We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, short stay but room was quiet.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Toftrees Resort and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Toftrees Resort and Conference Center to your Saves list
Toftrees Resort and Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Country Club Lane, State College, PA 16803   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in State College
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Nice, short stay but room was quiet.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We only stayed here for 1 night, a few hours really, on a football weekend. Toftrees is tucked away on the other side of 99, so its quiet out there. Its a quick drive across the highway to the Wegmans and Target shopping center, and a short drive down 322 to the stadium and downtown.

So quiet location and quiet hotel. We didn't hear any noise from our room at all. The room was really big, 2 queen beds, and the bathroom was pretty big. Big counter. The room / hotel could use some updating (not enough plugs) and spot maintenance (like most hotels) but it wasn't old or gross by any means. I'd stay there again for the right price.

Room Tip: We were in 142. And while on the bottom floor, it wasn't a basement. Full split level. Quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, General Manager at Toftrees Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear jlp306,

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We are glad to hear the staff was accomodating, the hotel was quiet and quaint and provided you just what you needed for a football weekend. We hope that you will come back and see us again, maybe during the summer for a round of golf! Safe travels and best wishes with the upcoming holidays!

All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    41
    33
    18
    11
See reviews for
53
21
7
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
State College, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We just held our dream wedding at Toftrees Golf Resort and I everything was perfect! Our 50 guests stayed at the hotel, where the ceremony and reception were held and loved the entire facility. The rooms were beautiful, the restaurant pleased all our guests (ages 2 - 65), and the staff was amazing. Though the weather played tricks on us, I was not pressured into making a decision about an outdoor service, but encouraged to do what was in my heart. We worked closely with Ashley Huey, who took all the stress out of making our big day flow nicely. She was incredible with the children in our bridal party and on top of every little need we had.
Some guests played the golf course on Friday and were impressed by its maintenance and level of play. These guests even plan on coming back in the summer to enjoy the resort and play again. We may even plan a family get together at Toftrees this summer just so the kids can swim and the adults play.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, General Manager at Toftrees Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear JW 102476,

Thanks for the great review of our resort we appreciate all the feedback and are estatic to hear things were truly magical for you! We here at Toftrees believe we have a wonderful place full of character, great staff and a wonderful environment and are pleased that you noticed all of the resorts great features. While we have yet undertaken the challenge of harnessing mother nature, we always strive to make each experience a positive one for our guests. We hope to see you back again in the future. Congratulations to you and may you have a wonderful marriage ahead of you!

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockeysville Hunt Valley, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

My boyfriend and I were at Penn State doing some work for our business. We were lucky enough to get enough business to stay until the next day. We went on priceline to find a good rate. At that time we did not know which hotel we would end up at, but thought it would be fun to try something new. We had never heard of this Hotel because we always stay in town. What a luxurious surprise. When we got there, they were out of the size room that we were supposed to get, so we were upgraded to a queen suite. How lucky can you get? We walked into the room and there was a bathroom, tv couch ref, micro., full sized dining room table in the FIRST room. After going through the double doors, we found a queen bed another tv, a desk, and another bathroom (both with Jacuzzi jets). It was soooo relaxing. The front desk was amazing. No request took more than 5 minutes. We also had dinner at "Down Under". The food was amazing. The steak and fish were prepared perfectly. We definitely recommend Toftrees Resort and Conference Center. We are taking our kids this summer.

Room Tip: Our room was overlooking the pool and golf course. We didn't hear a peep from anyone. We were on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, General Manager at Toftrees Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Kim0503,

Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your Fabulous expereince. We take great pride in providing the best service we know how and are glad to hear that is what you experienced. We hope that as your business grows and there is a need to find overnight accomodations in the State College Area we will be your first choice. We hope you have continued safe travels and we wish you the best of luck with your business.

All the Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed here over night this past week. Staff at front desk were friendly. Grounds and decor of the place were very nice. Appeared well maintained. Room was spacious and comfortable. There were no towel racks in the room. There were a couple small hooks in the bathroom that we hung our wet towels on but I don't think I ever stayed in a place without a towel rack. Room was pretty clean but could have been cleaner.

I think I would stay here again, especially
If I could get it at the same rate

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, General Manager at Toftrees Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Heb 2013,

Thanks for the great review. We are pleased to hear that you truly enjoyed your time here with us at Toftrees Golf Resort and Conference Center. We hope that in the future when visiting the State College Area we will be your preference to stay. We will for sure look into adding some additional towel hooks to our bathrooms to make things more convenient for our guests. We hope you have continued safe travels and we look forward to seeing you back here soon!

All the Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, GA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed during parents weekend and was charged over two times the going rate for a urine smelling room with no frig or microwave. The smell in the bathroom and bedroom was incredibly vile. Bed mushy and I think not quite a queen. Sheets scratchy, bathtub sloped and difficult to stand in. Not at all advisible for someone who's mobility is limited. You have to take stairs no elevator. For the price we paid this was an incredible ripoff. I can understand charging a little more for parents weekend but this was over two times the normal rate. Ate in the restaurant and the waitress asked if we want the buffet or order off menu. I asked if I could see the menu to decide and she was amazed I couldn't make the decision without reviewing the menu. Shame!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, General Manager at Toftrees Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Ziggy Rey,

Thanks for letting us know about your stay. We realize that we are not the newest and most modern hotel in town as we were built in 1970, and with that comes some of the challenges with mobility around the resort. We do take pride in offering a quiet and comfortable place to stay while visiting State College and we will be sure to look into the smell noted in your review immediately as we have not had a comment such as this before. In regards to the rates we charge we do often reflect similar rates to other hotels in town based on events and such going on at the university and hope that you understand that if hotels in this market did not do such a thing we would not be available for guests to use as many hotels would have to close their doors due to lack of consistent business and fierce competition in a small market. We do continue to make improvements each and every year and hope that down the road if you are back in town for a visit you will stop by and see Toftrees for the beauty that it was intended to be.

All the Best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reedsville, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Was in the area and decided to have lunch here for my wifes birthday. Wait staff were available, ready and willing to please. They checked in with us numerous time to see if we needed anything. Not too many but better then needing them and them not coming back.They were always courteous and the whole facility was very attractive and clean. Food came exactly as ordered and only after a short wait. Drinks were refilled without asking and done without our asking. Dessert was heavenly, but we still split it. (Chocolate cake) I've been here before so I'm not new to Toftrees. This though is my first review. I would recommend the Down Under for any occasion. I've never been disappointed with their food, staff or the overall experience. I've been there on a Mothers day when they were quite crowded and the dining experience was superb. Just wish I didn't live 30 miles away. Cheers!

Room Tip: I did not stay over. Just stopped for lunch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, General Manager at Toftrees Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Zman 17084,

Thanks for the great review about your trip to the Down Under Steakhouse. We are pleased to hear that your meal and service were top notch. We hope that you will make it back this way a little more often and can try some additional items on the menu. Please check back soon as we hope to make some improvements to the menu soon and as always increase the level of service. We wish your wife a happy and belated Birthday from all of us at Toftrees!

All the Best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I was here many years ago for brunch and found it charming so my husband and I decided to stay for parents weekend.....what a huge disappointment. Our room smelled moldy, the sheets were scratchy and the towels were similar to a budget inn. The front staff was nice and the bartender was very friendly but for the price this hotel is a must miss!!!! We will not return!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, General Manager at Toftrees Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Beth S,

Thank you for your review. We are saddened to hear that we did not meet your expectations and assure you that moving forward we will continue to work hard to make the necessary improvements. The resort was built in 1970 and when it was one of the few places in town in was known for its great Sunday Brunch and many other nice things. As the years progressed and newer places in town emerged from the hotel side and restaurant side it came a point that the buisiness was not consistent enough to do a Sunday Brunch. We do take pride in offering a hotel that is outside of the hustle and bustle of the college campus with a great restaurant on site and a wonderful golf course. We hope that down the road if you are back in town for a visit you will comeback and allow us another chance to show we do offer great service and a nice and quiet place to sleep.

All the Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Toftrees Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toftrees Resort and Conference Center

Address: 1 Country Club Lane, State College, PA 16803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Toftrees Resort and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether your reason for visiting Toftrees Resort & Conference Center is for travel, business, or pleasure it is the perfect retreat for you. Toftrees is nestled within the secluded pine trees of Central Pennsylvania which provides peaceful surroundings. Toftrees also provides 102 unique guest rooms and suites. Indulge yourself in individualistic style – a blend of attentive service, expressive décor and inescapable views. Toftrees is rated a 4 ½ star champion golf course and was rated one of Pennsylvania’s “best resort/public golf courses”. There is function space that adapts equally well from small training meetings to longer conferences. Convene in a calming, serene, natural setting. Then feast yourself on an enticing array of Contemporary American Cuisine at our own Down Under Steak House. Look no further when visiting the State College area. Book your room today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Toftrees Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toftrees Hotel State College

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toftrees Resort and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.