We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn State College

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn State College to your Saves list
Hampton Inn State College
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1101 E College Ave, State College, PA 16801   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now & Save 15%
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in State College
Danbury, CT
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Overall a Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

The hotel was very clean and nice looking. The continental breakfast had a good variety of choices. The only problem was the size of the rooms. It only had double beds and at times it was a little tight. The bathroom was very nice and the staff was helpful & friendly.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    99
    32
    9
    2
See reviews for
100
29
19
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights while attending an event at Penn State University. The hotel is about 1 mile from the campus. Our experience at the hotel was positive. The lobby is spacious and clean with numerous tables and chairs, as well as couches. There is a large screen TV, computers and complimentary newspapers in the lobby. Cookies are available in the afternoon. Our room was neat and clean. The bed itself was a bit lumpy. Breakfast was included in the price and consisted of cereals, fruit, yogurt, donuts/danish, eggs, sausage, bagels, toast, belgian waffles, as well as juice, coffee and tea. We felt that the quality of the breakfast was decent. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Because of its proximity to the Penn State campus, we found ample restaurants and shops. We would recommend this hotel to others and would definately stay there again the next time that we are in State College.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

I will admit I was a little leery when booking this location. The hotel is set back a bit from the main road and a bit difficult to spot if you're unfamiliar with the area. It always had a dark and unkept feeling when I passed by. However, my wife and I went ahead and took a chance on it having faith in the Hampton Inn name and knowing it was a quiet weekend between graduation and summer semester. In the end we couldn't have been more happy with the stay.

Friendly service, and very accommodating by letting my wife and our young children check in several hours early. Room was clean and had everything we needed. Breakfast was good and checkout easy. I really think the big selling point here is the location. Its about as close as you can get to downtown without actually being in downtown...so you can avoid the raucous party crowd when you want to but not feel terribly displaced from all the activity downtown and on-campus. Wouldn't be too bad of a walk to football games or other events at the BJC and east campus. In the end its hidden location probably works out in its advantage, as you don't have to worry about downtown crowds or being bothered by off-campus student apartments when you're just trying to get to your room for a rest.

If I could fault the hotel for anything it would be the appearance of their outdoor pool, right outside our window. While it was probably a week or two away from being open for the summer, the pool did look a bit old and there was some significant looking damage to the concrete walkways surrounding the pool and clearly in need of some repairs. Didn't look terribly inviting, but that may change after they work on it. It is nicely hidden behind the hotel which would allow for some privacy from the surrounding area.

I'd certainly give this consideration on my next return trip to State College / Penn State.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sceclhx, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn State College, responded to this review, July 2, 2010
Thank you very much for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are glad that you decided to give us a try and enjoyed your visit. Our location is set-back from the road quite a bit but luckilly in a college town we do not have any security issues. In regards to our pool, yes we discovered some major damage due to the rough winter when we began to open the pool for the summer. Our owners and management company researched the problem and obtained several bids and options for the repairs and the project is commencing this week. The job should only take about a week and we will re-open the heated outdoor pool as soon as possible. Please let us know if we can be of service on your future visits to Happy Valley!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2010

A well-cared for property -- nice rooms, lobby. Friendly customer service. I left my phone charger in the room, and they immediately mailed it back to me. Usually they FedEx at the customer's expense, but when I asked them to simply mail it back to me (FedEx would have been too expensive and a bit of overkill for shipping something that small to my home, which is four hours away) they did so with no charge. I really appreciate that kind of customer service.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamesburg, New Jersey
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

Have stayed here with a large group for several years. Same weekend each year. No problems. Good, helpful staff. Good Place!!

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

This is an excellent choice for State College. The free breakfast was awesome for being free. Clean cozy room. Quiet. Staff was very friendly. The manager Stefan was very understanding when I accidentally booked the wrong weekend. Will stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Bell, PA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2009

Could not find any complaints with this hotel. Although I only stayed for one night, front desk and breakfast staff were very friendly and professional. Coffee and Hot Chocolate were always available. Great free breakfast. Easy to connect free internet. Forgot toothpaste and toothbrush, complimentary replacement. Easy free parking. Clean room.Great shower with lots of hot water. LCD TV. Room provided as requested. Easiest review ever given because everything was sooo Right.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn State College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn State College

Address: 1101 E College Ave, State College, PA 16801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in State College
#13 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn State College 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn State College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn State College Hotel State College
State College Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn State College, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.