely do it again. You can also take pic with Thomas.
There are other activities for the kids too. They can meet Sir Topham Hatt. We missed this as we went for one of the last train rides. "A ticket for Day Out With Thomas includes the train ride with Thomas the Tank Engine, as well as a variety of Thomas & Friends themed entertainment, including Storytelling and Video Viewing" is what they say on the website.
Do not take stroller, unless you have a very small kid. There is not much walking. You will just have to leave your stroller parked everywhere.
Their website is very informative. You should read up before you go.
Other than Thomas Train ride, you can also ride in the Strasburg train (a 45 min ride). I heard they have open cars in summer. You can grab a hobo lunch (they call it that) and go for a ride. It really is fun activity to do with kids.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia, pa
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“"Bonnie and Clyde" Themed Ride”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

This would have been a great, fun ride with kids. For adults, it's nothing special. The train and station area is nice. They give a little history about the train and Strasburg area. Nice views. That's about it.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Strasburg Rail Road also viewed

Strasburg, Lancaster County
Columbia, Lancaster County
 
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 

Been to Strasburg Rail Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strasburg Rail Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.