We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a relaxing stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hershey Farm Restaurant & Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hershey Farm Restaurant & Inn to your Saves list
Hershey Farm Restaurant & Inn
240 Hartman Bridge Road, Strasburg, PA 17572   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Strasburg
Huntingdon, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Such a relaxing stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We were on a short get away before my son went back to school. We planned to go to Sight and Sound Theatre near Lancaster, PA and wanted to stay somewhere close to the theatre and to other things to do in the area. We made last minute reservations at Hershey Farm Inn. We were delighted at how close it is located to Sight and Sound, oulet shopping and other local venues. The front desk associates were very pleasant and helpful, particularly the evening shift. Our room was very clean though somewhat dated. Our access to the pool was easy and my son enjoyed his late evening swim. The complimentary breakfast the next morning was delicious. We definitely will go back to the Hershey Farm Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    145
    56
    41
    39
See reviews for
252
246
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is the first time we stayed at Hershey Farm Motor Inn. We were very happy with our stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We needed a cot in our room and it was delivered promptly. We shopped at the outlets and the location is ideal for this. We also saw a show at Sight and Sound and we walked to and from the show because the location was so convenient. The grounds are nice around this motel, so whether sitting on the deck outside our room or walking around the pond it was very relaxing. We also got to watch a hot air balloon land not far from us. The breakfast was also outstanding at the restaurant. We do want to come back and stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We recently went to the Sight & Sound Theatre and thought this would be a convenient place to stay. While the front of the hotel and lobby area are nice.....walking into the room is totally different! The carpet was soiled and dirty and there were cob webs at the ceiling! While one wall looked recently painted, the other walls were dirty! The hall way was dark and the back entrance was dark and dirty! It is in need of updates badly!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hersheyfarmer, Manager at Hershey Farm Restaurant & Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
I want to thank the guest for taking the time to share about their stay with us at Hershey Farm Inn. I'm sorry it was not a fully positive experience. We were able to take care of the marks on the carpet upon your checkout. We appreciate you letting us know at the front desk. The housekeeping staff was also alerted to the utmost importance of checking all ceiling corners of the rooms for any cobwebs. We do have an offsetting paint design with one wall having a maroon glossy paint while the other three walls are a flat golden tint. This is what the guest was referring to regarding the varying paint tones in the room. Again, I thank the guest for sharing their comments so that we can continue to improve and update areas of the hotel that may need attention. We look forward to continuing to serve our guests with a clean and comfortable room in a beautiful setting here at Hershey Farm Inn.

Sincerely,
Inn Manager--Brett Eby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Palestine, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

My husband and I took a very well needed vacation. We wanted time to relax and to enjoy the Amish Country and other sites. Staying here at Hershey Farm added greatly to our relaxed and fun vacation. Everyone was very nice and helpful. Our room was clean and quiet. We enjoyed swimming in the pool and eating at the restaurant. The food was great. Everything you could want and all you could eat. An breakfast is included with your stay. Can't wait to come back!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

haven't been there yet this year but will be going for Labor Day weekend with my family. my daughter was 5 years old the first time we went she's now 32 I've been there several times over the years sometimes 2 or 3 times a year. Usually stayed at the building up by the pool but did stay at the carriage house several years ago with a group of 10 with no complaints the grounds are beautiful the service is excellent and can't wait to eat in the restaurant again. The food is excellent and plenty of it. We can't wait to get there to receive the same great time were used to

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Recently my wife and I took a weekend trip to Lancaster and stayed at the Hershey Farm. We stayed in the carriage house building. these hotel grounds are really nice, there is LOTS of open space that you can explore, a pond, playground for kids plus much more. The staff was very friendly, the room as well as the grounds very clean.

Although the was just the two of us the hotel really is a good deal for couples, seniors, people with kids, all will be happy. Included in my rate was free breakfast, this was a full scale breakfast with anything you can think off, you will not go away feeling like you got ripped off.

the hotel is a few minutes for Dutch wonderland, and many of the other local Amish attractions. Also across the street is a Amish buggy ride business that brings you into a real Amish farm.

I've been to Lancaster many times during my life, this motel is one that I would comeback to again.

Room Tip: I only stayed at the carriage house building is very nice and private, the hotel also does have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I booked this online based on pictures and previous reviews of the hotel. Without a doubt, the grounds at this hotel are beautiful, but there didn't seem to be too many benches to sit on just to relax and take in the peacefulness of it all. The buffet breakfast was great if you are a big breakfast eater (we are not). The selection of food, healthy and not, was very good. I gave it two stars because of the breakfast otherwise it was a one. The service was good and the staff very friendly. We arrived here on the second night of our week long trip and I had booked two nights online with the intention of possibly staying three. When we got into the room the first thing I noticed was how dark it was (we were in room 580 in the 'Farm House') and the stains on the carpet. On further inspection, there was a used towel on the back of the door of the bathroom and a piece of garbage on the floor - no big deal, but I paid $260. for the two nights and you kind of hope for a nice clean room at that price. We ended up only staying the two nights because the room just had a 'dirty' feeling to it. The carpet was absolutely disgusting, the air conditioner was very old (I kept the windows open during the day while we were away) and the bathroom was so small it was hard to turn around in it (I'm 5'3" and weigh 110) so if you are a bigger person, you do not want to stay in this room!. The tap on the bathtub would leak out water every once in a while, just enough to wake me up throughout the night. This, without a doubt, was the worst hotel room I have ever stayed in, I was so disappointed. I had booked another hotel for the last two nights of our stay and I went there early to find out if they had another night available - they did and we went there (Cherry Lane) and the room was 3 times bigger, brighter and cleaner. I could not get out of that room fast enough! Based on this experience, in this room, I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Perhaps the rooms in the main part of this hotel are better, but do not stay in the 'Farm House...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hersheyfarmer, Manager at Hershey Farm Restaurant & Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
I want to thank the guest for sharing about their stay. We appreciate all reviews posted, as it gives us the opportunity to improve on areas that need improvement. As I've already corresponded with this guest, we have taken care of the issues mentioned by the guest and resolved the problems that incurred during their stay. The carpet has been addressed and the shortcomings of the housekeeping staff regarding a left behind towel and tissue on the bathroom floor have been dealt with. The size of the bathroom is an ongoing challenge, however we are anticipating the room renovations and bathroom expansions that are being planned for this winter. This will do wonders to our rooms in the Carriage House & Farmhouse. We are eager to move forward with updating our rooms and having a distinctive selection of accommodations that will match the beauty of our property and exceptional service that is provided at Hershey Farm Restaurant & Inn.

Sincerely,
Inn Manager--Brett Eby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hershey Farm Restaurant & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hershey Farm Restaurant & Inn

Address: 240 Hartman Bridge Road, Strasburg, PA 17572
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Strasburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Strasburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the Heart of Amish Country, you'll find all your lodging needs at Hershey Farm Inn. Full service restaurant, gift shop, bakery and outdoor market on-site. Complimentary breakfast daily. Discount theatre packages. Amusement park discounts. Two pools. Business center. Free WIFI. Banquet rooms available. Petting zoo. Playgrounds for children. Fishing pond. Two-room suites. Walking trails and gardens. Adjacent to Sight & Sound Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hershey Farm Restaurant & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hershey Farm Restaurant And Motor Inn
Hershey Farm Restaurant & Motor Hotel Strasburg
Hershey Farm Hotel
Hershey Farm Motel
Hershey Farm Restaurant & Inn Strasburg, PA - Lancaster County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hershey Farm Restaurant & Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.