We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“eckley reds baseball” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada State College Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada State College Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Ramada State College Hotel and Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1450 South Atherton Street, US Rt 322 & PA Rt 26, State College, PA 16801   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #23 of 26 Hotels in State College
CONYNGHAM
1 review
“eckley reds baseball”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

pleasantly surprised with whole stay. the outside pool, cabana,basketball court volleyball area & horse shoe pit helped pass the time for our baseball players. it was added benefit that made our stay a very unique trip

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBS1234, Director of Sales at Ramada State College Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review during your recent stay with your Baseball Team. It is so nice when groups are able to take advantage and enjoy all the amenities that our hotel has to offer. Hope to see you again in the future.

Best regards,
Jennifer Brooks-Stahl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    177
    176
    94
    38
See reviews for
265
63
22
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, PA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Just finished another trip to state college and another great stay at the Ramada. Not sure what else you need. Rooms have all the essentials: fridge, nice TV etc. Great bar (Harrigans) located in the hotel. Amazing free breakfast buffet in great dining area. Indoor and outdoor pool (the outdoor pool was great, arrived during a hot spell). Easy access to all things Penn State. Most of all, friendly, courteous, professional employees, who seem truly happy to help in any way they can. Certainly there are many choices for accommodations in State College. But you won't go wrong with the Ramada. As I said in the title, they never disappoint me.

Room Tip: It's a big facility. May want to be near the pool or bar. They always seem happy to work with yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBS1234, Director of Sales at Ramada State College Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Greetings Scott, thank you for sharing your excellent experience! Welcome to the Ramada family, and we would love to have you back!

Best Regards,
Jennifer Brooks-Stahl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We selected this motel largely because it is close to where our relatives live and it seemed a good compromise in terms of price and quality. But, on the whole it was not a very good experience. Our first room was in what they call the "atrium" a covered area with a smallish pool and hot tub. The pool and hot tub were right outside our 1st floor room. The combination was not good--damp room that smelled strongly of chlorine, and no access to natural light (although we did not fully appreciate that last fact when we checked in late at night). The toilet in that room clogged almost immediately and so the staff (always a bright spot in this story) gave us a new room a couple of doors away. After the first night we asked to change rooms to one with more natural light. The room we were offered smelled strongly of cigarette smoke, despite being a non-smoking room, so after checking it out, we stayed put. Then after another damp, dark night, we again requested a room change. This time the room was better in that it had natural light. We were in that room for two nights. The bathroom vent fans in all of these rooms rattled loudly and seemed barely adequate to the task. The air conditioning motor in the second room was loud and rattled--quite annoying. One of the lessons from our first pool-side room was that the thermostat seemed not to work when the fan was left on--the room just got colder and colder.

In general, the part of the motel we were in seemed dark and unpleasant. Many of the hallways were grungy and very dark. In the second room, there was no wi-fi--"sorry it just doesn't reach back there" (but of course there is still the card on the table in the room telling you how to connect to the internet).

Bed was ok. Room was dominated by a massive armchair and footstool that was not very comfortable. It was not a place to hang out and relax. There is no free coffee in the lobby, which is typical of a lot of motels these days.

But our experience was not all bleak. There is a refrigerator in the room that works. The outdoor pool (at the far end of the motel complex) is quite nice. M-F there is a free buffet breakfast that would have a market price of $8-10 for sure and is adequate. The autograph collection in the dining room is entertaining. The place seems well-staffed (including a lot of college students), and for the most part the staff were pleasant and positive.

I would be inclined to look elsewhere for a room if possible. A friend of ours was pretty happy at the Super 8--I never saw her room.

Room Tip: I would avoid the atrium rooms. Rooms nearer the outdoor pool may be newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBS1234, Director of Sales at Ramada State College Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Good afternoon, thank you for taking the time to post your review. I apologize for your sub par experience with us. If you could provide me with your name and room number I could investigate further, to see if this was reported to the front desk. We are a smoke free property but unfortunately that does not stop some guests from smoking in the rooms. I am happy to report that we are undergoing an internet upgrade in 2013. Should you give us another chance in the future, we would love to make it up to you.

Kind Regards,
Jennifer Brooks-Stahl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHESTER
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

This room #300 had a small sink and wash tub area but a king size bed. Everything else was fine. Internet was very useful at no charge.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBS1234, Director of Sales at Ramada State College Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Greetings Charles, thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am glad that you enjoyed the complementary internet, we are actually in the process of upgrading it for 2013 to improve. Do not hesitate to give us a call for future accommodations, as we would be happy to have you back.

Best Regards
Jennifer Brooks-Stahl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLEN MILLS
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We have stayed at this facility on the first Monday of August for a number of years, as it is the location of a conference we attend. I request the same room each year as it is convenient. However, it seems that our first night stay, the room is not really cleaned or the replacement of soap and coffee are not identified.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBS1234, Director of Sales at Ramada State College Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Hello William, thank you for sharing your review and we thank you for being such a dedicated guest. Please accept my apologies for the substandard housekeeping service you received during your stay. This is certainly not our standards, and we will use your comments to improve.

Best Regards
Jennifer Brooks-Stahl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHILLINGTON
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Staff were exceedlingly courteous and helpful. Technical assistance was prompt and knowledgeable which made for a seamless transition from conference venues to social functions.
We will be very happy to book this site aqain next year.
I will personally stay at this hotel when I am in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBS1234, Director of Sales at Ramada State College Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Greetings Herbert, I am so delighted that you not only had a great experience with us, but would love to stay with us again. Feel free to give me a call to set up a future accommodation, welcome to the Ramada Family!

Best Regards,
Jennifer Brooks-Stahl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PULASKI
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My 6 yr old son and I stayed for 2 nights and he thoroughly enjoyed the hotel! He loved the restaurant, the free breakfast and especially the pool! Everything was nearby and handy, the service was great, the rooms were clean and we enjoyed ourselves very much! We will definitely stay at a Ramada on our next trip!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBS1234, Director of Sales at Ramada State College Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Kelly, thank you for taking the time to share your review. I am so happy to hear that you and your son both enjoyed our facilities. The indoor pool is definitely a fan favorite. Please feel free to give me a call anytime to set up future accommodations.

We value you as a guest!
Jennifer Brooks-Stahl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada State College Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada State College Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 1450 South Atherton Street, US Rt 322 & PA Rt 26, State College, PA 16801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 26 Hotels in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada State College Hotel and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 288
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ramada State College Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn & Conference Center State College Hotel State College
Ramada Inn And Conference Center State College
Ramada Inn State College
Ramada State College
State College Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada State College Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.