We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family of 10--from 8 yrs to 70” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Choo Choo Barn

Choo Choo Barn
226 Gap Rd, Route 741 East, Strasburg, PA 17579
717-687-7911
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Shopping in Strasburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Shopping, City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Train - themed shops.
Massachusetts, USA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Family of 10--from 8 yrs to 70”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We all enjoyed it. Creators have a great love of model train-ing and a good sense of humor. So much to take in and look at!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    52
    22
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta PA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic model trail layout”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Took my Grandson to see the model trains and he loved it. Now he loves choo choos. Many scenes of Lancaster County are depicted

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Your preschooler will love it, if he loves train models”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Good time for preschoolers, and younger actually may like the store. Models work as website describes, though younger than 3 year old may find it boring. Parking is free.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful display, lots of fun for all ages!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This was the first time coming to this attraction, saw a lot of good reviews, so I figured my nephew (he is 2.5) and I would go up to visit since he is crazy over trains. When we got there we were greeted warmly and the lady explained all the info about the place. My nephew was in awe, he absolutely loved it! It was a beautiful display, so many things on it. Free admission for him and $7 for me. We can stay as long as we liked, were there about an hour and if we kept our receipt we could come back again. They even had a miniature Dutch Wonderland structure in the display, a pretend fire in a home and the fire fighter figurines put it out with real water! It took us about an hour to get there, I wish it were closer! We would go back again :-)

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very fun for kids and adults!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

We went to the Choo Choo Barn for the third time and we just love it. Every time we go we see something new. The first time we ever went it was for our son who was two and a half at the time who loves trains so much, but we ended up enjoying it so much too. We usually go around the display 3 or 4 times before going up to Thomas trackside store upstairs. Where you can usually find Thomas the train stuff that you can't find in the regular stores. We always enjoy our trips here. It's worth the 3 hour trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Choo Choo Barn also viewed

Strasburg, Lancaster County
 
Strasburg, Lancaster County
Strasburg, Lancaster County
 

Been to Choo Choo Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Choo Choo Barn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.