We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Raspberry Bars are super!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Irving's

Irving's
110 E College Ave, State College, PA 16801-4708
814-231-0604
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 211 restaurants in State College
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Bagels
Dining options: Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Coal Township, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Raspberry Bars are super!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We took a short break from our State College shopping to grab a coffee and something sugary. Irving's is always crowded so it takes a few minutes to be served. They bake their goodies in-house so they're always fresh. The raspberry almond bar was outstanding and too large for one person. The bagels and sandwiches are also good.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    10
    9
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Love their dedication to making everything in house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I would support any restaurant that makes everything in house but Irving's earned their terrific review. We went late on a Sunday morning for breakfast sandwiches and were not disappointed. The bagels were great and the huge selection of options was wonderful. The smoothies were great as well. The only thing a bit off was the fruit and vegetables. The fruit cup sold out of the case was just ok and the tomatoes on my sandwich were almost white. So strange that these thing that only required slicing were the least appealing of everything we tried.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Point, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Irvings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Lots of choices - especially smoothie type drinks, bagels, and sandwiches. Prices were reasonable - located right on the main street.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Bagels”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Irving's has good bagels at a fair price. For central Pennsylvania there is no competition but they would be broke fast in New York.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best smoothies and coffee EVER!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

First things first - fantastic beverages, from the coffee to the smoothies. I had the best raspberry bar of my life, but my husband said his scone was dry and overdone. He also ordered a veggie bagel sandwich and reported it average at best. Personally, I say there is no good veggie sandwich! :-/ Now, lots of people go to Irving's to work and I don't recommend joining them. The place is generally packed and loud and the Internet access bites. If you can work offline and among the chaos, then there are ample outlets and that's a big plus. Don't forget that there's extra seating downstairs.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Irving's also viewed

State College, PA
State College, PA
 

Been to Irving's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Irving's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.