We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 State College

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 State College to your Saves list
Super 8 State College
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1663 South Atherton St., State College, PA 16801   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 26 Hotels in State College
Dallas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Meh”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

The room had a funky smell as you walked in. It was definitely dated and needed an upgrade. The bathroom molding was yellowed and mildewy in the crevices. The elevator rug was stained, dirty and didn't seem to have been vacuumed the three days I was there. On my final night there was a questionable looking fella wearing a hoodie (it wasn't cold) sitting out front talking to another questionable looking fella who had his car parked out in front of the hotel. It turned out to be the front clerk.

The place would be a decent stay if it felt clean.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSilfies, General Manager at Super 8 State College, responded to this review, October 2, 2009
Please accept my sincere apologies that your stay was anything less than satisfying. The items mentioned have been reviewed by my entire management team with emphasis placed on providing clean and comfortable accommodations during every guest stay. We have consulted local vendors and have had great success using quality products to eliminate potential odor and mold. To enhance safety and security for our guests, the night audit staff performs a routine walk around the outside perimeter to ensure that all parking areas are well lit. While performing this task, the staff member on duty was approached by another guest needing directions. To ensure that guests can easily identify Super 8 staff, all employees have been reminded to wear the required uniform while on duty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    110
    134
    50
    32
See reviews for
181
42
43
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights with a few friends in early April. Found the room to be fairly standard but to a nice level of cleanliness, even though the shower was definately on its last legs and hanging off of the wall.

The reception staff were probabloy the only downside of a fairly average stay, they seemed very pre-occupied and often ill experienced to respond to various queries, but these were minor points really.

The location itself is just outside town but well off campus, we had a car so it didnt pose any problem for us but I certainly wouldnt say it was walking distance.

Overall I would say my experience was very unremarkable but with no nasty suprises. You get exactly what you paid for and that was just enough.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSilfies, General Manager at Super 8 State College, responded to this review, October 2, 2009
Many apologies to you and your friends. Feedback such as yours helps to improve our service and property on a daily basis. We have recently upgraded the guest shower experience to include a curved shower bar and massage setting showerhead. I apologize for any confusion regarding our location. Super 8 is located 2 miles from the Penn State University, approximately 5-10 minutes if you are driving.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading pa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2008

GOOD VALUE ,BREAKFAST was a plus would stay again

  • Stayed December 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syracuse
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2008

We stayed at the Super 8 during a baseball tournament at State College. There was also a huge volleyball tournament going on and hotels were booked up. The staff at the Super 8 was very nice and pleasant - a real plus. The breakfast in the AM was nice, as were the free newspapers. Location was fine.

However, I could only take one night in the room. The bathroom was clean, though small and outdated. But the sheets on the bed were like burlap and I guess housekeeping tried to get the stains out of the sheets but couldn't quite do it. The whole room smelled like cigarette smoke, although this was a non-smoking floor. The smell was so bad I couldn't sleep. I would try elsewhere, although if you bring your own sheets, the price was certainly right.

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — the room smelled bad
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2007

My son and I were visiting Penn State and just needed a nice place nearby in which to stay. And the Super 8 was perfect. In fact, it surpassed my expectations because I know of some other Super 8 locations that are not so nice.

Here are the things I appreciated: the TV; shower; heater; free breakfast; free newspaper, free coffee, fruit and cookies in lobby at all times; helpful front desk; just the general cleaniness of the place.

Things that bothered me: I hate when the sink and shower/toilet are separated; I booked there because of the hot tub and the area was closed due to putting in a new floor.

More specifically:

The breakfast of bagels, rolls, yogurt, cereal, coffee, juice, etc., was more than adequate. Front desk gal explained the bus service to the Penn State campus. A bus stops nearby. Oh yea, there is great Perkins Restaurant next to the hotel.

I did not smell anything terrible as mentioned in a couple of previous reviews. Not even a hint of cigarette smoke.

And the rate was only a little more than 50 bucks.

  • Liked — Value
  • Disliked — Sink and shower are separate
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE Ohio
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2007

The first room they put me in smelled like a wet, dirty dog (the hotel does allow pets, so a dog must have been staying there prior to
me). I asked to be moved, and was quickly accomodated. The next room was cleaner, but the A/C left the room feeling pretty swampy by the end of the weekend. Overall, I'd say it's a "you get what you pay for" hotel. Cheap, mostly clean, budget kind of place.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2007

This was a good, basic hotel with services that I would call "very good". However, the smell of cigarette smoke was everywhere from the lobby to the hallway on my floor. My room was on a floor that had half smoking rooms and half non-smoking rooms. Not a good combination as the smoke drifted everywhere.

  • Liked — big room, good air conditioner, good location
  • Disliked — smell of cigarette smoke everywhere
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 State College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 State College

Address: 1663 South Atherton St., State College, PA 16801
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 26 Hotels in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 State College 2*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 State College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 State College Hotel State College
Super Eight State College
State College Super Eight
State College Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 State College, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.