We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rest easy in state college!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carnegie Inn & Spa

Save Saved
You added Carnegie Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carnegie Inn & Spa
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   100 Cricklewood Dr., State College, PA 16803   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
The Carnegie Escape
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in State College
Bradford, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rest easy in state college!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

A huge shout out to the kindness of the staff at the carnegie house! From the early check in to the unending care we received during our stay after my daughter had some oral surgery performed - I cannot thank you all enough. We enjoyed the afternoon sun on the patio, relaxed in our comfortable room with frequent visits to the front office to freeze our ice packs,took a quick trip to conveniently located Wegmans and thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast and conversation with our attentive and very hard-working server! Staying away from the busy campus and downtown was perfect....will be sure to share our experience with friends! Be back soon!

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    9
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
28
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Beautiful inn, gorgeous rooms, gourmet level restaurant; love the conversation areas located throughout the inn; only drawback, it's a Sunday night; as far as we can tell, we're the only guests still here; the lights are on in the library but no fire in the fireplace, and it is chilly, and even though they assured us this afternoon that we would be able to enjoy drinks in the library this evening, the bar is closed. We questioned the lone girl sitting in the office and she said, no, bar closed and didn't offer to turn on the fireplace. A disappointing ending to what was an otherwise perfect long weekend. If you come here in the off season, make sure to ask just what facilities will be open during your planned stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

This Inn was the perfect quiet spot to have a reception dinner for our son's wedding. Service is excellent and the decor is beautiful. Dinner was wonderful and breakfast each morning was also very very good (excellent omlets). We enjoyed being entertained by the little chipmunk on the back patio overlooking Toftrees Golf Course each morning. We came up from FL so the fall foilage was a treat to see with the crisp cool mornings. We enjoyed sitting by the fire in the evening having one of our favorite cocktails. Try the peach cosmo it is very refreshing.
We booked the inn for four days but enjoyed it so much we were able to stay two more days.
We come back to State College each year for a football game and I hope to be able to stay at the Inn again next year.

Room Tip: We had two different rooms and both were very nice and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

I really wanted to like this hotel. I stayed in mid-June 2011 for two nights. I do a careful bed bug search each place I stay; it really is the most important issue to me. To be clear, I found *no* living bed bugs at this hotel, but I did find a single dead bed bug under the mattress pad of a room on the first floor. I asked for a room change, which they gave me, and searched even more carefully in the reassigned room on the second floor, and found nothing. Having found online bed bug reports for every other hotel in State College, I took my chances and stayed for two nights and had no further issues.

Were it not for that, I'd be giving this hotel an excellent rating. The included breakfast was absolutely delicious and it had character and comfort. I would suggest that the hotel management invest in bed bug wrappers for the mattresses to assure the problem doesn't become serious.

Room Tip: They were renovating when I stayed there in June 2011. I'd go for something in the new section...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamco4, Manager at Carnegie Inn & Spa, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Thank you for visiting our Inn. We greatly appreciate your comments. The Carnegie Inn & Spa takes great pride in providing a clean and healthy environment for our guests and employees. Our efforts include staff and management pest identification and control training as well as routine inspections and preventative treatments from professionals. We will continue these practices to ensure that an infestation does not occur.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your dining experience. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Our renovations are now completed at the property. We apologize for any inconvenience that this work may have caused. On your next visit, be sure to enjoy ESSpa Kozmetika, our new day spa and massage therapy facility.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I visited my niece at State College and decided to try Carnegie House based on the reviews on this website. I must say the food was delicious (appetizers with drinks at night and free breakfast omelet in the morn), however, I wasn't thrilled with my room. The furnishings were tired/worn, with stains and ink on the pink arm chair, frayed rug by couch, strange stiff bedspread and thin sheets. I had to turn/move/jiggle the batteries in the remote to work the older t.v. set from odd angles that did not work while sitting in bed. (I requested and received new batteries very quickly, but that wasn't the issue.) I really liked the bold colorful wallpapers. Fun. I guess I had high expectations for the whole experience - too bad - I wanted more polish. Staff were pleasant, but no one met us at the car to help us during the downpour. Rain galore that weekend!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamco4, Manager at Carnegie Inn & Spa, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Dear Ms. Steele,

Thank you so much for visiting with us. While we are delighted you were pleased with your dining experience, we sincerely apologize for the problems with the TV remote and the conditions in your guestroom.
The local TV cable company struggles with finding a compatible remote for our property television sets. We will contact the representative to see if something can be done to improve the device for ease of operation.
Guestroom renovations and updates are constantly being performed. We will remedy your findings either by cleaning or replacement as needed. Likewise, we will check our linen inventory for items that are in need of replacement. We currently utilize Italian bed linens in all of our guestrooms for maximum comfort.
Sorry we missed assisting you at your vehicle. We attempt to help all of our guests upon arrival if possible. We will try to be more diligent in this area, especially in inclement weather.
Again, thank you for taking the time to tell us of your experience at our property. We will use your comments to improve our service. We hope you will allow us the pleasure of serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Sam Glasgow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed here several times over the last ten years and have always enjoyed it. The rooms are large and elegantly appointed with a large bath area. The common areas are also elegant with lots of comfortable seating for reading. The inn also has a very good restaurant. The staff are friendly and helpful.

RGinTally

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

The Carnegie House describes itself as a boutique Inn. The description is apt. It was built in 1988 and recently renovated. There are about 22 rooms. We met another couple to celebrate a special event. Our bedrooms were well appointed and very comfortable. The entire place was very clean. The staff were very helpful and friendly.
We had two breakfasts and two dinners. The menu for dinner had a very good range of options. The food was very well prepared.
We ended our trip with our friends with the promise that we would return to the Carnegie House because we had had such a good time.

Room Tip: Call for a room. The website did not give as many options as were actually available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carnegie Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnegie Inn & Spa

Address: 100 Cricklewood Dr., State College, PA 16803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in State College
#13 Family Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carnegie Inn & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
n the tranquil woodlands encircling State College, PA is a destination of innumerable charms – Carnegie Inn & Spa – an intimate little gem in the tradition of the finest European country manors. We invite you to experience the first AAA Four-Diamond hotel in central Pennsylvania, just the first of many distinctions setting the Inn apart as someplace truly special.Carnegie Inn & Spa is elegance personified, with a brand of hospitality and warmth long since vanished from the impersonal, chain-style hotels.But the most delightful surprise comes when you find out that we only look expensive… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Carnegie Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carnegie House Hotel State College

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carnegie Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.