We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place, Great Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Toftrees Resort and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Toftrees Resort and Conference Center to your Saves list
Toftrees Resort and Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Country Club Lane, State College, PA 16803   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in State College
State College, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Great Place, Great Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was my first time staying in this hotel and I must say I was impressed. I stayed for the Calfrac Holiday party and it was so amazing. The décor was eye catching while still giving off that comfortable and relaxed feel. I will say, this hotel is a little older but it is well-managed. I absolutely adored the front desk agent, Chadia she was very charming and hilarious. The have great employees who actually put forth effort to make sure everything was taken care of. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toftrees, Director of Sales at Toftrees Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Katy171,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your recent stay at Toftrees. I am happy to here that you had an enjoyable experience and had a good time for your company party. We pride ourselves on making sure our guests receive excellent service and it is great to hear that our staff took care of you. We hope to see you back soon. Happy Holidays.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    41
    33
    18
    11
See reviews for
53
21
7
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Acme, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here on business for one night. Got an incredible rate on the Sunday after Thanksgiving, and the place was practically deserted - pretty typical for a college town. Nice place, well kept and pleasant. Good conference hotel with everything you'd need on site, although for one night I didn't really need anything.
Very convenient to airport and interstate, and removed from the rest of the local hotel choices. Check rates here before you book anywhere else - if the rate is comparable to the others in town, stay here instead.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toftrees, Director of Sales at Toftrees Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Randy,

Thank you for the great review. We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at Toftrees and our resort met all of your needs for your business trip. We hope to see you back in the future. Safe travels and happy holidays.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at the resort for a conference in mid November. The room was quiet and convenient to the meetings. There is a restaurant on site for breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks. It is just a 5 minute ride to the airport and less than 10 minutes from campus. The bathroom is very spacious, wifi is included and the front desk was accommodating and friendly. The price was great.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, General Manager at Toftrees Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Marie V,

Thanks for the great review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time here during your conference and found the hotel to fit all of your needs. We hope that you will be back again real soon to visit with us again. Maybe next time can include a round of golf on the course or just a nice walk to enjoy the scenery. We wish you continued safe travels and wondreful upcoming holidays.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at Toftrees for two nights while at a conference (mid-week November 2014). The room was clean and quiet. There were sufficient electrical outlets and a thoughtfully placed surge protector on the desk (much appreciated). The shower had great water pressure with plenty of hot water. Our gracious housekeeper Gordon was attentive to the needs of the guests. The price was a conference rate and a very good value for the room and surroundings (we have paid more for much less). The staff were friendly and helpful when asked for assistance or information. We had several buffet meals provided by Toftrees for our conference. The meals were flavorful. The skirt steak and chicken offering were very good. There were plenty of viable (not fast food) dining options in the area too. I respectfully disagree with some of the "not so nice" reviews I read online. We had a positive experience.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, General Manager at Toftrees Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Tajana R,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We appreciate all of the fantastic things you had to say about the resort and its offerings. We hope that we will be hosting your conference again here in the future and we will have the chance to have you as our guest again. We wish you continued safe travels and happy holidays!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW Virginia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

Just visited for a conference and enjoyed the hotel other than the winding hallways and continuous stairways. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Restaurant didn't seem to know about our group and was very understaffed for breakfast service. Ate dinner in the restaurant and it was very nice. Conference food was also some of the best I've enjoyed lately.

Room Tip: If you don't want to climb stairs please tell the staff when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, General Manager at Toftrees Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 11, 2014
Dear Riverbend 125,

Thanks for the kind words about the hotel! We understand the concerns about the maze style layout and hope that down the road a major renovation can fix this. Unfortunately this hotel was built in phases starting 47 years ago and it seems as though the plans for a complete resort never came to fruition. We are proud that we have weathered the 47 years here and are still considered a staple in the local community. We hope that you will come back and stay with us again in the future when visiting the State College Area.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014 via mobile

I'm sure this was a lovely place back in the day. The sprawling layout is weird - lots of big open unused space. Laundry and trash in the hallways waiting to be picked up throughout the day and evening. Room was cold. Heater didn't work. There for meetings and the food was skimpy. No healthy choices. Walls are thin so the meeting and hotel rooms were noisy.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, General Manager at Toftrees Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 10, 2014
Dear EMRMTG,

Thanks for letting us know about your experience. We appreciate all of your feedback and will work diligently on fixing those things we can. We are a 47 year old hotel/resort and with that comes some layout design challenges, so different than modern day construction, but also a uniqueness and identity. We at Toftrees are very proud that our hotel has so to say weathered the storm and is still up and running. We understand that we are not the most modern facility in town but feel we have the most aggressive staff, the best views, and one of the quietest locations anyone could ask for. We hope that we may have a chance to have you stay with us again in the future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

We visited this hotel to attend a professional conference. It is a decent enough place to stay, and I would stay there again. Rooms were clean, the center was located in a sylvan setting, there was a nice porch to sit and enjoy the evening. We thought that the bed was comfortable. The staff was quite friendly. There were two minor issues: first, the toilet paper was not replenished on the second day. Second, the salad was made of iceberg lettuce. I think that a green mix would be better.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, General Manager at Toftrees Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 11, 2014
Dear John G K,

Thanks for the kind words about your stay. We were pleased to hear that the cleanliness and service we in good standing for you and that the overall enjoyment of the resort was a pleasant experience. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future when visiting the State College area. We wish you happy holidays and continued safe travels.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Toftrees Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toftrees Resort and Conference Center

Address: 1 Country Club Lane, State College, PA 16803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Toftrees Resort and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether your reason for visiting Toftrees Resort & Conference Center is for travel, business, or pleasure it is the perfect retreat for you. Toftrees is nestled within the secluded pine trees of Central Pennsylvania which provides peaceful surroundings. Toftrees also provides 102 unique guest rooms and suites. Indulge yourself in individualistic style – a blend of attentive service, expressive décor and inescapable views. Toftrees is rated a 4 ½ star champion golf course and was rated one of Pennsylvania’s “best resort/public golf courses”. There is function space that adapts equally well from small training meetings to longer conferences. Convene in a calming, serene, natural setting. Then feast yourself on an enticing array of Contemporary American Cuisine at our own Down Under Steak House. Look no further when visiting the State College area. Book your room today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Toftrees Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toftrees Hotel State College

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toftrees Resort and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.