We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn State College

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn State College to your Saves list
Hampton Inn State College
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1101 E College Ave, State College, PA 16801   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now & Save 15%
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in State College
Newburgh, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

I have nothing bad to say!! Great stay! Great staff! Clean rooms! I was even allowed to check in early! Thank You!!!

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    99
    32
    9
    2
See reviews for
99
29
19
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Valley Forge
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

I travel to State College a few times a year for business. Until now, I've always stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn. I'd rate those rooms a bit nicer than this property but not dramatically so. The Hampton appears to be a bit older, though it's pretty well maintained. But really, you're in town for a reason and unlikely to spend enough time in the room to pay much attention to the difference.

Especially if I were paying the bill myself, I'd stay here every time; it is an excellent value. It's $30 cheaper than the HGI but the desk clerk, when she noticed that I was booked on a corporate rack rate, proactively asked whether I had a AAA membership and gave me that discount, so the difference was even greater. Though I'm expensing the cost, I really appreciated the gesture. The typical Hampton breakfast is also included and the breakfast attendants are very friendly and accomodating.

I'll spare you a lot of details on the property; Hilton does a great job with consistency of hotels under the Hampton flag and this was right in the expected range. My room's HVAC was a bit on the noisy side but, aside from that, no big surprises, positive or negative.

The Damon's adjacent to the property offers good casual food without needing to drive anywhere. I found that to be another nice convenience.

I won't hesitate to stay here again when I next return to the area.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

This hotel is a great choice when visiting Penn State. It's a very short trip to campus and downtown. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and the staff is pleasant and efficient. The gym, albeit small, is nicely equipped. The complimentary breakfast included a good array of choices. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sceclhx, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn State College, responded to this review, September 15, 2010
Thank you very much for staying with us on your recent visit to Happy Valley. On behalf of the entire staff, we appreciate your business and comments! Please let us know if we can be of service in the future.

Best regards,
Steven Morgan
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folcroft, PA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

The staff was very helpful. The room was comfortable, I had a king size bed with different pillows to pick from, soft or firm. They had complimentary breakfast and it was well stocked. I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Laurel, NJ
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

I only stayed here for one night as I was picking my son up from working at Woodward for a few weeks. I really like this hotel. The staff was VERY helpful, polite, pleasant - it's nice to be treated like you're not a bother. Room was large, didn't use free internet, flat screen TV w/HBO, beds were comfy. The only thing I don't understand in hotels is why no fan in the bathroom? Possibly people will try to smoke? It just made the room a bit humid. LOVED the pool - it was so relaxing to be able to sit and read a book in the sun. When in State College, you HAVE to go to the Creamery for the ice cream - not a far drive at all. We did get kinda lost in the dark, but eventually made it "home." Next year, hopefully will get this hotel on Hotwire again!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

This is my fourth stay at the Hampton Inn State College. The staff has always been very friendly and professional. The hotel is very clean and I am always comfortable to bring my family to this hotel. Although its a college town and I am way past my college days the hotel always has a comfortable environment - and guests always seem very considerate of noise and behavior. The property is just outside of the University so you cant really walk but its a very short drive. There is a restaraunt in the parking lot (Damons) and the stadium and campus are about a mile away.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, CT
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

The hotel was very clean and nice looking. The continental breakfast had a good variety of choices. The only problem was the size of the rooms. It only had double beds and at times it was a little tight. The bathroom was very nice and the staff was helpful & friendly.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn State College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn State College

Address: 1101 E College Ave, State College, PA 16801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in State College
#13 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn State College 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn State College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn State College Hotel State College
State College Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn State College, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.