We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old School” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Atherton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Atherton Hotel to your Saves list
The Atherton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   125 South Atherton Street, State College, PA 16801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in State College
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Old School”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Nice hotel right in the heart of downtown State College. It's an older hotel than what I'm accustomed to, but it has a lot of charm. The lobby is located on the second floor, the staff at the desk were courteous. My room was clean and fresh with the usual amenities, I was impressed at how quite it was since the hotel was packed with guest during my stay. Didn't get a chance to dine, or use any of the other services that were offered. It's an easy walk to just about anywhere in the downtown area. If you like old school and are looking for a good place to rest, then this is the place.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your comments and thoughts! Please know that if you are ever not satisfied with your stay we are happy to try to upgrade your room or move you to another room. In addition if we are made aware of any issue whatsoever during your stay we will make every effort to make things right for you. Thanks again and wishing you all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    82
    50
    31
    28
See reviews for
79
41
22
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

This was my second stay here. Unfortunately my company has meetings here that we have to stay over night with. Both times my hotel room was bad. The curtains look as though they had been sitting in a ball for many days before they were hung. The mattresses were awful! They literally jiggled like a bowl of jello. The remote didn't work unless you stood up and pointed it 2 inches from the tv. And there were water stains on the walls.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Please know that we are always happy to upgrade or change rooms if we are made aware that anything in your room does not meet your expectations during your stay. Thank you for your comments. Your business is genuinely appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermitage, PA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We were here for a family wedding. Hotel has very pretty public areas but the rooms are a bit dated and could use some updates. Service was excellent and staff friendly and helpful. The wedding reception was in the hotel and it was quite nice. Parking is in garage under the hotel and is a bit tight, especially if you have a large vehicle. They were quite accommodating and let us park in one of the service areas. I would definitely stay here again, especially if I wanted to be close to campus.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. Please know that we will always change or upgrade your room during your stay if we are made aware of any issue that does not meet your expectations during your stay. We appreciate your business! Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I stayed here the first weekend back for Spring semester. Only stayed one night, but had a good experience. The bar/restaurant food was suprisingly good as well as the service. The elevator/lobby layout is a bit confusing, but after you figure it out it's a non issue. The rooms were very clean and the bed was very comfortable. Some of the decor and furniture is outdated, but it's an older hotel. The location is very good within State College and it's only a block or two from campus. Overall, I enjoyed my stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better as it sometimes gets very noisy at night along the street especially...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. Your business is very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I may be biased because I'm a Penn Stater, but I really enjoy the Atherton. Whenever we head back for a football or non-game weekend we always try to stay here. I will say that prices around football weekends are crazy, but it isn't any different at any of the other hotels. The benefit of the Atherton is a central location and a consistent experience. It isn't a five-star place, but it is very accommodating. I've been to weddings, events, bachelor parties and we've always stayed here. Great place!

Room Tip: The higher the better since you'll sometimes here the college kids passing by on the lower floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for your time and interest in sharing your comments. Your business and feedback are genuinely appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithsburg, MD
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I made my reservation at the last minute and got a great rate and excellent customer service. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable. The room was beautiful and spacious. I will always come back to The Atherton.

Room Tip: The jacuzzi suites are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your comments. Your compliments are truly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This week-end for our conference was perfect due to the planning by our conference contact - Steven - and his staff. The food selections he helped us co-ordinate were wonderful and so was the food itself. The chef and staff should be commended. The servers and conference room contact people were always available and so very courteous. The front desk was very helpful. We had a few changes to make and everyone was able to accommodate these changes to make them happen and did so graciously. Steven made several personal contacts during our conference to be sure everything was running smoothly. Everyone was polished from head to toe. We now call The Atherton our conference home.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your insight and for taking the time to share your thoughts. Your comments and business are truly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Atherton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atherton Hotel

Address: 125 South Atherton Street, State College, PA 16801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in State College
#14 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Atherton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
150 room full service hotel in the heart of downtown State College, PA. One block from Penn State University. Comfortable, relaxed atmosphere, restaurant, bar, room service, excellent location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Atherton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atherton Hotel State College

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Atherton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.