We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Change” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Strasburg Village Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Strasburg Village Inn to your Saves list
Strasburg Village Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   1 W. Main St., Strasburg, PA 17579   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Strasburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good Change”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

If your tired of those chain motels, and want a nice change where you can sit back and relax, then Strasburg Village Inn is for you. Old Victorian building well maintained and clean, with a very nice manager. Wine Store, bakery and creamery all within 20 yards of the building. I will definitely be back here in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody O, Manager at Strasburg Village Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your recent experience here at our Inn. We're always pleased to learn what our guests like - and dislike about their stays with us so that we can keep doing what we're doing well and focusing on any areas that need attention.

I'm glad you appreciated the uniqueness of our property and how nice it is to find a property that doesn't feel like just another hotel room in just another hotel. And our surrounding shoppes can take care of most of your getaway needs without having to drive off the property.

We're glad to know you'll plan to visit us again when you're travels bring you back to the area! Thanks again for your time in sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    19
    3
    5
    8
See reviews for
18
68
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palmyra
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We were welcomed the moment we walked in the door. Our room was spacious, well appointed and very clean. The inn has a wonderful yesteryear feel and yet modern conveniences such as flat panel TV and Wi-Fi. Breakfast was in the adjoining country store and included fresh fruit, eggs, pancakes, bacon, toast and more. The staff again welcomed us very graciously. We normally stay in "franchise" locations but SVI has changed that when we return to Lancaster area. We hope you will not miss this special treasure for your stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody-17579, Manager at Strasburg Village Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your recent experience here at our Inn, and thank you as well for letting us know that it was a positive one.

Your review made me smile, because I've been guilty of "franchise shopping/booking" for my own travels, largely because I know what I should be able to expect from any brand within a known franchise. The truth is, any lodging property still in business today is most likely offering you a clean, comfortable room at a rate guests are willing to pay. We believe it is the uniqueness of our property and individual guest rooms, as well as the extra time and attention we try to give our guests, that makes a guest's stay a memorable experience beyond just another "cookie-cutter" type hotel property.

We're glad you stepped out of your comfort zone and found us, and we'll look forward to your return the next time you travel to the area! (Plus, it could be fun to see if you can run into someone else here that you know from home!)

Thank you again for your kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This was our first stay at a B&B and we we're so glad our first experience was here. The room was clean and very comfortable, and the staff extremely accommodating. The Inn is close to some really great restaurants and all of the local attractions. All-in-all a delightful experience. We'll be back.

Room Tip: You want Room #2 - the one with the porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody-17579, Manager at Strasburg Village Inn, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your recent experience here at our Inn. Since this was your first B&B experience, we're happy to know that it was a positive one and that you might consider visiting B&B properties in other areas where you travel.

We're also delighted to know that you've discovered that it is possible to travel just a few miles off a major thoroughfare, without giving up easy access to area attractions, and find unique choices other than the "cookie-cutter" brand hotels.

Room #2 is definitely wonderful, with its private porch, when weather permits you to take advantage of it. It also happens to be a great room from which to watch snow falling, though most folks don't go out to the porch then! :-)

We are honored that you plan to return to visit us when you return to the area, and we encourage you to choose a different room next time so that you have an all-new experience!

Thank you again for the kind words of your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Went online Friday June 21 spur of the minute for something to do since the weather was going to be so nice. Saw SVI had a room available...website said to call to confirm room. Line was busy and I sent an e-mail. Jody wrote right back to say all's good, come on out. She offered early check-in without me having to ask. Arrived to a very warm greeting from Jody around 1:30 with the room ready. She explained all the things we needed to know like access to the inn after hours and breakfast procedure for the morning.
The entire inn is tastefully appointed, clean and very welcoming. The room was a bit on the small side but very nice.
There is a large sitting room on the second floor steps from our room with complimentary snacks and juice.
The inn is quiet and there is no outside noise to contend with and the air conditioner worked well and quietly.
The next morning we went next door to the ice cream shop for breakfast. The service was prompt and courteous and tasty.
We will certainly be back again. A great experience all around. Thank you Jody.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody O, General Manager at Strasburg Village Inn, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience here at the Strasburg Village Inn.

We know that travelers can find a lot of properties that offer clean, comfortable rooms, and it's our goal to add to that by providing great customer service and a memorable experience. Thank you for noticing the little extras we try to provide to our guests to help them remember us.

I'm so glad we were able to fill your last-minute decision to travel, despite the special event that was occurring in the area, and hope that we'll be just as fortunate when you decide to visit the area again. It would be our humble privilege to have you choose us again for your overnight accommodations.

Thank you again for your kind remarks, and please come back and visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have stayed at a dozen or more B&B's over the years and consider the Strasburg Village Inn to be the cream of the crop. They do a wonderful job of striking a balance between being warm and welcoming while letting guests have their own personal privacy. The facility has been refurbished and maintained beautifully; Jody is without doubt the most welcoming and helpful innkeeper we have encountered; And the breakfasts are especially pleasant because of Ally's beautiful smile and personality. Add to that the world class peanut brittle next door at the creamery and the nearby PRR Museum plus all the interesting Amish country stuff in the area and the SVI is probably as good as a B&B gets.

Room Tip: If you want a swimming pool and fitness center, stay at a Hampton Inn. If you want a warm, quiet, q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody O, General Manager at Strasburg Village Inn, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
We greatly appreciate the time you spent writing a review about your recent visit with us here at the Strasburg Village Inn. We strive to make each of our guests' stays with us the exact thing they were hoping for when booking with us.... for some, we're just a landing spot after a day full of activities in the area, for some, it's a chance to escape to a quiet sanctuary and recharge.... the reasons everyone travels is as different as the people are. I'm glad we were able to provide you with the exact balance of sharing your company as well as giving you your own space.

I'm excited to pass along your comments about your breakfast experience next door, as well as your fondness for the amazing peanut brittle made in our Candy Kitchen. And remember, when you're asked what you want for your birthday, Christmas, Father's Day, etc., our peanut brittle can be shipped!

I hope you had a safe and enjoyable trip home, and I also hope that you would honor us with the privilege of enjoying your company again when the Railroad Museum is a repeat visit!

Thank you again for your glowing review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gambrills, Maryland, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We arrived for check-in at 4:50 p.m. on Thursday, April 30, 2013. Instead of being warmly welcomed by an innkeeper, we were greeted by a note on the front door and a letter in the mailbox with keys. We were advised in the letter that we had arrived after check-in hours. The B&B website clearly states that check-in is from 2:00 p.m. until 5:00 p.m. Sunday through Thursday. It was Thursday and it was 4:50 p.m. A bit perplexed, we let ourselves into the lobby area. The first thing we noticed was an obviously used drinking glass half-filled with liquid, setting on top of the inn-keeper’s stand; a small detail, perhaps, but a telling one.

We found our way to our room, #3, and our first impression was positive. The room appeared clean, the color scheme was pleasant, and the furnishings and window treatments were appealing. The air conditioning was in good working order and we could adjust the temperature to suit ourselves. As we were tired and a bit grubby after spending a day outside in 90 degree weather, we were looking forward to using the jet-massage tub, for which we’d paid extra, prior to going out for dinner. Upon viewing the tub, we decided to most definitely pass on that idea. The tub was disgusting! All of the water jets and the recirculating intake screen were covered in brown scum and/or mold. The thought of immersing our bodies into water that came in contact with that was not something we wanted to contemplate. We have a jet-massage tub at home, so we’re well aware of the regular maintenance they require. A simple job if done regularly and correctly. If the inn can’t keep the water jets clean and sanitized, then that room should not be rented until the jets are either sparkling clean and white again, or the fancy tub has been replaced with a hygienic plain one. We felt like gagging each time we entered the bathroom and viewed this gross sight. We would have called the innkeeper, complained, and requested another room, but there was no innkeeper on site (already having left for the evening…see above), and a laminated information sheet in the room only provided 911 for medical emergencies and the inn’s address.

Hoping for the best, we opted for showers. The shower head was obviously the most utilitarian variety, with poor water flow and no option to change the flow pattern or flow volume. Rinsing of shampoo from hair took seemingly forever. The exhaust fan intermittently sounded like a thrashing machine. And while we’re in the bathroom, let’s talk toilet paper. It’s not the first thing that comes to mind, but it’s important. Provided in our bathroom was toilet paper such as one would expect to encounter at an interstate highway rest stop facility, i.e., tissue-paper thin, layers separating from each other as it unrolled, and one had to roll-off a yard of it to do the job. We’re talking basics here, a clean bathtub and decent quality toilet paper. That’s not too much to ask for $176 per night. The sink was lovely, but there was absolutely no surface around the sink on which one could set a toiletry bag, make-up, or toothpaste. We had to use the top of the mini-refrigerator (no… not even water inside) around the corner as a shelf for our toiletries.

So off we went to dinner and when we came back we were looking forward to a nice cushy bed with silky sheets. Wrong again. The bed was big and that’s the only positive thing we can say for it. The mattress was not comfortable and the bedding….oh my goodness, the bedding. We’ve stayed in B&B’s where the sheets were so soft, silky, and generous, and the pillows were so plump that we almost felt we were falling into a cloud. The sheets on this bed were mismatched, thin, high in polyester content and scratchy, and very skimpy. Since it was a warm night we folded the bedspread and duvet (a naked duvet, without even a cover) to the bottom of the bed. When lying down, the top sheet barely even covered our shoulders, it was so short. The king-size pillows either never had enough filling to begin with, or the filling had compressed so that they were totally limp and unsupportive. We also noticed that there was not even a fitted sheet or cover over the box-spring, just the naked box-spring under the mattress collecting dust.

Arising after a restless night, we hoped for a lovely breakfast with cheerful and welcoming service. Wrong again. We walked through a connecting doorway and through a darkened room that had great potential as a breakfast room for the inn, but sadly, goes unused for that purpose. The ice cream and candy shop next door serves as the breakfast area. As an ice cream shop, it’s fine, but in a role as a breakfast room for inn guests, it’s quite lacking. Memories of other lovely B&B breakfasts came to mind but hope for a similar experience in this one faded fast. Other guests were seated in booths eating, but there was no one visible to attend to us. Finally we went to the ice cream counter and called for help. An obviously displeased woman came from a back area and we advised her that we were inn guests and were there for our breakfast. “I’ve already served it,” she said. Perplexed again, we told her that we understood that breakfast service was from 8:00 a.m. to 9:00 a.m. and it was then 8:30 a.m. “Oh,” she said, “Well, I’ve already served six and I was told I’d only have four. They told me there would be four.” Insisting that we were, in fact, inn guests, she finally agreed to show us to a booth and set places for us. Cheery tablecloth or placements? Pretty glasses soon to be filled with juice and water? Fresh fruit? Butter? Dream on. Our surly server plopped down paper placemats with advertisements for local businesses printed all over them, sloppily provided us with eating utensils, and told us we could get our own coffee from an area behind us. Napkins were not provided. We asked for napkins and told her that we preferred tea, one regular and one decaffeinated. She repeated the tea request back to us and went off to get it. Teapot, teacups, sugar, cream pitcher? Are you kidding??? She came back with tea bags, neither of which were decaffeinated, in coffee mugs filled with lukewarm water and still, no napkins. She advised that she was serving “bird’s nests”. When our plates eventually were delivered to our booth, we got one slice of greasy white bread with an egg fried in the middle of it, one patty of even greasier sausage, and half a plate of sliced and fried potatoes. “Surly Server” put the plates down and left as we called after her, still hoping for napkins, and now also some salt, pepper, and catsup to season the mess on our plates. Finally, another server, who was at least cordial, came to our table, and when we requested napkins, she pulled paper-towels from a dispenser on the wall. “Cordial Server” did offer to get more tea for us and asked if we’d like more cream. “Surly Server” never graced our table again for the rest of the horrible meal. This B&B is in the middle of one of the most beautiful and fertile farming areas of the world, with an abundance of fresh local fruits, produce, eggs, meats, and dairy products. It’s an area famous for its Pennsylvania Dutch cooking, and yet we got the above described meal served to use with rudeness in an atmosphere totally lacking in any type of grace or charm whatsoever.

As we returned to our room to get ready to check out, we met the inn manager, Jody Osborne, just as she arrived through the front door for the day. She apologized for not meeting us the previous evening, stating that she had left early to attend a medical appointment. Upon asking about our stay, we quietly advised her of our concerns and experiences. She insisted that the jet-massage tub had been cleaned personally by her and argued with us about the quality and comfort of the bedding stating, “We’ve never had anyone else complain about the sheets.” Then she added, “I don’t know if they are scratchy or not. I just fold them.” She admitted there had been previous complaints about “Surly Server” (so why is she still working there?), but routed blame for all inadequacies to the B&B owners. She gave the impression the owners set things up, she does all of the work, and they collect the money. Perhaps that’s true, as the owners certainly weren’t in evidence. Ms. Osborne advised that because we had booked our stay through a third-party website, she could not provide a refund of any portion of the room cost to us. (I guess the inn doesn’t have a checking account.) She offered to provide us with a $50 gift certificate for a future stay at Strasburg Village Inn, adding, “We’d like the opportunity to provide a better experience for you next time.” It should be noted that as we checked out, Ms. Osborne was speaking with another person. Not wanting to embarrass her, we held back, waiting for her to acknowledge us and provide the promised gift certificate. She never did. Knowing that we’d NEVER stay here again anyway, we just left. Our best advice is to avoid this place like the plague. There are other B&B’s in the area and a rather nice looking Clarion Inn just down the road. Their restaurant had a wonderful Thursday prime rib special. That was the best part of this entire experience.

Room Tip: Don't choose any room here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody-17579, General Manager at Strasburg Village Inn, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest:

Because other guests were in conversation with me when you were ready to leave and you did not wait, and because you made your reservation through a third party that did not solicit an address or telephone number from you, we have had no way of contacting you proactively so that we could have attempted to satisfy your complaints lodged directly at the Inn and now through this review site. I have spoken with the owner of the property and while we feel that some of your complaints about the physical plant may be a bit exaggerated, the situation that occurred at breakfast and the attitude and service you received merit our attention and we want to compensate you for some portion of your stay. Recognizing that this particular Inn is not going to be going through the changes you would find necessary in order to be of the caliber you expect, we can offer you a reasonable credit to your credit card; you will need to provide the account information since, again, the reservation was made through a third party and you paid them directly, we do not have that information.

We hope that you are the kind of reviewer who looks for responses to your reviews so that you will read this and be able to contact us directly.

And for future travelers to the area, please know that a reusable drinking glass with lid and straw is almost always on the front desk. The cup is used for ice water throughout the day, so that is all you will find in it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Location was great - right on Main St. The rooms were spotless. Wonderful additional room to relax. Concerns: We were not expected at breakfast and the breakfast itself was poor. We had pancakes that were gummy, 3 slices of bacon, and yogurt with strawberries in sugar. We are used to great breakfast fare at a B&B. The pancakes tasted as if they came out of a plastic bin - just add water and cook! Very disappointed. We were not asked if we wanted more (not that we would, but usually at B&B's the service and offering are beyond our expectations). The owner did not make herself available. My wife left the inn not even knowing who the proprietor was.....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody-17579, General Manager at Strasburg Village Inn, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our Inn. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed the overnight accommodations.

We're also very sorry that you had such a negative reaction to our morning breakfast. As I recall, you had specifically requested not to have eggs for breakfast on the morning after your overnight stay, and we changed our menu around to accommodate that, even though you weren't the only guests staying with us. I know there was a discussion about whether the aversion to eggs might also include French toast, so we made a decision to offer pancakes and bacon that morning just to be on the safe side. We apologize that the pancakes were not to your liking. We also apologize that you weren't offered additional servings of our breakfast fare.

As Inn manager, I am on property and available to our guests by 9 AM. I'm not sure how I missed the opportunity to interact with you or your wife on the morning that you departed, unless you departed before I was available. I certainly would have wanted to know first-hand of your experience at breakfast to see what opportunities I might have had to make it a more positive experience for you.

We're sorry that our breakfast was not a good experience for you. We receive many compliments from our guests about our breakfasts being tasty and filling and, especially, cooked when they arrive for breakfast and not pre-cooked. We're sorry that wasn't what you found during your stay.

We have forwarded your comments about breakfast on to the manager of the Creamery so that issues such as service may be addressed with the staff there. We appreciate hearing these comments because they allow us to be proactive in making sure other guests don't have the same kind of experience. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Strasburg Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strasburg Village Inn

Address: 1 W. Main St., Strasburg, PA 17579
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Strasburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Strasburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Strasburg Village Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strasburg Village Inn has been serving folks traveling through Strasburg since before the turn of the 20th century. These days the Inn boasts 10 classically appointed guest rooms, all complete with amenities to suit the 21st century traveler, as well as a one-bedroom vacation home rental. Here, you are within walkable dining and shopping, plus attractions like the Strasburg Railroad and Sight & Sound are all just a five-minute drive away. Book a room today and explore all that Strasburg has to offer. The Village Inn is just one part of The Strasburg Shoppes at Center Square, located in the heart of downtown Strasburg, PA. Visiting us is like taking a walk back in time. We serve homemade ice cream and freshly made waffle cones at our Creamery, plus a host of other old fashioned Pennsylvania Dutch delicacies at our Candy Kitchen and Deli. Our Winery serves award-winning Pennsylvania wines while the Bakery specializes in Amish treats like whoopie pies and freshly baked cookies. Eat, shop and stay at this "town within a town." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Strasburg Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strasburg Village Inn PA - Lancaster County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strasburg Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.