We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn

Save Saved
You added Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 Historic Drive, Strasburg, PA 17579 (Formerly Netherlands Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Strasburg
State College, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Very warm welcome ar check in. Tyler was especially helpful and friendly. He gave recommendations for close by dining as the restaurant was closed. GM Sherman was terrific. He gave me a breif history of the Inn and some places to check out while staying. The room was spacious and comfortable. I did not stay for breakfast, just a quick coffee, but the breakfast area appeared to have everything you would need to start your day. I would definately stay again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your visit to our Hotel. Great customer service is our goal and we appreciate your feedback. Thank you for visiting our Hotel and we look forward to your return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    99
    49
    35
    24
See reviews for
121
94
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed for a wedding weekend at the Inn. It was convenient to walk from the site of the wedding to our hotel room. The rate was pretty cheap for the area too. The bed was comfortable. The room was clean. There was a desk, flat screen TV, 2 beds, a sink outside the bathroom, which was nice, as well as one in the bathroom. The breakfast was not fancy, but it was FREE. The staff was very nice. I would improve the curtains, they did not properly block out light or offer much privacy from people walking by, which made me feel uncomfortable. Other than that, I would recommend the inn.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at our Hotel. We look forward to showing off our unique Hotel amid the Amish countryside. We look forward to your return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Orange, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My daughter and I spend the week of Dec 23 thru Dec 28, 2012. Something different. What attracted me to this hotel were the low daily rates as well as tickets to Sight and Sound Theater. When we arrived the hotel sat upon a beautiful hill. The view from on top of that hill was breathtaking. I spend each night just standing in the parking lot looking out into the beautiful star lighted sky.The room was nice and neat and the handicapped bathroom nice and spacious. Breakfast every morning for free and it was good. The staff was so helpful, directed us to the mall, the light show and Target. The manager Mr. Sherman Hall and the whole staff was a pleasure to be with and welcomed us back anytime. I told him I will be back with my Mom and daughter again this year to see Noah Ark at Sight and Sound.I cant find a bad thing to say. I will be back again this year. Close to all attractions.

Room Tip: We stayed in room that was handicapped accesible and non-smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at our Hotel. We take pride in our Hotel and it's location in Historic Strasburg,PA. We are surrounded by Amish farmland and away from the lights and traffic.
Our rooms are clean comfortable and a great value. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This is a fantastic location if you're in the area. The rooms were so pretty and the pool was nice, and the breakfast was the best. The staff is nice and attentive. My favorite part was food that they had. The price was not too bad considering we went in high season. Go with just the family, we went with a group of friends of the family and it wasn't that great.

Room Tip: top floor t o get a scenic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at our Hotel. We are situated in the amish countryside away from the busy lights and traffic. We are a Historic Hotel with large rooms and charm. Our breakfast features include waffles,omelettes , friuts and yogurts. Wenlook forward to your return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Take a look at your room before paying, our room was about the size of a walk in closet. The so called curtain on our window was useless, you could see right through it. I guess it wouldn't matter if it was the second floor, but our room was on the first floor and one of the first rooms that you walk past. Not worth the money

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at our Hotel. We strive for 100% Guest Satisfaction with all our guests. We would have appreciated you notifying our Front Desk Staff to address and resolve your concerns. We welcome you back to visit our Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Normally I do tend to splurge on a hotel room, but in this case it was the pet-friendliness that drove our stay here. For only $15/night we were able to bring our dog along with us, which was what we needed on this trip. The hotel is superbly situated for shopping at the outlets and access to the sights, including the Strasburg Railroad, which we visited thus weekend. It literally is about 5 minutes from the hotel-you occasionally even can hear the train whistle faintly. The rooms ARE worn, but it is very clean and the beds are comfortable. It is quiet and we could sleep well as there was nothing to disturb either our dog or our toddler. The service also is good. The first room reeked of smoke but a call to the front desk sorted that our immediately (be warned if you choose to violate the non-smoking policy, as the clerk noted she charged $150 to the previous occupant after verifying the smoke smell in that first room). We also were able to get a late check out which allowed us the luxury of sleeping in a bit. The Fireside Tavern onsite also was a good value and very convenient. Overall, not normally a hotel that would have been my first choice, but a great choice in this situation.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at our Hotel. We take pride that our Hotel is situated in Amish country. Spacious rooms and warm atmosphere. We look forward to your return visit to our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

My brother and I stayed here on a Sunday night in early December. When we arrived they had us scheduled for a “pet” room and that was unacceptable. It was apparently a booking error on my part – I clicked the pet room! But they could not change it right way (no clue why) and we were asked to return in an hour. We did and they did give us room (Room 115). It was large enough - 2 queen beds, with small fridge, microwave, TV, desk, etc. The beds were comfortable and I slept well. The room however, was clearly worn. There were multiple paint chips in the wood work and trim, the toilet paper holder was falling from the wall and the caulk in the shower was discolored or missing. BUT the major issue was the layers of dust behind the bed headboards. The headboards were attached to the wall and when I peered behind them – serious dust. I guess the cleaners never dust there! We went to print our airline boarding passes in the “business center” (2- computers). One machine would not print and would only provide the airline screen in German – which we could not change. The other was turned off and we could, at first, not make it work. I went to the office and asked for help – the woman said she could not help, but that we could print our boarding passes at the front desk computers. We would have done that but when I returned to the computer room brother had figured out how to print and so we did. Breakfast was touted as a big treat at this hotel (both in their adverts and by previous Trip Advisor reviewers), but when we showed up on a Monday morning (we were the only ones there) there biscuits and gravy was the only “unique” food, along with two kinds of cereal, hard boiled eggs, some fruit – not as good as a normal chain hotel breakfast. BUT, AND THIS IS IMPORTANT, when we expressed disappointment in the breakfast fare to the kitchen person (cook?), she apologized and cooked us each a generous portion of scrambled eggs – they were delicious! So there are some nice home touches at this hotel – the people are one. I would have to think hard, but I might well stay here again if in the area. The restaurant next-door is quite popular and good – we ate there the evening we staye

Room Tip: Ask to see it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at our Hotel. We appreciate your feedback. We have a full hot breakfast each morning and will cook to order when close to closing time. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn

Address: 1400 Historic Drive, Strasburg, PA 17579 (Formerly Netherlands Inn)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Strasburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Strasburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Hotel Strasburg
Historic Strasburg Hotel
Historic Hotel Strasburg
Netherlands Inn And Spa
Historic Strasburg Inn
Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn PA - Lancaster County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.