We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Be Beat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn to your Saves list
Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 Historic Drive, Strasburg, PA 17579 (Formerly Netherlands Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Strasburg
Monticello, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Can't Be Beat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My wife and I along with our pet spent a wonderful weekend here. Located in the heart ok the Amish Country, every attraction, eatery, shopping malls and roadway is less than a 15-minute ride away. Staff is exceptional. Rooms are clean, modern and most of all quiet. I will always make this my choice when in Penna Dutch Country.

Room Tip: Bottom floors are easily accessible and near your car for easy loading and unloading.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for sharing your visit to our Hotel. We are proud of our location in the amish countryside away from the hustle of everyday life. Our Hotel is charming and welcoming to all our guests. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    115
    58
    38
    30
See reviews for
142
112
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

If you are looking to stay in Amish farmland area also during the hush of the winter off-season, we highly recommend the quiet, peaceful Historic Clarion Inn in Strasburg PA. The amazing views are just as beautiful in the winter.
The ability to park near the exterior-door old-fashioned room buildings and unload gear from a long trip is helpful as some buildings have room doors opening to the outside...others have small hallways or are upstairs. So ask for a main floor building with door opening to outside if you have children or pets (YES, they are both very welcome here and pet fee is reasonable) who need to get outdoors in all sorts of weather. These ground-level rooms are also good for the elderly (there are ramps/railings at some walkways to outside buildings).
We stay here frequently and really appreciate getting the same two rooms every time, and the peaceful sleep. The only sound you hear is the old train whistle in the distance and Amish buggies going past. The staff is always helpful and friendly.. There is coffee always in the quaint lobby of the old historic main building. The free hot breakfast is good as well as yogurt and fruit or cereal (room can be crowed in summer).
The large tv and Clarion Inn wifi internet work very well. We always bring a portable dvd player and outside toys for the large grounds. There is room to ride bicycles here.
If you do not want to eat only at the very nice attached Fireside upscale restaurant: The Pizza/Italian restaurant in the next-door small complex is outstanding. Great to take food back to room to warm in microwave; their various pastas w/ meat sauce/salad are excellent. On the bucolic grounds of the hotel, there are picnic tables and gazebos to eat in outdoors as well.
We also appreciate using the 24 hr. Strasburg laundromat at the corner and the pharmacy next-door. This is just off the lovely historic village of Strasburg, but right near these attractions: the wonderful train ride and museums, the SIght and Sound Theatre, Amish Village and antique and craft shops...The hotel complex location is off-the-beaten-path, yet a very short ride to the busy Rt. 30 Lancaster stores and commercial area if needed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your visit to our Hotel. We are proud of our charming hotel and grounds. We appreciate your business and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Very warm welcome ar check in. Tyler was especially helpful and friendly. He gave recommendations for close by dining as the restaurant was closed. GM Sherman was terrific. He gave me a breif history of the Inn and some places to check out while staying. The room was spacious and comfortable. I did not stay for breakfast, just a quick coffee, but the breakfast area appeared to have everything you would need to start your day. I would definately stay again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your visit to our Hotel. Great customer service is our goal and we appreciate your feedback. Thank you for visiting our Hotel and we look forward to your return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed for a wedding weekend at the Inn. It was convenient to walk from the site of the wedding to our hotel room. The rate was pretty cheap for the area too. The bed was comfortable. The room was clean. There was a desk, flat screen TV, 2 beds, a sink outside the bathroom, which was nice, as well as one in the bathroom. The breakfast was not fancy, but it was FREE. The staff was very nice. I would improve the curtains, they did not properly block out light or offer much privacy from people walking by, which made me feel uncomfortable. Other than that, I would recommend the inn.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at our Hotel. We look forward to showing off our unique Hotel amid the Amish countryside. We look forward to your return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Orange, New Jersey
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My daughter and I spend the week of Dec 23 thru Dec 28, 2012. Something different. What attracted me to this hotel were the low daily rates as well as tickets to Sight and Sound Theater. When we arrived the hotel sat upon a beautiful hill. The view from on top of that hill was breathtaking. I spend each night just standing in the parking lot looking out into the beautiful star lighted sky.The room was nice and neat and the handicapped bathroom nice and spacious. Breakfast every morning for free and it was good. The staff was so helpful, directed us to the mall, the light show and Target. The manager Mr. Sherman Hall and the whole staff was a pleasure to be with and welcomed us back anytime. I told him I will be back with my Mom and daughter again this year to see Noah Ark at Sight and Sound.I cant find a bad thing to say. I will be back again this year. Close to all attractions.

Room Tip: We stayed in room that was handicapped accesible and non-smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at our Hotel. We take pride in our Hotel and it's location in Historic Strasburg,PA. We are surrounded by Amish farmland and away from the lights and traffic.
Our rooms are clean comfortable and a great value. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This is a fantastic location if you're in the area. The rooms were so pretty and the pool was nice, and the breakfast was the best. The staff is nice and attentive. My favorite part was food that they had. The price was not too bad considering we went in high season. Go with just the family, we went with a group of friends of the family and it wasn't that great.

Room Tip: top floor t o get a scenic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at our Hotel. We are situated in the amish countryside away from the busy lights and traffic. We are a Historic Hotel with large rooms and charm. Our breakfast features include waffles,omelettes , friuts and yogurts. Wenlook forward to your return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Take a look at your room before paying, our room was about the size of a walk in closet. The so called curtain on our window was useless, you could see right through it. I guess it wouldn't matter if it was the second floor, but our room was on the first floor and one of the first rooms that you walk past. Not worth the money

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at our Hotel. We strive for 100% Guest Satisfaction with all our guests. We would have appreciated you notifying our Front Desk Staff to address and resolve your concerns. We welcome you back to visit our Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn

Address: 1400 Historic Drive, Strasburg, PA 17579 (Formerly Netherlands Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Strasburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Strasburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Hotel Strasburg
Historic Strasburg Hotel
Historic Hotel Strasburg
Netherlands Inn And Spa
Historic Strasburg Inn
Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn PA - Lancaster County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.