We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hershey Farm Restaurant & Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hershey Farm Restaurant & Inn to your Saves list
Hershey Farm Restaurant & Inn
240 Hartman Bridge Road, Strasburg, PA 17572   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Strasburg
Emmaus
1 review
“Very very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hershey Farm again this past July for the second time. Our room in the Carriage House was clean and comfortable. The breakfast smorgasbord meal was delicious. We spent some time on the grounds using the walking trail. The staff was helpful and courteous. We would enthusiastically recommend Hershey Farm.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    143
    56
    41
    39
See reviews for
251
246
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, VIrginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed on the first floor of the Carriage House in June, 2013. It is advertised as a remodeled hotel, however it felt more like an dirty room covered up by a nice TV and a nice décor. The AC/Fan did not seem to function properly in the room. It was so humid in the room! The bed, comforter and pillows all felt like a wet sponge. Very unpleasant feeling when you are expecting some good night rest. We did not want to go to the hotel our second night. The bathroom was very beat up/stained and the ceiling tiles had stains on them. The first night we had to call the maintenance because the toilet would not drain. The ad also promises great views, but the large screen door and the window are so dirty. We wanted to air out the room, but there is no screen and the were a lot of bugs outside (thee were always a LOT of flies at the back entrance by the playground). We got the have the view of the pool house and a hot tub.
The first night we arrived we ordered their fried chicken to be delivered to the room. They explained that it will be 20 minutes. An hour later I had to call and they were not sure what happened to our order. The waitress came in with our food 1.5h after we placed an order saying that they just finished the order, but the food was barely warm. They did compensate for the dinner, but not something we wanted to deal with on vacation and we were running late for the Sight and Sound Show.
In this economy felt sad that we saved money for this trip and could not even have a pleasant hotel experience, especially when paying $150 for a room.

Yes, the staff is very pleasant and the grounds were pretty!

We will not be retuning there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridley Park, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Our 2nd trip to Hershey Farm Inn & Restaurant this year was wonderful. Grace at the front desk greeted us with a smile and that smile was on her face our entire stay. She was very helpful, and even took our picture in front of the fireplace. Our room was just as expected, very relaxing, with our great view of the pool and pond. We had a late check in due to a party (6pm), so we weren't able to enjoy dinner at the restaurant, but were able to enjoy breakfast at the restaurant, which is always delicious. We bought our traditional hanging baskets because of the great deal, and even bought some jewelry and whoopee pies! Another great stay, and we're talking about coming back in a couple months for another little getaway......

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The Hershey Farm & Inn needs to do some upgrades to the Inn. The doors are old and scratched, the bathrooms in the rooms are VERY tiny (if you are over 240 pounds, I doubt you can fit on the toilets). The staff is very friendly and helpful, but the place just needs an upgrade. The rooms have some mildew, and the pine scented cleaning spray smells a little strange.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hersheyfarmer, Manager at Hershey Farm Restaurant & Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
I appreciate the guest taking the time to share about their stay. We take guests comments seriously and use it as a tool for improvement and growth. We were able to take care of the door scratches and the mildew spot in the corner of the bathtub. I'm glad the guest could experience the great customer service our staff provides. We will continue to work on improving our property, with the desire to give guests a positive experience at Hershey Farm Inn.

Sincerely,

Inn Manager—Brett Eby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We have stayed here several times when we go to this area to see the Sight and Sound shows. It is at the bottom of a lovely trail that is an easy walk to the theater itself. Our family had three rooms in a corner of one of the floors, which was great - easy to go back and forth. There was no elevator, but it wasn't too bad a climb. The desk staff was super friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean, and the beds were very comfortable. Our bathroom was small, but everything worked fine. A very nice breakfast buffet is offered with the room and that is great - a huge selection of hot and cold foods, pastries, made-to-order omelets, something to please everyone. There are other things right on the grounds to do while there - a nice gift shop, a bakery, outdoor pool, animals to feed, and close to many other area attractions. You won't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Michaels, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Thank you for accomodating my wife and I for another fantastic stay at Hershey Farm Inn.
This is our second visit and the manager Miss Grace was a wonderful hostess. She is personable and very helpful.

Saturday July 6th, 2013 I wanted to surprise my wife with an unplanned trip to PA. It was our anniversary and I called the last minute on 4th of July weekend.
Bret was kind enough to not only get us a room but in the farmhouse, what a great surprise.
Everything was very modern but yet still with the country setting.

The meals at the Hershey Farm Restaurant are second to none. We can't wait for our next trip.

Thank You The Harrison's, Danny and Laresa from St. Michaels, Maryland

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Husband and I spent the night here as a short get away from daily life. Was clean and very conviently located to many things. Food at the resturaunt was very good. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hershey Farm Restaurant & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hershey Farm Restaurant & Inn

Address: 240 Hartman Bridge Road, Strasburg, PA 17572
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Strasburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Strasburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the Heart of Amish Country, you'll find all your lodging needs at Hershey Farm Inn. Full service restaurant, gift shop, bakery and outdoor market on-site. Complimentary breakfast daily. Discount theatre packages. Amusement park discounts. Two pools. Business center. Free WIFI. Banquet rooms available. Petting zoo. Playgrounds for children. Fishing pond. Two-room suites. Walking trails and gardens. Adjacent to Sight & Sound Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hershey Farm Restaurant & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hershey Farm Restaurant And Motor Inn
Hershey Farm Restaurant & Motor Hotel Strasburg
Hershey Farm Hotel
Hershey Farm Motel
Hershey Farm Restaurant & Inn Strasburg, PA - Lancaster County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hershey Farm Restaurant & Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.