We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The room was clean the the staff very welcoming and...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Penn State

Save Saved
You added Days Inn Penn State to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Days Inn Penn State
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   240 South Pugh Street, State College, PA 16801   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 26 hotels in State College
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chantilly
1 review
“The room was clean the the staff very welcoming and...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The room was clean the the staff very welcoming and friendly. The overall atmosphere is pleasant. However, in the fitness center the elliptical didn't work and bike seat could not be adjusted. It is in the same area as the pool and very warm. The internet was difficult sporadic and only appeared as a wireless network to choose from some of the time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
statecollegePADips, General Manager at Days Inn Penn State, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for having taken the time to comment about your recent stay with us at the Days Inn Penn State. We appreciate your positive comments regarding the cleanliness of the hotel and the friendliness of our staff. The equipment in the fitness room you mentioned has already been repaired. We are sorry you had difficulties with our internet service, I immediately passed your comments on to our IT department for correction. We look forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    77
    62
    9
    2
See reviews for
109
20
10
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Coal Township, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at the Days Inn for he fifth or sixth time. We arrived early and were able to check in. The free parking had more than a handful of spots to choose. The Front Desk Staff is always friendly and professional. The complimentary wifi was average but served our needs just fine. We weren't visiting State College and PSU to sit in the room and play on our tablets! We were assigned one of the remodeled rooms on the fifth floor. The room was spotless and spacious with a nice view onto Pugh Street. The room seemed quieter since they were redone and we were right next to the elevators. Complimentary hot beverages in the lobby were a bonus. We were able to leave our vehicle parked at the hotel after we checked out on Sunday to go for lunch and do some shopping....free of charge!

Room Tip: Remodeled rooms have cool accents like the new bathroom circular mirrors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
statecollegePADips, General Manager at Days Inn Penn State, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for having taken the time to comment about your recent stay with us at the Days Inn Penn State. We greatly appreciate your positive comments and value them greatly. We are always thrilled to see a Tripadvisor "Top Contributor" make comments regarding our newly renovated rooms, friendly staff and great overall hotel. We look forward to your future visits with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I have always stayed at this hotel when visiting my son at Penn State. The location is great. The service and the front desk staff are very accommodating, The rooms are always clean. The only negative point is ... on a game day weekend the prices are ridiculous. The rate they charge you would think your staying at the Four Seasons. I would highly recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
statecollegePADips, General Manager at Days Inn Penn State, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for having taken the time to comment about your recent stay with us at the Days Inn Penn State. We greatly appreciate your comment regarding the cleanliness of our hotel, the staff strives hard daily to provide a clean and comfortable room for our guests. We certainly understand your comment regarding the rates in State College for football weekends and you will find that our hotel is many times one of the more affordable options in the market. We hope that you enjoyed the game and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I chose the Days Inn for proximity to Penn State University. The biggest plus is you can walk to campus from the hotel. We were attending an event and found parking on campus is an issue.

The room was clean and not in bad shape at all. I think I have a view of a very bad Days Inn I stayed in years ago. We never heard our neighbors and slept pretty well. The lobby is nice. All in all, a good stay. There is no continental breakfast at this hotel. But you can walk to a Panera and there was another coffee shop nearby as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
statecollegePADips, General Manager at Days Inn Penn State, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for having taken the time to comment about your recent stay with us at the Days Inn Penn State. We appreciate your positive comments being a "Top Contributor" on TripAdvisor. We strive hard daily to provide a clean and friendly hotel for our guests and we often hear the words "Pleasantly surprised" when guests arrive at our Days Inn in State College. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Days Inn Penn State? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Penn State

Address: 240 South Pugh Street, State College, PA 16801
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in State College
#9 Family Hotel in State College
#15 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Penn State 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our location, in the heart of downtown State College, allows for walking to all points on the Penn State campus, restaurants/bars and shopping. We offer free covered parking, free Wi-Fi service, an award winning restaurant, Mad Mex, beautiful atrium, oversized indoor pool, free lobby coffee 24hrs/day and free airport shuttle. The Days Inn Penn State offers absolutely everything one would need when visiting State College. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Days Inn Penn State reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn State College Hotel State College
State College Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Penn State, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.