We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good introduction to Korean cuisine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kimchi Korean Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Kimchi Korean Restaurant
1100 North AthertonSt, State College, PA
814-237-2096
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 211 restaurants in State College
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Korean
Restaurant details
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very good introduction to Korean cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

We finally tried this place after going by it numerous times. It was worth the trip inside!

Inside is very spacious and roomy. But the best part is the menu...

As a first timer to Korean food, this is a great place to begin! The service staff are happy to make suggestions, and can even adjust the spice level on dishes based on your preference.

You might want to avoid an appetizer since the portion sizes are very large. If you do try an appetizer, try the rice cakes.

The menu offers a diverse selection of dishes offering everything from chicken to veggies to seafood, over rice or noodles or soup.

The prices are very reasonable, particularly given the portion sizes.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    14
    13
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
State College, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Korean food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This place has some of the best food! Fresh, delicious and great service! The short ribs are really good, and a must when we go.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, West Virginia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Kimchi lives up to its name”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We love Korean food and this did not disappoint. It is not a tablecloth and linen napkin kind of restaurant, but it is pleasant. The food was truly Korean. It was packed with Korean students so it must be like home away from home.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice for Korean in State College”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

There are other Korean restaurants in the area, but this is the best. I have been there a number of times for both lunch and dinner and I have never been disappointed. At times they turn up the music a little high, but this is a college town, after all. The food is excellent. I have had Korean meals in several cities in Korea and this compares quite well. If you are a fan of korean food, you will not be disappointed. The soups are excellent, well seasoned and deep broths and the meat dishes are all very good as well. The variety of condiments and kimchi are excellent. I never fail to finish them all. The wait staff has always been very friendly, but they can be a little slow on occasion. Still, someone in the kitchen sure knows what they are doing! It is obviously a favorite with the local Korean community. I was the only non-Korean in the place for an early lunch one Sunday...always a good sign!

I am sure you will have an excellent meal here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McVeytown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This was only my second time eating Korean food. The menu did not offer enough combo meals for folks such as me who may be trying things for the first time. Service was not good and server was a little rude. Food was not great! It was much better at another place that I tried first.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kimchi Korean Restaurant also viewed

 
State College, PA
 

Been to Kimchi Korean Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kimchi Korean Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.