We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Days Inn stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Penn State

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Penn State to your Saves list
Days Inn Penn State
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   240 South Pugh Street, State College, PA 16801   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in State College
GreenLeadersSilver level
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Days Inn stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I have always stayed at this hotel when visiting my son at Penn State. The location is great. The service and the front desk staff are very accommodating, The rooms are always clean. The only negative point is ... on a game day weekend the prices are ridiculous. The rate they charge you would think your staying at the Four Seasons. I would highly recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
statecollegePADips, General Manager at Days Inn Penn State, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for having taken the time to comment about your recent stay with us at the Days Inn Penn State. We greatly appreciate your comment regarding the cleanliness of our hotel, the staff strives hard daily to provide a clean and comfortable room for our guests. We certainly understand your comment regarding the rates in State College for football weekends and you will find that our hotel is many times one of the more affordable options in the market. We hope that you enjoyed the game and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    163
    87
    11
    2
See reviews for
204
47
16
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I chose the Days Inn for proximity to Penn State University. The biggest plus is you can walk to campus from the hotel. We were attending an event and found parking on campus is an issue.

The room was clean and not in bad shape at all. I think I have a view of a very bad Days Inn I stayed in years ago. We never heard our neighbors and slept pretty well. The lobby is nice. All in all, a good stay. There is no continental breakfast at this hotel. But you can walk to a Panera and there was another coffee shop nearby as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
statecollegePADips, General Manager at Days Inn Penn State, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for having taken the time to comment about your recent stay with us at the Days Inn Penn State. We appreciate your positive comments being a "Top Contributor" on TripAdvisor. We strive hard daily to provide a clean and friendly hotel for our guests and we often hear the words "Pleasantly surprised" when guests arrive at our Days Inn in State College. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

All in all it was a good weekend, initially I was to receive a KING suite with a couch wit a hide away bed and a roll out cot, since there were four of us to be in the room. I arrived early(10:30 am) to be told that the room was not ready, so I checked my bags and went to a work appointment. I came back and was put into a king bed room with nothing else and was horrified. I called the front desk and was pretty much told TS and that they would reduce the rate (from an inflated 399 for FB weekend) by 50.00. Extremely pissed, I went to the front desk where the young man who had seen me in the am spoke with me and then went back behind closed doors with the manager for several minutes. He came back and at this they produced another room with two double beds at a reduced rate to 250.00 per room night for both rooms, so at this point I was somewhat relieved, since I had two of the three friends arriving within the hour. After this experience, everything else was positive, the restaurant is great, the bar part was fantastic and the festival atmosphere was great.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
statecollegePADips, General Manager at Days Inn Penn State, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for having taken the time to comment about your recent stay with us at the Days Inn Penn State. We aplogize that your initial experience was a bit bumpy. I am glad to hear that we were able to accommodate your needs. It sounds as if you enjoyed the remainder of your stay and your time in our award winning restaurant, Mad Mex. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, AL
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I was very disappointed in my recent visit to this Days Inn. I normally work at night, so I at least need enough Internet bandwidth to check email and some browsing, but this Days Inn didn't even have that. I asked them to reset the router, but that also didn't help. I ended up having to use my phone's cellular data instead of their wifi.

In addition, the rooms were old and had not been updated, The air conditioner in my room was extremely noisy, sounding like it was about to fly apart.

Not a good experience. I was supposed to stay here 3 nights, but I found another hotel and left after 1 night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
statecollegePADips, General Manager at Days Inn Penn State, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for having taken the time to comment about your recent stay with us at the Days Inn Penn State. I am sorry to hear that we appear to have fallen extremely short of your expectations. We are in the process of spending over $2 million dollars on renovations and technology upgrades. All of our guests rooms have been updated, with only a small amount of rooms remaining to have their vanities areas updated. I can only assume you must have stayed in one of these rooms. We would have gladly relocated you to an area of the hotel where renovations are completely finished and where your internet device would have received a stronger signal. Perhaps you would be kind enough to allow us another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Penn State? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Penn State

Address: 240 South Pugh Street, State College, PA 16801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in State College
#6 Family Hotel in State College
#6 Romantic Hotel in State College
#9 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Penn State 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our location, in the heart of downtown State College, allows for walking to all points on the Penn State campus, restaurants/bars and shopping. We offer free covered parking, free Wi-Fi service, an award winning restaurant, Mad Mex, beautiful atrium, oversized indoor pool, free lobby coffee 24hrs/day and free airport shuttle. The Days Inn Penn State offers absolutely everything one would need when visiting State College. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Wyndham, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Days Inn Penn State reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn State College Hotel State College
State College Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Penn State, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.