We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large Super 8” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 State College

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 State College to your Saves list
Super 8 State College
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1663 South Atherton St., State College, PA 16801   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #22 of 26 Hotels in State College
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Large Super 8”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

This is the largest Super 8 I have been in so far. It has large room, very nice breakfast and is located in a nice area. Sink area is outside of the bathroom, which is convenient for a larger family. The price was the best for that area. Parking area is well lit, they plant flowers in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super81663, General Manager at Super 8 State College, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Thank you for your nice compliments while visiting the Super 8 in State College.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    117
    141
    52
    41
See reviews for
198
42
50
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

We have stayed at this Super 8 several times and in general they were pleasant stays. Last time, however, on July 31 we had a problem with service, or should I say lack of.

The front desk was totally unwelcoming upon arrival and indifferent upon checkout the next day.. Don't they teach that at travel school? Or maybe they were just PSU students who really just could not care about what happens to Super 8 and its customers? Wouldn't you expect a little "Welcome to Super 8" upon arrival and "How was your stay? upon checking out. Heck, I was made to attend a phone courtesy class where I work just in case I had to answer the phone and it was someone from the public -- like a paying customer!

But, if you are reading this, you have probably run into this a lot, haven't you? But I still don't understand it. It's supposed to be the HOSPITALITY business! You are supposed to be HOSPITABLE!

The other thing was that we had a coffee maker in the room -- but NO COFFEE! Luckily, they had some brewing in the lobby and I tried some and it was still fresh, even in the evening.

Then there was the small matter of no shampoo and only one bar of soap in the bathroom. Again, luckily, I had some shampoos and soaps from previous hotel stays in my shaving kit. Oh, and no Kleenex and no spare toilet paper. Talk about pressure! We had to worry about running out of toilet paper! Whoever serviced our room really dropped the ball, I would say.

The breakfast was good though (muffins, bagels, pastries, juices, etc) and the breakfast area is really nice and roomy.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super81663, General Manager at Super 8 State College, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
Please accept my sincere apology to you and your family for your unpleasant experience during your last stay in State College. To help correct items that you describe, a Mystery Shopper Program is now in place. The Mystery Shopper will complete a report based on an actual overnight visit. The report is then shared with all managers and staff as part of a learning tool. As a result of this program, our housekeeping supervisor has become more diligent in her daily routine by ensuring all guestroom items such as toilet paper, shampoo, and coffee are stocked before guest check in. This program has also helped to improve our customer service at the front desk. The staff is able to see and hear how they sound when responding to guest needs both in person and on the telephone.
I am happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed our complimentary breakfast. We receive excellent reviews daily on the many breakfast choices!
Again, thank you for sharing your experience. I would like to invite you to try us again for any future lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOBOKEN,NEW JERSEY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

We booked this hotel for the Arts Festival and due to the fact we have our dog with us the Super 8 was the only pet friendly option. The night check in staff were pleasant and checked us in quickly. Our room located on the 4th floor at first glance looked dusty and had a fusty smell. After checking the beds the sheets and pillow cases were so thread bare you could see your hands through them. The bathroom towels were grey with use and there were hairs around the toilet and sink and overall the room did not appear to be cleaned very well. For the price of $160 a night I would really expect more. At that rate per room I think they could afford to buy new linens. We won't be staying again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSilfies, General Manager at Super 8 State College, responded to this review, July 28, 2010
Please accept my sincere apologies for the unpleasant experience during your last stay. I have met with the housekeeping supervisor regarding the condition of your room. We immediately had our Laundry staff go through the linen and towels to discard any that were not suitable for guest use. Additionally, we have reviewed the items mentioned with all the housekeepers and room inspectors to improve the service provided by our property daily. Emphasis has been placed on providing clean and comfortable accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

This is a decent hotel. It looks like it has been updated recently. Front desk staff were nice.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSilfies, General Manager at Super 8 State College, responded to this review, July 28, 2010
Thank you for sharing the nice comments regarding your visit to the Super 8 in State College, PA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

Stayed here with my spouse for two nights while she attended her conference. Grand total cost for the two nights, including all taxes and fees, was $110. Room had two double beds, full bath, 32-channel TV (including HBO), free wi-fi, air-conditioning, phone, and clock-radio. Room was clean, comfortable, and well-maintained. Staff was courteous and professional. The business center consisted of a computer in the lobby with internet access -- a printer was present but I could not get it to work. A room had a sign saying "Fitness Center" but I was not able to get into this room. The free buffet breakfast consisted of juice, coffee, cereal, toast, and small pastries. Free coffee, fruit, snacks, and ice were available 24 hours a day. Newspapers (free on weekdays) and a vending machine were available in the lobby.

The motel is on Business Hiway 322 as you enter this college town from the southeast. The campus is about two miles away, but a city bus does stop on the same street as the motel. Within a couple blocks are several restaurants and stores. There is no restaurant under the same roof as the motel, but there are two using the same parking lot.

Two things surprised me, both for safety reasons:
1) The power switches were inside the room with the room with the tub. Even though they were on the opposite side (as shown in the photo), safety would dictate that that such switches be outside the bath room itself.
2) A dog was in the breakfast area during the buffet -- a clear violation of health regulations. I pointed this out to the person managing the food, but nothing was done. The front desk later confirmed that dogs are not permitted in the food area, but no sign stating such a rule was visible to me.

If you're visiting State College for a day or so, can handle being two miles from campus, and just need a roof over your head; this motel is as good as any other. Like most chains, it is short on charm but long on value. We got everything we really want in a place to stay at a price far below other lodgings.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western ma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

The cost was one of the lowest we found in the area, but the room was very nice. The room was clean, comfortable and met our needs. No problems. Staff was friendly and helpful. We were only there for the night, but very pleased with our experience.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSilfies, General Manager at Super 8 State College, responded to this review, October 2, 2009
Thank you for your generous compliments. We take great pride in providing a clean and comfortable guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington,KY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

Where to start. No doors on closet, shower curtain full of visible and stinky mold, fake cheerios put into real cheerio dispenser at breakfast. Way overpriced for such a crap hole.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 State College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 State College

Address: 1663 South Atherton St., State College, PA 16801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 26 Hotels in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 State College 2*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Super 8 State College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 State College Hotel State College
Super Eight State College
State College Super Eight
State College Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 State College, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.