We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Disappointment !” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn to your Saves list
Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 Historic Drive, Strasburg, PA 17579 (Formerly Netherlands Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Strasburg
New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Birthday Disappointment !”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

This time of year the weather in our area can be bad, so we usually go to Atlantic City to enjoy a day of "Restaurant Week" for my birthday. This year my birthday fell on a Saturday, and I wanted to enjoy the rustic area of Lancaster, Pa. So we took a chance with the weather, and booked a room a month in advance for the beginning of March. We've stayed at the Clarion Inn many times before back to when it was called The Strasburg Inn, The Netherland's Inn, etc., during the summer, spring and fall. The room reserved had a fireplace and a whirlpool so we thought we would have an early dinner and enjoy the ambiance of a winter's night in the "Amish Country". On our way we stopped to buy handmade candles and handcrafted Pa. Dutch cheeses.
At check-in we were given a room, downstairs, at the very far end of another building, with no other guests in the building. Kinda "creepy". But, on the way to the room, we figured that's where they put the rooms with the fireplace and whirlpool.
Nope! No fireplace and no whirlpool. When we called the front desk, we said we were sure we reserved a room with a fireplace and a whirlpool. She said we didn't and, besides, the rooms with the fireplace and whirlpool were taken. "Ouch!" and "Yuk!".
Got home and searched the email for the confirmation, and found we DID book the room with a fireplace and whirlpool ! Also received an email from the Clarion Inn hoping we enjoyed our stay and in it was the link to TripAdvisor asking us to let others know...

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecSalesAsst, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. Because of the anonymity of comments through TripAdvisor, we have no way to back-track in our system to look at your reservation and see where the glitch might have occurred that you did not receive the room type that you believed you had booked with us. Sadly, our jacuzzi suites are limited and very popular this time of year, so if you were here for a weekend, I'm not surprised that one was not available for us to switch you to.

If you would like to contact us directly regarding this matter, then we would be able to work to verify what happened between what room type you booked and what room type was booked through our system. This would at least help us to make certain that other guests will not have the same experience.

Again, we have no way to track this information, but a word of encouragement would be that, if you booked your reservation through a channel other than the front desk, you might want to call us directly for a future reservation. That way, you would have the name of a person on property who will verify the amenities of the room type you are booking.

We can only apologize that this error occurred and do hope that you enjoyed the remainder of your birthday events.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    126
    63
    41
    36
See reviews for
157
124
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Royersford
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Got the room from a winning bid. The hotel is well taken care of and the free breakfast was not bad. The hotel is not far from the outlets and the local scenery is beautiful. The room was clean and up to date. There is a tavern very close to the hotel that has very good dinner food also.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecSalesAsst, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review, March 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel property. We're so glad you discovered that we're just a few minutes away from all of the major attractions and yet, have a view that is so different from what you find at hotels along the major thoroughfare. We're glad you also enjoyed your meal at Fireside Tavern adjacent to our property, and will share those comments with them.

We hope you'll continue to win bids that will bring you back to visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

My family and I recently enjoyed a three night vacation at the Clarion Historic Strasburg Inn. We stay exclusively at this inn several times a year when visiting the Lancaster area. The accomadations, staff, and atmosphere are incomparable. If being treated like family is important to you, the Clarion Historic Strasburg Inn is a must!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecSalesAsst, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review, March 3, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We DO consider our guests to be a part of our family and strive to make their time with us homey and comfortable. I'm glad we're doing a good job of that when you visit us, and we'll look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Enjoyed an overnite here on a Sunday evening. The room was very nice with a frige and microwave. Nice setting in the countryside. Very good breakfast. Clean and everything was good. Would recommend the room we had as a couple 113.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecSalesAsst, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent experience at our hotel property. We are glad that you enjoyed the coziness of your guest room as well as the wonderful amenities of a fridge and microwave. We're also thrilled that 2 more people have discovered the simpler, quieter location of our hotel that is just 3.5 miles south of the major thoroughfare with its hustle and bustle. Plus, with our mild winter, the fabulous view from our grounds has been a treat for our guests over the season!

We are glad you would choose to recommend our property to others, and hope you will come back and visit us as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This hotel was recommended since they took dogs. Maybe it was because of my dog but the room was one of worst I have been in. The room was not clean. The bathroom was a total mess. You could never regulate the water in the shower. I was very disappointed and will not stay at Clarion property again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecSalesAsst, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel. It is through our guests' feedback that we learn of any ways in which we can improve the guest experience.

We are very concerned over your comments that "the room was not clean" and that "the bathroom was a total mess". Because of the anonymity of guest responses on this site, we are unable to have the information needed to track your stay and attempt to find out more specifics about your comments as well as determine where the breakdown was here at the hotel level. Therefore, we would ask that you contact the hotel and speak with our general manager to provide more in-depth information so that we can take steps to compensate you for your dissatisfaction as well as determine what steps we need to take at the hotel level to make certain other guests don't have similar experiences.

Again, from here we can only apologize for your dissatisfaction, but we would like to "make it right" for you. Please contact our general manager at the hotel direct. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEst Deptford NJ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

My husband and I come to the Lancaster area at least 3 times per year. We have stayed at a lot of different places, including B&B's, big corporate chain hotels, guest house on a farm and even the Fulton Steamboat inn. We have enjoyed our stays at most places, but also look for a bargain when we can get it. This year we wanted to go for a Valentines retreat. We decided to go last minute and a lot of of favorite places were booked so we looked for a new place to stay. After researching a lot of places on line, we decided upon the Clarion Inn Historic Stasburg Inn, I am glad we did. My husband and I loved the place.When we checked in, the front desk woman was very friendly. The room was a decent size, was clean, close to attractions, and even had a great restaurant right on the property. The bed we had was on the "very firm" side. The only thing we didn't like was the pillows. They were too soft, and there was no padding. I had to use a blanket for a pillow. Also the steps were a little slippery going up to our room( outside) Other than that, we loved the place. There is parking right in front of your room which was nice and very quiet. The best part was the view. We had a balcony room that overlooked farm land for miles. In the morning on Saturday, all we saw were Hot Air Balloons in the air. It was a great sight! The other thing we loved was the price. We stayed for 2 days and it was actually cheaper than 1 night at some of the other placed we have stayed. Overall it was a great value. Finding this place might allow me to come stay in Lancaster County even more, because I can afford to stay with the great prices. Next time we want to stay in a room with a Jacuzzi tub---hopefully it will be soon. So stay tuned for our next review of the Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn...because we will be back.

Room Tip: Love the view from the balcony...try it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecSalesAsst, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay with us! We appreciate our guests' feedback, good and bad. We're so glad you discovered what we call our "Million Dollar View", and when the weather cooperates, like it did when you were here, it really does feel like miles and miles. And hot air balloons in the morning! (Can I just say, I'm a little jealous that I missed that sight?).

Thank you for alerting us that you felt that our pillows were too soft. We try to provide a variety of pillows to suit every sleeper's needs, and I'm sorry that your night's sleep wasn't so fantastic.

We're also pleased that you found a great value for your hard-earned dollar. Though it's only 3.5 miles to Route 30, those 3..5 miles mean that you get a bigger bank for your buck as a reward for getting off the highway.

We hope we'll have one of our wonderful jacuzzi suites available then next time you want to visit us!

Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomfret, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

My Fiance and I stayed there last year, we loved this hotel. It was like home away from home. The staff was very helpfull when ever we needed anything. We loved going for a dip in the pool on warm days. Its in a perfect location, just off the main strip so its quiet and has a great view of the Amish Country. But also close enough to everything that you still have plenyt of options to keep you busy. We loved the Fireside Tavern next to the hotel we went there the first night we stayed and made a habait to go back each night becuase the service and food was so great! We are planning another trip to this hotel and I cant wait to relax!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecSalesAsst, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review, February 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at our property. We're glad yet another person has discovered that, just 3.5 miles south of the major thoroughfare through Lancaster County is a quiet location that focuses on a hometown feel. Our guests matter to us!

And we have to agree, both the food and the service at Fireside Tavern is awesome. Isn't it great to be able to get away from home, and then find a restaurant within walking distance that isn't one of the chains you have at home.... and then discover how wonderful it is?

We look forward to having you return to visit us, and if you haven't already tried them, I recommend the crab cakes for your next meal at Fireside!

See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strasburg
5.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Intercourse Village Inn & Suites
4.8 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lancaster
3.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Eden Resort & Suites
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Revere Inn & Suites
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lancaster-Rockvale Outlets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn

Address: 1400 Historic Drive, Strasburg, PA 17579 (Formerly Netherlands Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Strasburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Strasburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Hotel Strasburg
Historic Strasburg Hotel
Historic Hotel Strasburg
Netherlands Inn And Spa
Historic Strasburg Inn
Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn PA - Lancaster County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.